No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blue Ball Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Countisbury , Lynmouth, EX35 6NE
The Blue Ball Inn, formerly known as the Exmoor Sandpiper Inn, is a beautiful, privately owned, traditional country pub with low ceilings, blackened beams, stone fireplaces and an atmosphere of unspoilt old world charm.

The Inn has a fine and growing reputation for providing real ale, fine wines and excellent food which is served all day in the summer and lunchtimes and evenings in the winter.

Set in an imposing position on a hilltop, a few hundred yards from the sea in Countisbury, the inn has been a landmark on the main route from Lynmouth to Porlock for as long as anyone can remember. We are close to the twin villages of Lynton and Lynmouth and the Doone Valley.

Our 16 en-suite bedrooms offer the tranquillity that you would naturally expect from an unspoilt grade II listed, 13th Century Inn on Exmoor.
Picture of Blue Ball Inn, Lynmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the area is of outstanding beauty the walks ar great and the reception we had was fantastic would stay again have already recommended to friends

Reviewed by
paul jones

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

b&b at inn
A very welcoming place in an amazing setting particularly for dogs

Reviewed by
Andrew Stickland

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aniversary
We had a fab stay excellent food and hospitality the only let down was the shower, plenty of hot water but only a dribble, but understand it's a walkers pub so most have a bath. But that's not us. But totally enjoyed our stay so so friendly were the other guest and staff. And lovely to see all the dogs being able to stay as well even though we don't have one. The food was lovely and loads of it . We would and already have recommended it family. Also had a.n experience with a stick coach coming into lynmouth which we won't forget for a long time lol .

Reviewed by
nicola campbell

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Great location, very friendly staff and lovely atmosphere in this picturesque inn. Think that the rooms are undergoing refurbishment and so our bathrooms were not great, but this was easy to overlook with all the other good things you get here. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks to everyone at the Blue Ball Inn.

Reviewed by
Sharon W

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
My wife and I stayed at the Blue Ball Inn for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was quite spacious, clean and tastefully furnished, with a very modern en suite. The food was home made and plentiful and the staff were more than accommodating. Well worth the money and would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
D Hubbard

From Ivybridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you love good food, big open fires, your dog and beautiful countryside this is for you
This is our second stay at the Blue Balls Inn. The location is stunning, right on the top of Exmoor. The Inn has a brilliant selection of walks available that leave from outside the door, we have tried most of them and would definately recommend them, the countryside is stunning. The food here is wonderful and eating any where else slightly disappointing. The cooked breakfast is very good, and you can have any combination you wish, there is also a good selection of cereals, porridge, juice and lots of lovely hot toast, tea or coffee. The evening meals are wonderful and the restaurant was fully booked most nights. but always room for hotel guests. As the main courses are fantastically generous one night we just had starters, they are happy to do this. The staff at the Inn are relaxed and very welcoming and friendly, they really made us feel at home. If you love your dog then you could not get better than here. Dogs are allowed with you in your room and can accompany you anywhere in the Inn. They even have a place to wash your dog down, place for poo bags, even bags if you need them. Blankets for your dog and doggy biscuits.The rooms are pretty, our bathroom a little tired, however lots of the rooms have beautiful new bathrooms, even a very modern wet room. We had a little look at the other rooms as they were airing! There was plenty of hot water, just right after a long walk. There is a kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits replenished every day and wonderful bottles of spring water. We love the Blue Balls and thank them very much for our second stay, we will definately be back.

Reviewed by
Simone Edwards

From Hastings, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful place to stay
Blue ball inn made you feel very very welcome. They saved us a table for a meal. Polite thoughtful caring and helpful. Nothing is too much effort. Didnt want to leave and will be going back next year i hope

Reviewed by
Tracey D

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.