No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sonachan House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
35 St Andrews Road, , Paignton, TQ4 6HA
Sonachan House is a small, family-run, licensed hotel that is ideally
situated being in the heart of the English Riviera and has been awarded a
Visit England quality rating of 4 Stars under the Guest Accommodation
Scheme. We are also delighted to have been awarded a breakfast award.

We have a well stocked bar including a selection of real ales from a local
brewery in Paignton, Bays Brewery. We also sell their Windfall Cider made
from 100% West Country apples.

We are close to the many attractions of Paignton including the beach, pier,
multiplex cinema, crazy golf, harbour (many trips available) and the green
where there is nearly always something happening during the main season.

Goodrington beach is also only a short walk away where you will find a
lovely safe beach and many water attractions, e.g. pedaloes.

For the rare wet day try the nearby Torbay Leisure Centre. Paignton &
Dartmouth Steam Railway is a must for all ages whatever the weather.
Picture of Sonachan House, Paignton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent guest house
Lovely guest house. Great breakfast and lovely friendly staff. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Laura Daniels

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent family facilities
There are a limited number of rooms that accommodate a family with three children and Sonachan House offers two. Comfortable and clean and the breakfast is excellent. Very central location.

Reviewed by
E Humpage

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visitng family
Myself and my daughter stayed for 1 night it was a lovely place,the welcome was great,and breakfast was outstanding, we will visit again.

Reviewed by
susan griffiths

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
An excellent stay in a spotlessly clean hotel with first rate management, more than one could reasonably expect from every point of view.

Reviewed by
Richard L

From Tywyn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Stayed for a short break in Paignton. Lovely B & B, wonderful people, good location - what more could we ask?

Reviewed by
Howard B

From Mansfield, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

location
Be careful if you are using a sat -nav to find your destination here, we were directed to an adjacent dead end road which was very narrow and only just managed to turn my people carrier around to get out ,if you are unsure and nearby ring the owner for better directions . we learnt numerous people had the same problem . Despite this the accommodation and stay could not be faulted very clean and friendly , when we arrived we were offered a hot drink and juices which was very welcome after a 7 hour journey . we stayed here just for one night as a stop over on our way to Cornwall the following day but I wished I had stayed longer.

Reviewed by
V Gazeley

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary night
This Hotel is amazing , we can't rate it highly enough . The room was beautiful with clean crisp linen and soft pillows and furnishings arranged so as to lure you towards a perfects nights sleep. The cooked breakfast was the best we had ever had . The owners were very welcoming and informative . It was the most perfect setting for a romantic anniversary night ,

Reviewed by
helen wright

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one of the very best
I would recommend this to anyone, everyone was warm and friendly. I will be looking to book a room again when I am next in the area.

Reviewed by
Alan Flynn

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding hotel
Really enjoyed our stay. A lovely place to be.

Reviewed by
s williamson

From Glossop, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best stay in paignton
what a very nice hotel good food ,very clean and the hosts were the most polite friendly helpful i have ever come across ,we will be definitely staying here again they made our vacation complete.
there is even a little fairy garden for the kids and a little pets corner along with a superbly situated decking ideal for a drink before you go out or a early morning coffee whilst the best ever hotel breakfast i have ever had is being freshly cooked

Reviewed by
Tony A

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next