No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums. It boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 10 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and wifi. The hotel has 1 bar which is currently open until midnight on Friday's and Saturday's), a function room, we also have Sky Sports and we serve traditional pub fayre from our bar menu. Our menu is available between 12 - 3.00 pm and 5 -9pm everyday. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of there way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We mainly chose the hotel because of the location which is great, near the university and Clifton. Clean but could do with a face-lift. TV didn't work, no plug near the mirror.

Reviewed by
Helle T

From Denmark
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly staff and good food

Reviewed by
F Meakin

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding party accommodation in Bristol
Some members of the family stayed here for two nights whilst attending a wedding party in Bristol. The location, close to the amenities and Clifton was ideal. The helpfullness and friendliness of the staff was outstanding. The only disadvantage was that all the rooms were on the second floor. This proved a feat too far for the very aged in the party. However, we would all stay there again in the future.

Reviewed by
Jennifer F

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No evening meal was available as they had a function on, which was a bit frustrating as it mean I had to go further afield when the hotel has such a lovely beer garden and I would have liked to sit in it! Otherwise it was a good experience.

Reviewed by
Janet M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City stay in Bristol
All satisfactory. Parking may be difficult on working days.

Reviewed by
Gareth O

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff
We arrived a little late so we let the staff know. They waited for us and were very friendly and funny, we had a great time.

Reviewed by
Petra T

From Amsterdam, Netherlands
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in perfect location. Bargain!
We stayed here on Friday night and went out in Bristol. The location is absolutely perfect for Clifton, Park Street and White Ladies Road. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit tired but the shower was really highly pressurised which was great! Could have done with a hair dryer in the room but apart from that it was lovely and great value for money. Breakfast was included in the price and was a choice of full English or scrambled eggs on toast etc and was just what we needed after a night out partying! Will definitely be back!

Reviewed by
K Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but great location.
Stayed overnight in a double room. Room very dated in need of renovation but clean and comfortable. No breakfast menu to choose from just offered tea/coffee and asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast, we didn't so just had egg on toast which was just okay (no cereals,orange juice etc). Check out time was 10.30 am which we were aware of, and as we were about to leave at 10.35 am had a knock on the door by a member of staff reminding us of the time!
Apart from that great location.

Reviewed by
R macey

From Casnewydd, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay, with no big complaints.
Simple room, not too many thrills. Had to plug the kettle in on the floor, as both plugs were being used by the TV. And had to fiddle with the batteries in the remote for a while to make it work. But really, these are minor complaints. A pleasant stay, enjoyable breakfast, good location, especially for the zoo, and a lovely beer garden in the sun.

Reviewed by
Melissa L

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room, close to centre, great service
Truly enjoyed my stay here. Accommodation much cheaper than most other places in Bristol. Room itself was better condition than hotels I have stayed in for double the price. Clean, good shower, sheets and ideal for young people travelling to meet friends. Staff were welcoming, but left us to our own devices, they even allowed a friend (who had got a little too drunk) to come home early and borrow a key to access their room. Breakfast was good and overall a friendly, chilled out atmosphere. Very happy :)

Reviewed by
Amanda J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next