No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lodgehill Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Bickleigh Road, Ashley, , Tiverton, EX16 5PA
Lodgehill Hotel is situated half way between Devon's north and south coasts and close to Exmoor.We are a short drive from Exeter and it's shopping and approximately 45 minutes from it's airport. There are many attractions on our doorstep, including steam railways, walking trails, cycling and horse-riding. There are 2 golf courses nearby (Tiverton and Padbrook Park), as well as Diggerland in Cullompton, 2 National Trust houses and RHS Rosemoor near Barnstaple. We are approximately 30 minutes from Exeter Westpoint, where exhibitions are held all year round. The coast lines of Devon are just 30 miles away to the north and south of us, it takes about 45-60 minutes to drive, the heritage coast of Dorset is just over an hour away. There is a very good bus service, with stops near the bottom of our drive, and a day ticket, currently costing £7.40 can be used all day around the county. Book now for Easter breaks.
Picture of Lodgehill Hotel, Tiverton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sad
A very sad place to stay. The whole place in need of refurbishment. The public areas very untidy with things left around. The rooms were clean but desperately need updating.

Reviewed by
L Deller

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for the money.
Great Hotel, would stay there again for sure, value for the money but basic.
Clean tidy facilities with friendly owners. Plenty of parking and free WiFi.
No mobile phone reception however they let me use the phone to book cab's and contact friends, offered to pay but refused. All added to the brilliant experience I had there.

Reviewed by
Aaron Lovell

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and dowdy !
We were made to feel welcome but the actual hotel needs a complete refurbishment !
It was cheap (perhaps less demanding guests may not be as critical as us), not a disaster but also not the most uplifting experience either !

Reviewed by
D Lindsay

From Totland Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lodgehill Hotel a convenient and pleasant stay
Lodgehill is quite close to Tiverton but in a quiet rural location, which we felt is ideal. The hotel has a lounge with T.V. and bar, which again we appreciated. Plentiful off road parking.
Our twin bedded room was adequate for purpose and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was satisfactorily equipped though the shower tiles were due for regrouting. We enjoyed an excellent cooked breakfast and were delighted to enjoy a good bowl of porridge. Our hostess was hospitable and efficient.

Reviewed by
A Harris

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never judge a book
Our initial impression of the Lodge Hill Hotel was of a charming old property that had seen better days, and was maybe in need of more than a lick of paint. To be completely honest, under different circumstances we would have turned around and looked elsewhere. However, it was getting late, and the booking had been confirmed on-line with a credit card. The reception area was clean and tidy, but very tired and dated, with swirly patterned cream carpets. We were greeted by the owner who was very pleasant and helpful. She directed us to our rooms, right at the top of the building, and there we were pleasantly surprised. We had booked for family accommodation, and were given a suite of two rooms with a shared bathroom. Being attic rooms, they had sloping ceilings, and bags of character. They were also very spacious, with a large double bed and separate sofa in one room, and twin beds in the other. Once again, much of the furniture was old, but serviceable, but the beds were wonderfully comfortable, and there was a large, modern TV, plus all the usual tea and coffee making facilities. Everything was clean and tidy, and the bathroom was roomy, with just a shower in the corner rather than a bath. We ate in the hotel that evening, and enjoyed, basic, inexpensive, family-friendly fare. Unfortunately I can't comment on the breakfasts as we had an early start the next day, and weren't able to stay to try them, but our hostess kindly reduced the bill accordingly. As the old saying goes, you should never judge a book by it's cover, and that's certainly true of the Lodge Hill.

Reviewed by
Amanda S

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A step back in time.
This was not what I expected but in its way was delightful. The Hotel is quite dated but the odd miss-mash of pictures and ornaments,plus the age & layout of the building make it quite quirky in a positive way. The friendliness of the owners makes you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. There is a lovely little working garden & a place to enjoy a nice cup of tea in the sunshine....lovely!! Get past the dated decoration & relax in this quiet,different from the normal run of the mill Hotel. The food is freshly prepared & the wellington was quite positively the best I have ever had!! Delicious!! The downside was i could hear the people in the room above who had small children,unfortunately they woke very early & consequently woke me......not their fault, but not ideal! All in all a quaint old fashioned Hotel.

Reviewed by
M Williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Experience
A very well run Hotel that covers all the bases and delivers everything it promises. Would highly recommend to colleagues, friends and Family

Reviewed by
TOMMY CORDNER

From MANCHESTER, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Lodgehill Hotel was very comfortable and homely. We were made welcome and allowed to have our rooms earlier than stated in the advert. Rooms were very comfortable and it was lovely to have a lounge area to sit and relax with a lovely view.
The only complaint would be the very squeaky door!!
Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent.
Paul and Lin Crispin July 2014

Reviewed by
L CRISPIN

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely old property. food 1st class and plenty of it. hosts made me feel very welcome. Felt very much at ease and relaxed during my stay and will be staying there again.

Reviewed by
babs t

From Braunton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet retreat
well away from the main road so quite a peaceful location. The outside of the building does give a rather untidy seen better days feeling as you arrive, but the room was much better with a comfortable bed. Freshly cooked breakfast and evening meal were both excellent. This hotel represents very good value for money at the price paid bed, breakfast, 2 course meal and one drink for just over £50

Reviewed by
Michael Bristow

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next