No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manor Hotel

3AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
TROWLE COMMON , BRADFORD ON AVON/ TROWBRIDGE, BA149BL
The Old Manor Hotel, a 21 bedroom Grade 2 listed Manor House situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon, Trowbridge and a 10 minute drive from the Spa town of Bath.

Mentioned in the Domesday Book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury’s estate, the present Manor House was originally built in classic Queen Anne style before being upgraded in the 17th century.

Purchased in July 2013 by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins (and Camber the dog) who have restored the hotel back to its former glory. They have recruited Chef Matthew Briddon (River Cafe, Paul Heathcotes) who is busy preparing the hotels kitchen garden and on site smokery.

Food is central to the Old Manor and not to be missed with everything being wither locally sourced or grown on the hotel grounds

Picture of The Old Manor Hotel, BRADFORD ON AVON/ TROWBRIDGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character & Charm
This homely hotel has been brilliantly designed, it conveys an honest confidence, without being in any way stuck up. Staff and owners are friendly and the whole place is full of little touches that give it a character of it's own.
This is a hotel I could relax in and work in with equal comfort.

Reviewed by
Dan C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High quality, very relaxing atmosphere
Warm wlecome, excellent service, top qulaity room and wonderful food - what more can you say!

Reviewed by
Howard W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed my stay
Normally I would stay in a large company run hotel i.e. Premier inn etc. this hotel was a sheer delight it was like like being in Emerdale (the soap) the surroundings were beautiful, the hotel was very welcoming & friendly, rooms were tip top & would stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Alan T

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation but not perfect
Nice place to stay comfortable room. However my stay was marred by 2 things.
1 Check-in it took 15 minutes to find someone to check me in, there was no one at the desk and no bell to draw attention of my arrival
2 Luke warm "hot" water at 7am, even though the hotel was nowhere near full. Not much of an apology when checking out either and no concession on the bill because of it.

Reviewed by
N Smith

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous weekend, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, evening meal was excellent and the time spent before the meal with a glass of wine in front of a roaring fire was a real treat! Will. Certainly be going back.

Reviewed by
Susan K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent A*****
A very nice room, friendly staff and a treacle tart to travel across the world for!

Reviewed by
Nigel H

From Esher, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exspensive for what it was.
bar prices bit steep.

Reviewed by
d brace

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the manor house.
Can thoroughly recommend this hotel. On arrival we had assistance with our bags into reception to book in from the young very mature assistant manager who could not do more to assist us and during our stay. The rooms in the house are full of character and what one would expect from a old residence. Beds were clean and comfortable as were the rooms well maintained throughout our stay, coffee tea and milk topped up daily with the addition of a small packet of biscuits, very useful for the diabetic member. Breakfast was served with plenty of options, cooked I can recommend, with a choice of dairy, cerials, fruit, and jucies of various kinds. We found all the staff to be happy and cheerful doing their work and we would certainly make this hotel our point of stay if we were to visit the area again. Thank you for all the help you gave us, you all made our stay a very happy memory.

Reviewed by
DAVID CROSS

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive
Rather expensive for the qu lity of the room,. It was quite shabby but clean. Staff were helpful and the breakfast was reasonably good.

Reviewed by
P P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the restaurant service
Room was lovely. Spacious, clean and well furnished. But experience was marred by the restaurant service. Waited 45 mins to be seated for dinner, despite reservation. Poor food when it arrived. Waited about 50 mins for a cooked breakfast which was not worth the wait. Not waitresses fault, who were constantly apologising to all guests. Something amiss in kitchen. No sign of owners. We did however get free wine for partner's 60 th .

Reviewed by
S Bond

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next