No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Continental Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road , Plymouth, PL1 3LD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The New Continental is Plymouth’s largest independent hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city, adjacent to Plymouth Pavilions and just moments away from Plymouth’s Historic Waterfront. The New Continental is within walking distance of all local attractions, including The Theatre Royal, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Gin Distillery, The Barbican, Plymouth Hoe and Royal William Yard. This Victorian property combines traditional features with modern facilities, with 99 individually decorated bedrooms, an in-house brasserie, an onsite Leisure Complex with a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and a fully equipped weights room and cardiovascular gym. As a long standing local business, the New Continental is a proud supporter of local enterprise where it strives to support local food suppliers, culminating in a modern British menu with a European influence. We are now a free Wi-Fi Zone.
Picture of The New Continental Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 155 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Great hotel, clean room but the room during the night was like a sauna even with the windows open. I got the room off of Late nights.com so was cheaper than the normal rate and some of our other friends were staying in the Travel Lodge around the corner which was just as good, so maybe this place is for people with a little more money. All in all a very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Rob B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good service with good staff
I have stayed here a few times. The staff are great (especially as I messed up my booking). Rooms are clean tidy, and well looked after. Really good gym onsite and location is great to head to the barbican. Not the most modern hotel in town, but overall definitely my preferred place to stay in Plymouth centre.

Reviewed by
Gaylen S

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A single night stay at New Continental very central location in Plymouth
Got a night stay at reasonable price £70 due to Laterooms.com usual price £110 per night
Staff on the desk were very friendly and helpful giving me locations and map to aquarium. Room was clean and well maintained but very warm no air conditioning and little ventilation. Bath room was large including the tub could have a good soak in. Breakfast cost me extra £10 went for continental breakfast toast came out black and burnt sent it back and returned with burned toast that had been scraped so not best breakfast I have experienced and staff seemed to struggle with what I was asking from them like unburnt toast. All in all it was okay stay location comes out tops for this hotel being walking distance from most attractions in central Plymouth.

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced
I upgraded to the 4 poster room. This looked nice at first but had a number of problems. There was a fancy bath but just a handheld shower head and no shower curtain meaning it was nearly impossible to shower! There were make up stains all over the supplied dressing gown. Room very hot with no fan or air conditioning. Also no clock in the room. Hotel generally a bit shabby around the edges and not a great location.

Reviewed by
K Dodd

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value
good value for money and ideally located

Reviewed by
Cathy B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception staff very efficient and friendly. Booked in and shown to our room very quickly. Room clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
P Smith

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Polite and helpful reception staff. Could not fault the room and good selection for breakfast

Reviewed by
H Litten

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stop after ferry crossing
The hotel is close to the ferry terminal. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We crossed the channel mid week so the ferry was not full and we cleared customs and passport controls quickly. However it was after 2200 by the time we reached the hotel. If the threatened delays in passport control materialise, then the latest check in time may have to be later than 2300.

Reviewed by
john p

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service, very welcoming and very clean room. would stay at the hotel again.

Reviewed by
j colwill

From exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great weekend break ,this hotel is excellent value with so many extra's , so clean ,roomy good food and we travelled by train and walked everywhere of interest was close by good location very central .

Reviewed by
a k

From , England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next