No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Park and Lodge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Westcott , Cullompton, EX15 1SA

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

As an independent family run business our aim is to consistently provide clean, comfortable and restful accommodation.
Park and Lodge is conveniently situated just 5 minutes from Junction 28 of the M5 and only 10 minutes drive from Exeter International Airport, yet remains very peaceful and quiet due to our rural location on the B3181 just south of Cullompton.
Whether on corporate business, contract work away from home or a family visiting the area we are ideally placed to offer you a warm welcome and a good nights sleep.
All rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard and offer excellent value for money and are priced on a per room basis.
To enhance your stay we are situated next door to The Merry Harriers pub, an award winning country Freehouse, which offers a great selection of local real ales, an extensive wine list, and great food sourced from the local area.
Picture of Park and Lodge, Cullompton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 157 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We stayed for 3 days, excellent service, room large enough for staying for 3 days, very warm stay, due to weather, breakfast which was left in the room with a fridge so you could have breakfast when you wanted. Would be very happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
Linda Wason

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic room smelt damp and overpowering air freshener room need airing
this accomadation would suitable for an over night stay while working in the area

Reviewed by
ROSS C

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
I stayed in the Park and Lodge with my partner for 3 nights in July this year. We originally had booked for 2 nights but decided to stay another night to visit the area. When we arrived there was nobody at the reception and we had to phone a number. I spoke a polite and friendly gentleman who told us our room number and the key was already in the door. Inside, the room was basic but very clean with clean towels, hair dryer, iron and board, tv and we even had wifi (although the signal was poor). We couldn't get phone reception/signal and had to go down the road to get some signal. We had ordered breakfast and this was already in the room and the orange juice and yoghurts were in the small fridge. On the last night, the lady came in and brought some fresh croissants and breakfast stuff. The shower pressure was a bit weak in room 7. At night we went to the pub next door and the food was excellent as well as the staff. At night it was very quiet and the bed were comfortable. Overall, I would highly recommend the Park and Lodge and will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Eric P

From Penicuik, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic clean quiet accommadation which suited our requirements

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A surprise
We arrived and were pleasantly surprised by the quaint nature of this accommodation. The room provided everything we needed and the breakfast was superb, with plenty of fresh food to eat. The only downside was that the accommodation had that stale smell smoking leaves behind, and as a result, we would sadly not stay there again.

Reviewed by
L Collenette

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What can I say that is good
Oh yes the room was clean. What else nothing. When I book a twin room for two 60/70 year old friends who don't want to sleep in the same bed) I expect a room with twin beds. not a double bedded room with a single shoved against the wall obviously for a child who doesn't want a bedside table to put a drink on, a wall/bedhead to prop a pillow on to sit up in bed to read maybe, or a bedside light to read by. I also expect the lights to all work, 1 in the 3 bulb main fitting didn't nor did the over basin light in the bathroom. The light at the bedside was a touch light that switched its self off if you moved in bed. I don't, in this day and age, expect to find in the bathroom only a pump action bacterial hand wash. No soap, shampoo or shower gel sachet which even the most basic of places provide these days. I booked a continental breakfast, as that was the only option on the website. I thought that meant Croissants, preserves, cheese, ham, juice, at least that is what I have always been given on the continent. I did not expect two plastic containers containing bran flakes and a very over sweetened granola, another plastic box with 2 icing sugar and almond covered apologies for croissants (what's wrong with ordinary croissants) and 2 tiny current buns. Both of which were inedible if you didn't have a very sweet tooth or had a nut allergy/aversion. The granola was also very sweet and with nuts. The milk, orange juice and 2 raspberry yoghurts were in the smallest fridge I have ever seen. (This fridge drove me mad as it hummed all night long.) I didn't expect to find a fridge in my bedroom or for that matter my breakfast. I didn't realise there would be nowhere to eat. Also if people are expecting people to eat in their room at least somewhere to sit would have been nice. I know standards are falling these days but it isn't really acceptable to expect people to sit on their bed to eat. I also found it very disconcerting to realise there was nobody on site, just these 7 little chalet rooms with keys in the door waiting for people to arrive. The booklet that was there with your breakfast when you arrived, containing local hospital etc. also told you that if you wanted a (proper) breakfast it could be booked the night before you required it at the pub next door, but it had to be booked as they normally don't do breakfast. Having already paid for a "continental breakfast" why would you want to pay again. This stay spoiled the end of what had been a very good holiday where we had stayed in pubs, hotels and b and b's all of which provided far superior service at comparable prices. Oh I have thought of something else good the 2 bananas, 2 plums and grapes. Will I be recommending this place - No will I be staying there again - No

Reviewed by
Beryl G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We keep coming back
Ideally situated to break up a journey to or from the south west, especially if you enjoy the Thursday night Steak offer in the next door pub!

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disappointed no-one there on arrival, however the owner was sorry and very friendly when he arrived. Very quiet, pleasant area and good food at the pub next door. Breakfast was a pleasure and it was lovely being able to have the door to the room open whilst eating. Outstanding views and immaculately clean area and grounds.

Reviewed by
Kay K

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and bathroom adequate but due to lack of ventilation the bathroom was a bit smelly. Also the basin plug hole was full of hair. Very off putting.
The continental breakfast was a bit of a joke. Only managed a drink and yoghurt.

Reviewed by
Terence W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay
8 of us recently stayed here. Accommodation is first class clean tidy and comfortable beds. Booked the continental breakfast and was not disappointed. Received a phone from Simon the night before confirming details and which rooms we had which was a nice touch.
Whilst there we used a taxi all the time, if you need a reliable taxi at great rates he is your man.
Would have no hesitation recommending and using again both the accommodation and Sean.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next