No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Legacy Hotel Victoria

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Hotel Victoria East Street, Newquay Cornwall, TR7 1DB
Hotel Victoria is a 3 star AA hotel located right in the centre of Newquay Cornwall, with many beaches, shops, bars restaurants, clubs and attractions on your door step. Leisure facilities include an Indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, gym and our French, Mexican and Hotel Regency Restaurants are all on site. The hotel also has limited parking on site. An ideal base to discover Inspirational Cornwall with the Eden Project, Rick Stein's restaurants and Jamie Oliver's inspired Fifteen restaurant nearby.

There is parking within the hotel grounds. You will be required to display a parking permit in your car which will be provided at check in.
The charges for car parking are:

1-2days - £5.00
3-10 days - £10.00
10+ days £15.00
Picture of Legacy Hotel Victoria, Newquay Cornwall at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The building is nicely kept and the rooms are what you pay for. The only issue I found is that the weather was very hot through our stay and the rooms didn't have a fan meaning the window had to be open. This was only an issue because the window had security locks only allowing them to only open partially. Also, with it being situated upon a main road it can get very loud at night with the groups of people making their way to the pubs and clubs. I don't think this is an issue if you have a bedroom at the back. The staff however are very helpful and friendly which made our stay easy going and the hotel had plenty of facilities although we didn't use them.

Reviewed by
A Burn

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room for improvment
Given that this is a grand Victorian hotel , it is let down by easily fixed details ,ie draws with no runners ,that fall out when used, seagull poo on balcony, High levels of noise from water tanks above the ceiling of the ocean suite through the night ,This being a problem as I had to pay extra to move to the back of the hotel, because of nightime noise from the street, apart from the night time porter , the hotel staff were very helpful and polite , the breakfast was very good, tasty with lots of choice, ideal for keeping you going till the evening.

Reviewed by
r roberts

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise
My room was on the same side as the night club.
several times a week there was loud music with lots of bass.
i never got to sleep until after mid-night.
when i complained to reception i was told "there's nothing we can do".
i've stayed every year for the last seven years and its the worst its ever been.

Reviewed by
John McCreesh

From Brentford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
This is a grand hotel walking distance from anything you will need in Newquay.
Good parking at a modest cost, a good breakfast and nice rooms make this a great value location.

Reviewed by
Shane M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel needs renovation. The room was overlooking busy street and it was loud.

Reviewed by
P Krawczyk

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

...
...

Reviewed by
P ZON

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lambrini girls
Had a most enjoyable time. The only problem was the lift breaking down for two days which was very awkward as both my friend and I cannot climb stairs but the staff were very good saying that if it wasn't fixed we would be moved downstairs. The restaurant staff were great .Most certainly recommend the place.

Reviewed by
Sandra O'Neill

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service and value for money
Very comfortable, clean and convenient. Fabulous views from the breakfast room. Delicious breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
JANE C

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall fantastic place to stay
Hotel was very nice,food and service excellent,great location of the hotel.Downsides-you have to pay extra for a car park,radiator in the room didn't work (after swimming pool it was the only way to make the costume dry) and even if I asked for a room with sea view-I didn't get that.
Still for that money it was great experience and i would recommend Hotel to anyone :)

Reviewed by
Bart Z

From Welshpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel represents excellent value. It is well located.and the staff could not be more helpful.
It is impossible to understand how some travellers give this hotel poor reviews.My wife and I have regular weekend breaks in 4* and 5* hotels which are often not as good as the Victoria. With regard to the " tired hotel " type of comment; just what do you expect for such little cost?. Try embracing your surroundings and you may actually have a good experience and go home refreshed instead of irate.

Reviewed by
Tom C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next