No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN NOVEMBER 2014 - Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums, it boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 12 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and free unlimited wifi. Our bar food menu is available between 11am - 9pm. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of their way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Night on My Old Stomping Ground
This is basically a glorified pub with some hotel accommodation. My room was tiny with no wardrobe or chest of drawers but clean, warm and comfortable but there was no hot water in the morning. There is no lift. There is no parking and the adjacent streets are chocabloc with parked cars. I ended up parked over a quarter of a mile away. There was no food available after 10:00 p.m. The continental breakfast was of below average quality and the coffee was like dishwater.

Reviewed by
John J

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No heating or hot water....
I stayed at the Channing Hotel while working in Bristol. Unfortunately things went wrong from when I arrived:
First the computer wasn't working so it took ages to check in. Then I found the heating wasn't working in my room and while an engineer had been called, there was no sign of a fix. I then had dinner in the pub downstairs and the food was average with the chips being a bit raw.
The person on duty did kindly find me an electric heater when I asked, but I was worried about leaving it on while I slept so I woke up t a cold room. Furthermore when I tried to have a shower to warm up, there was no hot water!!
I may have just picked a bad day, but while the room was cheap, the lack of heating and hot water was a real issue

Reviewed by
Gemma M

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
Very friendly staff, and very helpful. Nice room but very, very hot and windows hardly opened. But overall a really lovely stay.

Reviewed by
F Bruce

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better !!
Having lived just across the road in my childhood it was great to come back! Close to both Clifton village or Whiteladies Road, but you almost have to park there! This hotel has no on site parking so you take your chance in being able to find something close! We were at least a 5 minute walk away, which doesn't sound far but............... The rooms had recently been decorated, and they should have sacked whom ever decided to paint these beautiful rooms with brown paintwork!! Durable - yes inviting - no!!
Would I recommend - yes as it was clean, friendly and the bar area looked wonderful, but the lack of parking and dire room decor would make me look if I could find another hotel in the same area.
Mark

Reviewed by
M Williams

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Characterful urban hotel
What matters is not that there are some things not quite as they should be - but how the staff respond. I had a couple of issues which the staff did everything reasonable to address. All staff are very welcoming. The public areas are stunning; my bedroom less so - but represented value for money.

Reviewed by
Tim B

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
The place felt very safe, the shower and bath was new and the room spacious, the only setback was that there was no wardrobe. However a restful night in a quiet area, within walking distance of Clifton Bridge. Bar staff were very friendly and certainly overall value for money.

Reviewed by
A Bonchol

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend romantic getaway
I needed a room close to the centre to spend the evening in with my girlfriend. Channings is perfect for that! Great price for a nice room in a perfect location - definitely will stay there again!

Reviewed by
Oliver H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely old building
we went to stay there for 1 night for our anniversary as we were going to watch a show , its approx 20 mins from city centre nice walk but uphill on way back, we stayed there on the last night of it being the old channings as on saturday it was closing for refurbishment , it is a beautiful old building & on some reviews that people have left i think they may have confused old with dirty , the hotel was not dirty at all but in need of some serious TLC but understandable due to the age , i think people need to look at the bones of the building not the decor. The staff were amazing friendly and helpful very welcoming, nothing was too much bother. Im glad that the hotel is getting a well deserved facelift , i just hope they can save the character of the building when they do it as it would be a shame to lose such a beautiful old building. There was also a pub underneath but that was already closed for refurbishment, and there was a small bar in the hotel which with some tlc will be beautiful, thanks for making our stay a happy one .

Reviewed by
michele k

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel stay
The room was comfortable but very shabby looking . The bathroom was particularly shabby the bath panel was off and dirty tiles.. obvious disadvantage I.s no lifts and is a two storey building. They were good enough to let me know beforehand

Reviewed by
wendy c

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, comfortable accommodation at a good price.
Stayed for 2 nights to go to a family wedding. Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful. Big old Victorian place that is a bit tired round the edges but provides clean, comfortable accommodation at sensible prices. We had everything we needed with comfortable bed, large bathroom, big wardrobe and tea, coffee and biscuits in the room and in a quiet location just 5 mins walk from restaurants and shops. Iron and board were available. Didn't try evening meals as had other commitments but good full English breakfast. If you want impersonal, glam or boutique style then this is not for you but otherwise you can't do better in Bristol. Best of all they found a single room (which didn't appear on booking sites) at short notice for our daughter who had spent the 1st night at the Full Moon hostel in really disgusting conditions! Many thanks for a great stay.

Reviewed by
Caroline H

From Etchingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next