No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - West Country Inn

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Bursdon Moor Hartland, Bideford, EX39 6HB
*** Our Spa and Gym Facility's Brand New to 2013 guest can enjoy this luxury for FREE once purchasing a Room***

Perfect for Business or pleasure, the West Country Inn is a 16th century Coaching Inn full of character and warmth. It is conveniently located on the North devon Atlantic Highway between Bideford and Bude. Set in 2.5 acres, it is surrounded by unspoilt beautiful countryside with stunning views. There is a large free car park accomodating up to 100 vehicles and a large beer garden. The property features 9 ensuite bedrooms, a cosy restaurant with original flagstone flooring and crooked beams, a carvery/function room, a games room, a lounge with soft leather furnishing, and bar area with an informal relaxed atmospere and open fireplace.

Our cuisine is English Traditional in style; we currently hold a 5 star Food Hygeine Rating and our produce and meat is mostly sourced through local farmers. There is a large choice of menu to suit an array of taste and we cater to those on special diets as well as vegetarian options. Our Chef is very flexible and accomodating and will cater to your request if you would like a special dish prepared.

There is a wealth of leisure choices available for those on vacation. The coast is nearby for walkers and surfers and the scenery is breathtaking. It has been a back drop for many movie and television programmes. There is an 18 hole Golf Course nearby also. Game shooting is possible in season with professional licensed gamekeepers. Clay shooting is also available with professional supervision. Other activities include horseriding, canoeing or windsurfing on the Tamar Lakes nearby. The market town of Bideford has a vast choice of shopping options and has an outlet mall for those who wish to enjoy a spot of retail therapy. Likewise Bude has a wide choice of shopping and beaches. The English Heritage Village of Clovelly with it's 13th Century harbour is only 4 miles away and a day trip to Lundy Island is just a short drive away.
Picture of West Country Inn, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Inn for a quite break.
Enjoyable stay, friendly staff

Reviewed by
robin p

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

West Country Inn
I would recommend West Country Inn. The quality of service, room we stayed in, and value for money were excellent. The location is ideal, within easy reach of Bude and Westward Ho! beaches in Cornwall and Devon with it being on the border, and the quiet and beautiful Welcombe beach though I would advise against that beach for anyone who has difficulty walking. All in all though it was well worth our stay, and we would happily go again!

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and friendly place.

Reviewed by
C Lewis

From Cheshire, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The West Country Inn looks very nice from the outside,but inside was dark and dingy. Room okay, but nothing special. Stayed for 5 nights...bedding changed after the first night, but not again during the stay. We made the bed every morning before leaving for the day and it was noticeable that the pilows had not been moved. The shower was cleaned after use, but not the sink in the bathroom all week. Carpet again, noticeably not vacuumed all week. Due to the location it was easier to eat downstairs in the bar or dining room. Meals and drinks were expensive. Very little choice on the menu and most meals not worth the money. On the plus side the breakfast was very good and filling which set you up for the day. Customer service good, but for £89 per night B + B (which was a discounted rate booked well in advance), the West Country Inn could do much better.

Reviewed by
Chris S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly Recommend
I stayed here with my two children and we had a wonderful stay. Great location, spotless rooms and comfortable beds. The owner was friendly and helpful. The food was good too. I would thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
Haley E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for visiting both cornwall and devon as on county border
Quaint old Inn, that appears to be run on a shoe string. Set right on the main A39, wasn't a problem for us. In the middle of nowhere, but good location for visiting Bude(North Cornwall). Landlady a little abrupt at times, she appeared under a lot of pressure. Didn't see many staff to help her out. Fully booked when we stayed and had time slots for Breakfast. Breakfast was nice, freshly cooked to order, A small choice of cereals, only orange juice available and drinks from a hot drinks machine. (we asked for a pot of tea).I felt like I wanted to help her out at Breakfast time, to clear tables etc! Lovely Spa area, don't be put off by the strict instructions and signed questionnaire before you enter- insurance reasons! Evening meals sounded nice, but menu looked quite expensive. Rooms varied greatly with some quite small bathrooms. Furnishings a little tired, but in keeping with the age of property Tea and coffee making facilities in room and toiletries, I did have to ask for extra towels for the Spa. We stayed just the one night, I probably wouldn't stay there again as it was quite pricey compared to some b & b's that we saw around and about the area.

Reviewed by
CELIA SHEPPARD

From Bradford on Avon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning place
The owner and staff at this hotel were superb. Food was so good and cost was good. Room was fabulous great night sleep, plenty refreshments and cleaned daily. Gym and spa bonus.

Reviewed by
W Rushworth

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brill
very clean and friendly service

Reviewed by
B COOPER

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed
In the area for an overnighter and booked this inn as it seemed the best value for money. We were not disappointed as it provided all that we needed. Room was good, light, airy and the bed was huge. Shower was a bit on the small side but hey I reckon I'm to blame for that one as my size is not the inn's fault!! We had read various reviews of the food but were not disappointed. It was good pub food served with a smile and hot, filling and tasty. Breakfast was similarly enjoyable. Could have been a bit more choice but perhaps we ate too much the night before. I would also like to pay 'tribute' to the cellerman/lady for the quality of my pints of beer.
Keep up the good work

Reviewed by
Martin D

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night business stay
Just an average pub with rooms, nothing special. Dinner was in my mind overpriced. £16.95 for steak egg & chips & it took more than 40 minutes to arrive when there were only 6 other people in the whole place. Beware if on business breakfast is served 08.30 to 09.30. I did not read this on the Laterooms listing & as I had a 09.30 meeting in Bideford breakfast was very brief. .

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Hewitson, We are disappointed to learn you felt that our AA 3 Star Award winning Inn was not of your expectations. However, I feel that it is necessary to correct misleading information contained in your review. We have been operating for nearly 11 years catering for the specific needs of many people on business as well as pleasure. It is untrue to say that we only do breakfast from 8.30am. Upon your arrival, we stated that we would happily cater for your breakfast at an early time of choice. We very frequently serve breakfast as early as 6.45am-7am for those requiring it. We also provide in room breakfast trays to those leaving the premises by 6am. This is made clear to our business patrons whom we value. You requested a time of 8.30am but arrived later in the dining room. We catered for your gluten free diet by providing your Rib Eye Steak with sautéed potatoes as requested by you using different oil. (You did not eat chips as per your review.) We also provided the steak with all accompanying requests of your choice to address your dietary needs. £16.95 for a tender 8oz Rib Eye Cut of local Devon & Cornwall beef herds is really not an expensive option. You were at liberty to choose a different steak type if price was an issue. Your wait was not 40 minutes, rather nearer to 20, you requested a medium to rare steak made in turn (as per our timed order docket) and there were many more than 6 patrons present, from destination diners as well as residents, some of which chose to eat in our restaurant and some in the bar area where you dined. You stated that our facilities were of an "average pub with rooms." This statement is untrue. We informed you of our facilities including a very large full service Gym & Spa which are available to all our resident guests Free of charge as well as many other facilities including the Free parking and Free Wi-Fi and even ensured you had a room sited over the transmitter for optimum signal. We are not a 5 star premises, but at £55.00 for a single occupancy of double room en-suite including breakfast and all other free options, we do believe we provide excellent value for money. Best wishes, the West Country team.

Reviewed by
Jerry H

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next