No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Moorland Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wotter, Nr Shaugh Prior, Plymouth, PL7 5HP
The Moorland Hotel is situated in an unrivalled location on the southern slopes of Dartmoor National Park, commanding uninterrupted views across the moors and to the sea beyond .

It is the ideal centre for touring this beautiful and very interesting part of South Devon. Well located for our corporate guests too. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle, but only 20 minutes from the centre of Plymouth.

Rising from the ashes is our Phoenix Steakhouse serving mouth-watering local Devon steaks cooked on our char grill. Cornish Landed Fish such as Bass also feature regularly on our menu, along with British Pork and Westcountry Lamb.

Our superb kitchen works its magic with fresh ingredients to create dishes to remember.

Hospitality and comfort is the keynote of this Establishment and is personally supervised to by its Resident Proprietress.
Picture of Moorland Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for an overnight stop

Reviewed by
David Mabbutt

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A happy stay
The front of the hotel is not the best frontage we have seen but the freindly welcome, very large room with excellent facilities, the high quality evening meal and options available at breakfast meant that we had a very good time in the hotel. The location next to Dartmoor but overlooking Plymouth meant that we were able to explore a variety of locations and so our short stay had real variety to it. A really good time.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful, could'nt fault the hotel

Reviewed by
J Lee

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable room on edge of Dartmoor
Nice hotel - staff were very helpful, room was clean with modern furnishings. The main negative is that there are no local amenities (nearest shop 20 minute drive away) and had to drive down very narrow country roads to get there. Perfect for those who want easy access to Dartmoor, but not particularly convenient for business travellers or those who want access to the city centre.

Reviewed by
Francesca E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel

Reviewed by
David N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

impressex
A lovely welcome from staff. Beautiful views, easy to get to from Plymouth centre. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Alison W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Moorland Hotel with fantastic views and top quality restaurant.
The Moorland Hotel really is situated in convenient place for either walking across the moors or heading into Plymouth if which is only 20 minutes away. Comfortable room with fantastic view and a 1st class restaurant that gives good value. An in house bar selling local beers with a comfortable lounge area offering free WiFi together with ample free parking puts this hotel at the top of my list for business travel to Plymouth.

Reviewed by
N Pooley

From Wadhurst, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

yes

Reviewed by
H Shore

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money!
I would strongly recommend this hotel for its location, although a little of the beaten track it was definitely worth it when we arrived there. The location is very rural and had we been staying longer would have explored the surrounding moorland. The room was definitely great value for money, the facilities in the room were great and the bath was very luxurious and spacious, I would say the highlight of the room. The bed was extremely comfy and clean, plenty of pillows and extra in the cupboard as well. We didn't have a meal or breakfast there but given the standard of the room I would probably say the food would be just as good. We would definitely book again next time we go to Plymouth as it was a great stay and only 20mins drive from Plymouth centre with stunning surroundings on the drive.

Reviewed by
C Button

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Dartmoor
The best thing about the hotel is its position. Near enough for a night out in Plymouth, but on the edge of Dartmoor with spectacular views and great walks straight from the door of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Jane V

From Swanage, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next