Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Exeter Hotels > White Hart Hotel by Marstons Inns
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Hart Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
66 South Street , Exeter, EX1 1EE
The White Hart Hotel is one of the City's most ancient Inns, situated in a central position within the old city wall. The hotel boasts 55 en-suite, non-smoking bedrooms which include full English breakfast, FREE wifi, FREE car parking and a 20% DISCOUNT from the main food menu. 15 bedrooms are in the original part of the building and the remaining 40 bedrooms are in the extension at the rear of the hotel with lift access.
The hotel also features two conference rooms - the Jury Room which can cater for small meetings of up to 10 and the larger Boardroom for meetings up to 60. With a choice of areas to dine, an extensive selection of freshly cooked meals, fine cask ales and a comprehensive wine-list, all tastes are catered for.
**Non-residents who wish to use the car park will need to PAY & DISPLAY at the meter and redeem their ticket against food or drinks purchased in the bar.
Picture of White Hart Hotel by Marstons Inns, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 289 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break retreat
Considering this hotel is in the centre of Exeter, it is good value and has a decent sized car park. The breakfast is good, considering the overall price of the room. That being said, we have stayed at this hotel twice over the past few months, and there has been a variation of £100 per night. The room rates are highly sensitive to the "half term effect".

Reviewed by
L Summers

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room & friendly staff
Took the Cromwell suite for a Saturday night to visit the Christmas market.
Room is full of character and a great size, the bathroom is superb.
The decor is not perfect but I'd take this any day over a bland and characterless premier inn.
Being at the front of the building there was some traffic noise during the night, but we could not hear the disco downstairs we had been warned about. Being right at the top of the building with no neighbouring rooms, we didn't suffer the noise of people coming back to their rooms late, slamming doors and flushing toilets.
So if you can put up with a bit of traffic noise, it's not a problem. And let's face it, it's a city centre hotel a couple of minutes walk from the cathedral, if you want tranquility use a hotel on the outskirts.
The free parking, free WiFi and 20% off restaurant meals were added bonuses.
Staff always make or break a hotel, and they make this one. Every one of them was friendly and helpful, from checking in to evening meal and breakfast. 'Jack in the bar' was a star, getting our drinks and meal sorted out for us during a very busy evening of Christmas parties. The staff were run off their feet, but no sign of panic.
And at least one was back bright and early for breakfast on Sunday morning.
Would we stay here again? For under £100 for the suite, you bet!
Happy Christmas to all the staff. Hope you get some down time

Reviewed by
Paul L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Did the job I expected. Room was tidy, comfortable, quiet. Very adequate for what I needed. Shower temperature was a little variable and door leaked. Breakfast was up to standard. Parking was a bonus for such a central location. Location is the big plus as is very handy for town, quay, route out of Exeter. Bar does decent food and good beer.

Reviewed by
J Williams

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy, tired accommodation & awful breakfast
When I arrived I was shocked to see the state of my room, skirting boards crumbling off, bare plaster in the shower, windows covered in spiders. When I was trying to sleep I was even more shocked to hear loud music start right underneath my room at 6:30am!! So loud it was as if it was being played in my room! Tired and grumpy I went to the breakfast room where I had to wait over half an hour for a stale bacon & sausage sandwich (well actually two sandwiches because the waitress misheard me & thought I wanted a bacon sandwich and a sausage sandwich! For one person!) the bread was so stale and dry and the bacon was barely cooked.... All in all I did not think my stay was worth £50. The position of the hotel is great for a night out in exeter but honestly the accommodation was very poor.

Reviewed by
A Barry

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
This was a return visit to the white hart, we really enjoyed our stay last year. This year we booked the Cromwell suite and were very pleased. A lovely room full of character and a beautiful bathroom. We were made very welcome by all the staff we met. We will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Xmas Market Weekend
Nice hotel, good location. Breakfast a bit manic.

Reviewed by
A Sellick

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Hart Hotel by Marstons Inns
We found all the staff very helpful, especially when we lost the keys of the car. Would definitely stay again. Hotel was very convenient for the Cathedral and town

Reviewed by
D Palmer

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Consistently Delivers
I have stayed at the White Hart Hotel in Exeter on several occasions and every time I have a positive experience. The staff have been friendly and helpful. The room is always warm, clean and welcoming. The thoughtful touch of a bottle of water helps. I have only the breakfast, however, this is always made to order and is of a high standard. A small criticism may be that you may have to wait a while for service and there is only one two slice toaster. On top of that the hotel offers on site, free, safe parking and the hotel is centrally located.

Reviewed by
Julia W

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central location - really welcoming & friendly staff
We have stayed here 3 times now for our annual Christmas shopping trip to Exeter and would not hesitate to return. The location is great being just across the road from the Cathedral green and the onsite free parking is also a bonus.
The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the bathrooms have a full size bath and a good powerful shower..
This time we also ate in the restaurant and the food was well presented and tasty not to mention good value with a 20% discount for guests!
All the staff are very friendly and welcoming and do all they can to ensure that you have a pleasant stay.
All in all great value for money!

Reviewed by
Sally G

From Brixham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Stayed one night in a single room. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the pub served very good food and drink. For the price, the room was good, I liked the little touches such as the bottle of water next to the bed and the availability of tea and coffee. The only slight negative is that the wall next to the bed wasn't particularly clean but not enough to prevent a good nights sleep. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Matthew P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next