No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Washington

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11-15 St Paul's Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LX
From the moment you walk into the bright colourful reception of the Washington, you can tell that this is no ordinary budget accommodation and is the perfect destination for those feeling the pinch! Situated in the heart of Clifton, this Guest House is within what is regarded as the most historic and cultural area of Bristol close to major landmarks such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Cabot Tower. This City Guest House combines both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget, the Washington offers quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a full English breakfast, bowl of fresh fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value budget accommodation in Bristol. Guests at the Washington also have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars right on their doorstep with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Caffe Clifton merely a few steps away and the busy Whiteladies road just around the corner. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge.
Picture of The Washington, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate Guest House
I paid £4 for wifi which didn't work properly - I was then given a different user name and password, which still didn't work. Before I left in the morning the wifi was working, but I needed it the night before, so was rather disappointed.

Reviewed by
R Dias

From Loughton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Staff very friendly but the hotel as a whole I dated and of a poor level. The room was ok but the shared bathroom was touch and go wether to even use. Ultimately you get what you pay for tho.

Reviewed by
Terence C

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Excellent stay. Staff in restaurant could not do enough for you. Nothing was too much trouble. Receptionists were very helpful. It was nice to be greeted with a smile on arrival. Would stay again if in Bristol. So central and a nice quiet area.

Reviewed by
doreen willis

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, helpful staff and well located for the university.

Reviewed by
Louise B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcoming and comfortable stay; charming hotel, central, good value.

Reviewed by
Simon F

From Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money.
Room smallish but adequate. Bed was comfortable and nice big bath towels. Carpets and bathroom looked clean but corners a bit grubby and decor tired. Charge for Wifi. Some of the fruit in the fruit bowl was just past its best!
Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast good and plentiful.

Reviewed by
alison b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor hotel. It's not worth at all for the accommodation price

Reviewed by
Nassim E

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for a cheepish stay.
A relatively cheep (and relatively clean) hotel.
All fixtures and fitting seems like they're from the 1980's at the latest. I had a rattly window in my room (single glazed) - but it was windy outside. Quite a lumpy bed too.
Nice touch with the complimentary bowl of fruit.
Friendly staff, and a very nice breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
J Sykes

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was given my bill at check in, which I paid with cash. Two days later I find £6 had been taken off my debit card for car parking. Why did this happen? I was presented with my total bill at check in, not happy that more was taken from me at a later date without being informed first.

Reviewed by
a thomas

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre Stay
We stayed one night at the Washington and were very pleased with it. The location was perfect for us - a smart, quiet street in a good area and an easy walk into the city centre. The building is a traditional Georgian one and could do with a bit of interior renovation but is fine for the price. We were happy with our room (41). It didn't have all the best fittings but we didn't expect it to for the price we paid. The traditional English breakfast was great and there were plenty of staff serving. Overall a good, affordable choice for a mid-range city break.

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next