Reviews - Lodgehill Hotel


Bickleigh Road, Ashley,, Tiverton, EX16 5PA

Price From 140.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (21)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D Lindsay

  • September 2014

Tired and dowdy !

We were made to feel welcome but the actual hotel needs a complete refurbishment .

It was cheap (perhaps less demanding guests may not be as critical as us), not a disaster but also not the most uplifting experience either !

  • Aaron Lovell

  • September 2014

Great Value for the money.

Great Hotel, would stay there again for sure, value for the money but basic.

Clean tidy facilities with friendly owners. Plenty of parking and free WiFi. No mobile phone reception however they let me use the phone to book cab's and contact friends, offered to pay but refused. All added to the brilliant experience I had there.

  • A Harris

  • August 2014

Lodgehill Hotel a convenient and pleasant stay

Lodgehill is quite close to Tiverton but in a quiet rural location, which we felt is ideal.

The hotel has a lounge with T.V. and bar, which again we appreciated. Plentiful off road parking. Our twin bedded room was adequate for purpose and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was satisfactorily equipped though the shower tiles were due for regrouting. We enjoyed an excellent cooked breakfast and were delighted to enjoy a good bowl of porridge. Our hostess was hospitable and efficient.

  • Amanda S

  • August 2014

Never judge a book

Our initial impression of the Lodge Hill Hotel was of a charming old property that had seen better days, and was maybe in need of more than a lick of paint.

To be completely honest, under different circumstances we would have turned around and looked elsewhere. However, it was getting late, and the booking had been confirmed on-line with a credit card. The reception area was clean and tidy, but very tired and dated, with swirly patterned cream carpets. We were greeted by the owner who was very pleasant and helpful. She directed us to our rooms, right at the top of the building, and there we were pleasantly surprised. We had booked for family accommodation, and were given a suite of two rooms with a shared bathroom. Being attic rooms, they had sloping ceilings, and bags of character. They were also very spacious, with a large double bed and separate sofa in one room, and twin beds in the other. Once again, much of the furniture was old, but serviceable, but the beds were wonderfully comfortable, and there was a large, modern TV, plus all the usual tea and coffee making facilities. Everything was clean and tidy, and the bathroom was roomy, with just a shower in the corner rather than a bath. We ate in the hotel that evening, and enjoyed, basic, inexpensive, family-friendly fare. Unfortunately I can't comment on the breakfasts as we had an early start the next day, and weren't able to stay to try them, but our hostess kindly reduced the bill accordingly. As the old saying goes, you should never judge a book by it's cover, and that's certainly true of the Lodge Hill.


  • August 2014

Excellent Experience

A very well run Hotel that covers all the bases and delivers everything it promises.

Would highly recommend to colleagues, friends and Family

  • M Williams

  • August 2014

A step back in time.

This was not what I expected but in its way was delightful.

The Hotel is quite dated but the odd miss-mash of pictures and ornaments,plus the age & layout of the building make it quite quirky in a positive way. The friendliness of the owners makes you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. There is a lovely little working garden & a place to enjoy a nice cup of tea in the sunshine....lovely!. Get past the dated decoration & relax in this quiet,different from the normal run of the mill Hotel. The food is freshly prepared & the wellington was quite positively the best I have ever had!. Delicious!. The downside was i could hear the people in the room above who had small children,unfortunately they woke very early & consequently woke me......not their fault, but not ideal. All in all a quaint old fashioned Hotel.


  • July 2014

Our stay at Lodgehill Hotel was very comfortable and homely.

We were made welcome and allowed to have our rooms earlier than stated in the advert. Rooms were very comfortable and it was lovely to have a lounge area to sit and relax with a lovely view.

The only complaint would be the very squeaky door!. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent. Paul and Lin Crispin July 2014

  • Michael Bristow

  • July 2014

Quiet retreat

well away from the main road so quite a peaceful location.

The outside of the building does give a rather untidy seen better days feeling as you arrive, but the room was much better with a comfortable bed. Freshly cooked breakfast and evening meal were both excellent. This hotel represents very good value for money at the price paid bed, breakfast, 2 course meal and one drink for just over £50

  • J Smith

  • May 2014

Room review

Great service.

Very friendly and helpful. Lovely food. Very convenient location

  • terry n

  • April 2014

fab nice to spend happy days in a very nice place

did wot it sead on the tin