No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
172 Long Ashton Road Long Ashton, Bristol, BS41 9LT
The Angel is a historic village pub surrounded by farmland, next to a 600 year old church, and yet it is ideally situated two miles from Bristol city centre and its business heartland and fifteen minutes drive from Bristol Airport. Half an hours walk away is the newly developed waterfront. The Angel has a high reputation for its food, and has won many recent awards for its ales. The good news is that it is now able to offer five rooms for bed and breakfast accommodation. Very close are some of Bristol’s finest features, including the Avon Gorge with Brunel’s famous suspension bridge and the SS Great Britain, Ashton Court, Clifton Downs, several golf courses, and many more. The Angel dates from 1495, and has been the village pub in Long Ashton for several hundred years. It is a family run pub, and since Sian took it over in 2003 has earned great popularity with both the locals and the business community. It is often used for business meetings, weddings, dinner parties and other celebrations. For bird lovers it is a listed breeding site for swallows who reside and nest in the adjoining barn between April and October every year.
Picture of The Angel Inn, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Angel Inn
Very expensive for what's is offered location good for what I needed, would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
Tony T

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country pub near to the city
Friendly staff. handy for walking and visiting city

Reviewed by
michelle m

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another Great Stay at The Angel Inn
Another great stay at this lovely inn - friendly staff, warm fires, great ale, delicious food - retire to a snug room, cosy bed, clean & attractive, and plenty of tea & biscuits for the morning. Optional breakfast - don't miss out! - and then a wide choice of places to visit. Very close to Bristol, but also near to beautiful countryside, there's a good walk from the Inn to Long Ashton. If you like football, you are only 5 minutes from Ashton Gate. I love this place, and would recommend it without hesitation.

Reviewed by
j blishen

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, convenient little pub.
Charming pub full of character. We stayed in a family room which had everything we needed.
It was clean ,comfortable and warm.
We had breakfast in the morning, not included in the price, with real coffee a simple menu but enough to satisfy all !
Easy access into Bristol centre, bus stop outside,

Reviewed by
Heather S

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice place to stay overnight...............
Very clean, nice 'boss; lady, very friendly pub downstairs. My partner is disabled: so stairs a problem: also toilets for bar over courtyard at back. But,, overall, v. good.

Reviewed by
S Howes

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay. Room was great - the additional fire was really welcome.
Food very good and staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Jackie Jones

From Haslemere, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

traditional gem
Wonderful welcome from young barman. Escorted us to our room and pointed out the fire exits. Nothing was too much trouble. Food excellent. Homely atmosphere. Took our 9 year old son too who was given plenty of games in pub to keep us all entertained!

Reviewed by
l roberts

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel Inn Bristol
Excellent value for money. VERY comfortable. Had a very interesting history

Reviewed by
rosalie Jellinek

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good local pub.
The Angel is a busy local pub with really good food. The room we had was quirky due to the age of the place. No flat floors anywhere! We could have done with two chairs to watch tv. The staff were faultless.

Reviewed by
Maureen B

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel Inn 25/09/2014
Nice stay and convenient for the airport. This is a busy local and evryone was very friendly.

Reviewed by
D Holdsworth

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next