No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN NOVEMBER 2014 - Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums, it boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 12 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and free unlimited wifi. Our bar food menu is available between 11am - 9pm. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of their way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely old building
we went to stay there for 1 night for our anniversary as we were going to watch a show , its approx 20 mins from city centre nice walk but uphill on way back, we stayed there on the last night of it being the old channings as on saturday it was closing for refurbishment , it is a beautiful old building & on some reviews that people have left i think they may have confused old with dirty , the hotel was not dirty at all but in need of some serious TLC but understandable due to the age , i think people need to look at the bones of the building not the decor. The staff were amazing friendly and helpful very welcoming, nothing was too much bother. Im glad that the hotel is getting a well deserved facelift , i just hope they can save the character of the building when they do it as it would be a shame to lose such a beautiful old building. There was also a pub underneath but that was already closed for refurbishment, and there was a small bar in the hotel which with some tlc will be beautiful, thanks for making our stay a happy one .

Reviewed by
michele k

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel stay
The room was comfortable but very shabby looking . The bathroom was particularly shabby the bath panel was off and dirty tiles.. obvious disadvantage I.s no lifts and is a two storey building. They were good enough to let me know beforehand

Reviewed by
wendy c

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, comfortable accommodation at a good price.
Stayed for 2 nights to go to a family wedding. Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful. Big old Victorian place that is a bit tired round the edges but provides clean, comfortable accommodation at sensible prices. We had everything we needed with comfortable bed, large bathroom, big wardrobe and tea, coffee and biscuits in the room and in a quiet location just 5 mins walk from restaurants and shops. Iron and board were available. Didn't try evening meals as had other commitments but good full English breakfast. If you want impersonal, glam or boutique style then this is not for you but otherwise you can't do better in Bristol. Best of all they found a single room (which didn't appear on booking sites) at short notice for our daughter who had spent the 1st night at the Full Moon hostel in really disgusting conditions! Many thanks for a great stay.

Reviewed by
Caroline H

From Etchingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, family friendly and good food.

Reviewed by
Anne J

From Hillsborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The staff is very kind, and the service is excellent.

Reviewed by
Georges D

From France
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unimpressed
First impressions of the hotel from the outside, it looked nice, but when we entered it was dated and old - it looked like it needed upgrading some years ago.
The food, breakfast(2) looked like it was cooked some time earlier and the evening meal we had was sufficient (just about).
The room did not receive any service while we were their, it was in the same condition as we had left it after our first night,s sleep, no bed made and no fresh towels, tea cups that had been used were not changed.
The advertisement of the hotel looked very good but I'm afraid it did not live up it

Reviewed by
Thomas W

From Waterford City, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We mainly chose the hotel because of the location which is great, near the university and Clifton. Clean but could do with a face-lift. TV didn't work, no plug near the mirror.

Reviewed by
Helle T

From Denmark
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly staff and good food

Reviewed by
F Meakin

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding party accommodation in Bristol
Some members of the family stayed here for two nights whilst attending a wedding party in Bristol. The location, close to the amenities and Clifton was ideal. The helpfullness and friendliness of the staff was outstanding. The only disadvantage was that all the rooms were on the second floor. This proved a feat too far for the very aged in the party. However, we would all stay there again in the future.

Reviewed by
Jennifer F

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No evening meal was available as they had a function on, which was a bit frustrating as it mean I had to go further afield when the hotel has such a lovely beer garden and I would have liked to sit in it! Otherwise it was a good experience.

Reviewed by
Janet M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next