No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE SANDY COVE HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Berrynarbor, ILFRACOMBE, EX34 9SR
Wherever you go in Sandy Cove, you cannot escape our wonderful view. With stunning views across the bay, the hotel is enviably nestled at the gateway to magical Exmoor and within easy reach of the glorious beaches of the Atlantic.

Throughout the week you will be tempted by our extensive table d' hote, a la carte and bar menus all using fresh, locally sourced produce and every Saturday the chef presents the Swedish Smorgasbord & Grill Night. The indoor swimming pool features a sliding glass dome which means it can be used all year round and there is a leisure area with sauna, steam room and heated relaxation loungers all free of charge.

Children under 5 are free and children between the ages of 5 -14 who are sharing rooms with their parents will be only charged half price for breakfast. Dogs are accepted at a rate of £8 per night, they are allowed in the bedrooms (excluding superior rooms) and in the gardens but are not allowed in the public rooms. Please advise of any dogs at time of booking.

FREE WIFI available throughout all the public rooms in the hotel.


PLEASE NOTE THE SWIMMING POOL IS CLOSED IN THE FOLLOWING MONTHS:
2nd January - 14th March & 1st November - 23rd December.
Picture of THE SANDY COVE HOTEL, ILFRACOMBE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
A hidden gem - the view is stunning. Felt more like 4 star than 3. Can't wait to return.

Reviewed by
Nick R

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely view
Hotel room had a lovely view over the Bay. We were able to eat out on the terrace with our small dog..and our room was near a Fire Exit which helped us to leave with cases and load car easily...and to enjoy the Coastal walk from there.
Bathroom extracter fan very noisy and door no fitting so unable to lock it....room a bit shabby but clean. No fridge or phone in the room.
The deal we got was good value and we enjoyed the stay with wonderful weather,

Reviewed by
J Calvert

From Hindhead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic view shame about the hotel
There is not enough space here for me to write all that is wrong with this hotel, so I will try and condense it all. All in all, the view from the hotel is probably one of the best in the country, however I feel the hotel heavily relies on this for repeat custom and not a lot else. We are baffled as to how they were awarded an AA rosette for food, as it is bland, uninspiring and overpriced for what it is. The hotel is more shabby than chic. Parts have been refurbished, but not enough to stop it being mainly shabby. The service and staff need a visit from Alex Polizzi, all in all, we would not return here if they paid us. Pay a bit more for your money and get a nice little boutique hotel or B and B in the area.

Reviewed by
Angus J

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views from this hotel. The food was very good but it was a shame that the only choice was a £35 four course meal. We just wanted a starter and main course but had to pay full price. Our room had a wonderful view, new furniture and a large comfy bed, however, the decor let it down. Stuck in the past with old fashioned painted wallpaper, which desperately needed painting. There was a large stain on the ceiling above the bed from an old water leak that also needed to be cleaned up. The bathroom was large but also needed updating. The carpet was old and had seen better days. The only access to our room was via the fire exit at the back of the building, this was wet and very dirty. We had to use this access as we had a small dog with us and we were not able to use the usual access to the room through the bar and restaurant. The hotel is however happy to have dogs stay in there accommodation description.

Reviewed by
paul h

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has great potential but staff need help!
When we arrived we were really excited the location and view were second to none, we thought we had a bargain! However this soon changed when we entered our room! Floor looked discusting and needed a good Hoover and the bathroom bin, was full with ladies sanitary ware! Not the most welcoming! We also paid extra for a junior suite however the room looked very similar to a normal rooms on offer. The restaurant again looked amazing and excellent sea views. However we were told to sit on a certain table every day, away from the views, for 4 days even tho the restaurant was at most 25% full with many tables with views not used. 'When we asked to move to another table we weren't allowed' Some staff were very friendly and helpful however some were the opposite and ruined what could have been an amazing trip.

Reviewed by
Jon T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most delightful experience
Sandy Cove Hotel was the most delightful experience we've had for a long, long time. The grounds were well-maintained, and the Reception staff were most helpful. Our room had a truly stunning sea view, and was spotlessly clean and very modern, with tasteful furniture. The Bathroom was also clean and modern. The Restaurant was spacious and, again, very tastefully furnished. The food was sublime, with a varied choice. One word........Excellent.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An overnight break for the whole family
We had a lovely welcome and marvelled at the great view. We were celebrating the end of exams for one family member and the relaxing swimming pool was first on the agenda. We looked forward to using the facilities. The relaxation room was disappointing however with no relaxing music or aromas one of the rooms had no purpose and was a bit smelly and not used. The heated seats were ok but lack of a relaxing atmosphere made them a bit pointless too. The sauna was ok, but not the best. The best bit for us was the pool and loungers, because we had blue sky and souring temperatures we could enjoy the area almost to ourselves, and enjoy the view while the children played in the pool which was lovely and warm. The jacuzzi wasn't hot and used just pool water, and the bubbles not very invigorating, however it made a change. The position of the hotel is superb for the coast path to Combe Martin and we had a great walk there in the evening. The bedroom was fine and suited our needs with the extra room joined on for the children, and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately my husband and I were woken up by a child and two men talking outside the room window, we thought they sounded like employees as our room looked out at the back of the hotel near the back door of the kitchen but we can't be sure. It was another blue sky day and the early start made us go for another swim before a very tasty breakfast and enjoyed the view again from the window table.

Reviewed by
Jon Blake

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Housekeeping issues
It was a stop off on route to Cornwall, so just one night but with a number of housekeeping issues to deal with on top of two over excited toddlers it was not a great night stay. The staff were excellent at helping us with the two children and provided them with an early tea giving us the opportunity to get them into bed. On a negative front a family room really needs the options of blackout blinds a working phone and the decking outside the room was broken in several places.

Reviewed by
Mary P

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We felt really looked after, especially our last breakfast morning when our table was moved to the window for a perfect sea view. Also really helpful towels were provided for the pool, made life a lot easier with 2 boys using the pool. Fantastic stay, feel very relaxed!

Reviewed by
D JELF

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The place to stay for total relaxation and the best views ever.
I would stay again but it has some way to go to live up to the photos off the hotel.

Reviewed by
Yvonne D

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next