No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highbullen Golf and Leisure Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Chittlehamholt North Devon, Umberleigh, EX37 9HD
Highbullen Hotel, Golf and Country Club is beautifully set in a richly wooded 125 acre parkland estate. Boasting breathtaking views towards the romantic Devon landscapes of Exmoor and Dartmoor, the 36 bedroom hotel is truly a hidden treasure, nestling between the Mole and Taw Valleys in mature wooded seclusion. Your stay at Highbullen can be virtually whatever you want it to be with a wide range of experiences and activities.
From the 18 hole par 68 golf course, extensive salmon, sea-trout and brown trout fishing, indoor and outdoor tennis courts (including four new all weather courts), leisure centre with gym and indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi, indoor bowls, croquet, snooker, all of which are on site!
For those who yearn for the wide open space for their exercise and leisure pastimes, Highbullen provides an ideal base for all the West country has to offer.
Locally, scenic walks on Exmoor or the South West Coast Path, horse riding and clay shooting are all available. If you need a bit more of a challenge, rock climbing, sailing, surfing, hiking and mountain bike trails across the rugged moorland, are all just a short drive away. Whatever you fancy Highbullen is that breath of fresh air you need to experience.
Picture of Highbullen Golf and Leisure Hotel, Umberleigh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with stunning views, very good facilities and an excellent breakfast.
Only one complaint, sorry but the younger members of the waiting staff are extremely forgetful, daily we experienced this either at breakfast or in the evening.

Reviewed by
John Jennings

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience, wonderful views, lovely large room, nice dining room with good quality food.
Lovely quiet setting staying in one of the Foresters Lodges as we took our dog. My husband played golf and I enjoyed the spa. Sunday lunch was one of the best we have had. Went on a couple of the walks available around the countryside and also went to the coast to visit Appledore. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly go again.

Reviewed by
Jennifer K

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

They only provide one single room, which, from entering the opulent corridor, was very plain and more reminiscent of a townhouse B&B. I'm not sure why the try to squeeze out a little extra income from this single room, when as a lone traveller, you are clearly not appreciated. At breakfast and dinner you are ignore or given short shrift. they seem to forget that a single client, visiting allegedly grand accommodation would tend to have more disposable income, provided they feel the establishment is a worthy place to part with your cash. this place was not and I felt unwanted, and made to feel awkward. The place is still much of a building site in places.

Reviewed by
John M

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were invited to a Ball at Highbullen. The hotel and grounds are beautiful.

Reviewed by
Anthony Tranckle

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic break from start to finish; the accommodation was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.

Reviewed by
Peter White

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Whilst the room was a little on the small side it was perfect for my needs and impeccably kept.

Reviewed by
A James

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay in the countryside
After a short wait at reception on arrival for a receptionist we were given a room in the main house (which was an upgrade to what we had booked). We found this to be bright and clean and the bathroom was huge! Breakfast was delicious and even served gluten free toast which was fab as I usually miss out on this with my wheat intolerance. The only small niggle with breakfast was a couple of items not being available and having to ask for ketchup each day but the food itself was good. The leisure facilities were great and we made use of the outdoor tennis court, the large pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Having had a look through the window to the bowls and tennis court there is some old furniture and carpet piled up but I think the hotel is undergoing some refurbishment.
If you want to go anywhere away from the hotel itself, be prepared to drive as this hotel is surrounded by countryside. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others looking for relaxation. Highbullen has great views and is a lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
D Miller

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Hotel
Cracking location, great staff; all in all a wonderful place to relax and stay. Will be coming back

Reviewed by
A Blackmore

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all rounder
We had a very happy stay at Highbullen, a rarity for us with two under 3 yrs old in tow. Staff were extremely friendly, approachable and cheerful, and were glad to be getting to grips with new systems in place since the refurbishment (completed April 2013). We stayed in main house, and our room ("Neil") was exceptional. Breakfast exceptional also. Bar and Restaurant staffed by eager but young inexperienced staff, but didn't detract from overall enjoyment. Bar/Bistro down at club house is where most improvement could be made - completely souless at present. Real star is the building, grounds, the surrounding region, and the facilities - especially the gym and pool. We were put in touch with local swimming instruction team at short notice (Debbie, Donna), and resultant 3 swimming lessons really made the trip. Local horse riding also excellent. Would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Dan I

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country hotel, great facilities, just need to employ more staff
we stayed in a family room, 90 foresters rest, lovely large room, with a patio area and stunning views, bed was very comfy, though the fold away bed provided for our 12 year old was not but we sorted it out with spare duvet and blankets. small issues with the room, no full length mirror, room servicing just consisted of making the bed, telly was not tuned in and guests noise in the room above us was very evident also room is at the bottom of a very steep hill, we walked up it each day for breakfast and to use facilities, we are a reasonably fit family but the climb left us breathless and contemplating hi-jacking a golf buggy!
The leisure facilities were great, most of the time we were the only ones in the pool, lovely fluffy towels are provided as are padlocks for the locker,out door tennis courts were perfect, indoor court is getting very tired but fully usable, rackets can be hired with a refundable deposit. Outside pool is in a lovely sun trap but be warned the water is not heated.
Breakfast was very good but small portions, I did ask for 2 tomatoes and extra mushroom on a couple of days but this never arrived. We always had breakfast at 8am and the restaurant was quiet but definitely lacking in staff. We did not have an evening meal in the main restaurant but did eat in the bar area. Food was good and reasonable size portions, there was a wait each time as priority in the kitchen is given to people eating in the main restaurant but this was fine as it gave us time for a couple of games of pool.
All in all we had a great stay, the hotel was a perfect base to visit local attractions, management staff were very efficient and personal. Hotel is definitely up and coming but is a little gem and fingers crossed it will get there!

Reviewed by
d gibson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next