Reviews - The Highwayman Inn


Cannards Grave Road, Shepton Mallet, BA44LY

Price From 81.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Richard L

  • October 2015

3 night stay

comfortable bed, nice spacious bathroom, basic accommodation no frills but served a purpose food and beer could be better

  • John W

  • September 2015

Lovely pub but very compact rooms

For a one night business stay this was good enough.

The room was very compact and the corridor outside was a challenge. I am 6'4" and had to crouch to walk along. Bed was comfy and en-suite clean and serviceable. Great breakfast and although the pub was very busy I didn't hear any noise at all.

  • C Vardon

  • April 2015

A good location for exploring the countryside

The hotel is well-situated for visiting locations in Somerset - Wells, Glastonbury and Cheddar.

All the staff I met were friendly and helpful and both breakfast and pub dinner were tasty. I found the hotel good value.

  • D Wilson

  • April 2015

single room review

single room, small with tired décor.

But it was a last minute deal and very reasonable price so served the purpose. However the breakfast was good as were the staff & I did not see the other accommodation

  • julia h

  • March 2015

A very good hotel

  • Elwyn Attwood

  • March 2015

Great value

Friendly and very helpful staff, clean rooms, altogether a great value for money stay

  • pelham brewer

  • January 2015

Good stay.

Having booked for two nights I could only stay one.

Definitely value for money. Food excellent, landlady very pleasant with lots of experience. Did notice in the room one or two liitle corners where the hoover obviously misses, however, overall a pleasant stay. I have never had such consistently hot meal. Do not be worried about staying here.

  • David C

  • November 2014

Comfortable and cosy (Room 5)

Stayed in Room 5 on Saturday 15th Nov 2014.

Very clean and comfortable, and quiet even though the Inn looked fully booked. Only strange thing is that the windows are very high up so do not expect views of anything except sky. The en-suite bathroom was also clean and tidy. Note that there are lots of stairs to negotiate and several low beams which now have my forehead imprinted on them.

Very convenient for the day at the antiques fair at the Show Ground.


  • October 2014

No breakfast !!

Our ground floor room was o.k if a little old fashioned and tired.

The bathroom was very nice but the hairdryer was not working & there was a dirty bathmat left in. Radiator not on/no switch (cold night). Our main complaint is that we were told breakfast from 7am but arrived to find the chef outside (separate entrance for hotel) and everywhere locked up. As we were working and had little time, we waited for 15 mins.but had to leave,along with several other people. Might as well have used a Travelodge at a cheaper price . £63 and still had to buy 2 x breakfasts at Showground prices !

  • Pat P

  • September 2014

Ideal as a base for E.

Somerset steam railway, Wells, Glastonbury & Street. Very friendly staff, good breakfast, large restaurant/bar areas.