No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Croydon Hotel

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Croydon Hotel, 54 St Michaels Road, , Bournemouth, BH2 5DY
The Croydon Hotel Bournemouth is situated minutes from Bournemouth's award winning beaches and fantastic shopping amenities-along with the fabulous and varied vibrant nightlife Bournemouth has to offer!!! The hotel is under new ownership and for 2014 we feature a brand new guest lounge and licensed residents bar-which is an ideal starting point for your evening out in Bournemouth! This, along with a new and fully refurbished dining room which easily accommodates all our guests! We offer a selection of evening meals in the licensed restaurant and have hand picked a selection of fine wines to match the wholesome home cooked food we have on offer! All room have en-suite facilities comprising shower basin and toilet-and at the time of writing we are planning a refurbishment programme of all rooms in 2014! Our family room sleeps five and is also ideal for groups attending events at the nearby BIC and Pavilion centres and Pier theatre-we are also a short cab ride from the O2 Academy in Boscombe! All our rooms now feature double accommodation! All guests are free to come and go at will. Whilst we are a non-smoking hotel we do offer a smoking area in the patio garden to the rear of the hotel. For 2014 we now offer and improved breakfast menu and longer breakfast service! Full English, vegetarian full English, smoked salmon bagel with a choice of poached or scrambled egg-along with lashings of cereals, toast, preserves yoghurts tea and coffee! On street parking is available on a first come basis alternatively there are car parks nearby-charges apply. Check in is from 2pm and check out is 10am on the day of departure-however if you need to arrive earlier or leave later please let us know and we can arrange this! We also offer a luggage minding service at no extra charge. Small dogs are welcome at a £5.00 surcharge per stay-please ask at the time of booking! Unfortunately we are unable to accept bookings from large groups of hens or stags.
Picture of Croydon Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A true gem of a place
The staff were warm and friendly reflecting on the hotel too. I loved the décor and my room was smashing. Spotless. Breakfasts were piping hot and great, hats off to the chef/cook. Would be the first place to book in when I come again to Bournemouth, if they have vacancies

Reviewed by
kevin downing

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous find in the centre of Bournemouth
This is a great little hotel with an excellent approach to customer service - nothing was too much trouble and our special dietary requirement were dealt with really efficiently - and deliciously! Loved the location for the BIC, the sea, and the town centre. Good quality bed and decent sized bathroom, and we were also treated to a sea view. We will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Juliet P

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, clean, friendly hotel even though it was still being redecorated at the time but this did not prove to be inconvenient, rooms are tidy and comfortable ,food was excellent, very clean dining area, the only drawback is the parking , which is a bit inconvenient , fighting for a space on the street , though there is an NCP behind the hotel less than 5 mins away.

Reviewed by
Lee Alexander W

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and very reasonably priced
When we arrived the current owners had only just taken over the business notwithstanding that they were most welcoming and keen to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction

Reviewed by
Stella D

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for Bournemouth International Centre
Stayed just one night to go to the concert at the BIC. 5 minutes walk away so very convenient. Hotel was quite and clean and very pleasant owners. I had Room 7 which was front facing, spacious and very nice decor and furnishings. Bed really comfy and no noise at night. Ensuite small but really good shower. Breakfast was nothing special and the breakfast room is 'cosy' but it was perfecty adequate. In all, nice hotel in a good location and good value for money.

Reviewed by
Helena T

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful and friendly hosts. Convenient (10 minute walk) to town centre. Comfortable bed and spacious room. Clean and tidy. Good choice of breakfasts with offers of top-ups. Only problem is lack of parking. Very limited in the street. Help provided by host in finding the nearest car park, but the charges for two nights put up the overall cost of the stay by £16. Other guests may be more lucky in finding a space in the street. Overall, an enjoyable stay with friendly hosts and a relaxed atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Gareth Williams

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay in Bournemouth
Book a single room for one night stay. Hotel was great, owners are very friendly and helpful. It is a town house so there are a lot of stairs to get to the upper rooms, not an issue for me but something to keep in mind. Breakfast was supplied and had a great range to choose from, cereals, toast, orange juice, tea and of course a full english fry up. Room was small but had an on suite and all spotlessly clean. All in all great accomodation for a stay in Bournemouth.

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really enjoyed my three night stay here. The owners were very friendly and helpful and made me feel very welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable and the location close to town and not far from the gardens and beach was perfect. It wasn't noisy at night either so could get a good nights sleep. Would recommend this B & B.

Reviewed by
D Purdom

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely people
on arriving , i confused as to why they called it a hotel ? as it was just a guesthouse .. payment in full was taken as we arrived , was told where to find room , Room , small , single wardrobe , only 3 very small drawers to put clothes in , big comfy bed .. a mismatch of very old to odd new furniture .. bllod stains on the duvet cover , makeup on the pillows . 2 small towels very old and hard and an orange towelling rode , again very old . shower was so small my husband kept banging his elbows on the walls . rusty shower rack , thick dust on rads pipes , long dark hairs found in shower . i could go on , but wont .. excellent breakfast 100 % for that , but the decoration in the dinning room , well , what a shock that was , looked like years old paint and the tables clothes were dirty , same ones used each day , i have taken pictures to back all this up , but will not put them up ,, shame because they were such nice people .. bless them .

ManagementResponse

Yes we are a Bed and Breakfast Hotel.  As we have more than 5 rooms we are told we are a hotel.  As per our sign on the front of the building. Payment in full on arrival as per our Terms and Conditions. You said when we arrived I was told where the room was, of course I told you where the room was I was being polite and I also offered to carry your luggage and was told not to worry. You booked a double room, if you wanted a larger room book a larger room. Its a double Wardrobe.  1 chest of drawers with 4 drawers.  2 smaller sets of drawers another 4 drawers (match) so that is 8 drawers in one room for 1 nights stay. If you required a special type of design in your bedroom why not go to a themed hotel. When you arrived I asked you to tell me if anything wrong with the room.  When you came down I asked you is everything ok you said yes.  The shower is 2 years old 900 corner unit.  Quite sufficient for 1 person, but once again if you needed a extra large shower Just ask.  I am also confused as all of our bedding is cleaned by a laundry, white stripped so if there was a stain it would have been so obvious and if it was there why oh why did you sleep in them. The rad pipes, to see the pipes which are underneath the radiator one would have had to  stand on ones head to see them.  I know I have tried it.  But then this is the type of thing a hotel inspector would do not a guest staying for one night.  The design of my Breakfast room is my business and to my liking.  If you did not like it that is a personal like or dislike of your own and should not be added to a review.  You said the table clothes were dirty same ones used  each day.  How do you know you only stayed one night. Table clothes are washed every day.  But, as you know we cook all of our breakfast to order all freshly cooked, at the most I am  no more than 16 paces away, if you had told me that the table cloth was dirty I would have change it.   No need to take photo's We have several of the same colour and my husband loves them !. But what I  cannot understand is you have left this review, as on arrival, after looking at your room, and on leaving I asked if all was ok and you said yes.

Reviewed by
L COTTERILL

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Lovely re-furnished bedroom, light, airey and roomy, en-suite bit on small side tho. But as we were only there for one night this was fine. Run by down to earth friendly couple, Peter and Sandra, who checked frequently that everything was ok. Very small dining area, but great breakfast cooked to order, served Hot. Very quick service. Would recommend on a budget, and quick, easy walk to town centre, BIC and beaches.

Reviewed by
Lyn J

From SOUTHAMPTON, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next