You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Winchester Arms Public House

2

CHURCH ROAD, TAUNTON, TA3 7LG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (53)

96% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ashley Gould-Carradice

  • June 2016

The Winchester Arms Public House

Very good stay and service.

  • Shirley C

  • June 2016

Great place to stay

Nice sized room and enjoy suite.

Comfy bed. No noise from bar heard. Enjoyed a good meal in the restaurant in evening and breakfast was very good. Nothing too much trouble. Very friendly and welcoming. Set in lovely village with a lovely riverside walk close by. Be careful when using sat nav. Mine took us off motorway through 4 or 5 miles of single track country lanes/tracks. Luckily we never met a single vehicle as few passing places. Would stay at Winchester again though.

  • Shirley Clark

  • May 2016

God nights experience

This proved a very pleasant stay, a little difficult to find, limited parking.

Good basis for

Touring Somerset.

  • Carol T

  • May 2016

Needs toilet and shower in room did not like sharing with other people

  • Tony Izzard

  • May 2016

The Winchester Arms Public House

Emergency maintenance being carried out which we were pre-warned about.

However, all staff and Patrick the owner were more than helpful and always courteous.

  • Nicola M

  • May 2016

Weekend stay

Great little pub with lots of atmosphere.

Staff very helpful and considerate. The room was great value as it included tea, coffee and water as well as breakfast which really enjoyable. We decided to eat at the pub both at lunchtime and for an evening meal and both times the standard was really high. The pub was very busy on the Saturday evening but we were well looked after and staff went out of their way to find us a table. The area was very pretty and the pub garden had everything we needed to enjoy an afternoon of sun. We would definitely visit again

  • janet f

  • May 2016

Night in Taunton

Needed a B&B over the bank holiday to visit my family.

The accommodation was in a pub. Very steep stairs to the rooms no good for limited mobility. Room was fine but no sink or toilet in there, have realised that is a must from now on!. The bathroom and toilet was down a corridor.

  • L H

  • April 2016

Great little find

Had a fantastic night away here.

Ate dinner and breakfast both were great. Staff were fantastic and the place was buzzing. For a village pub the owner whom we chatted with is doing a fantastic job even though he'd only been there a week. Keep up the hard work.

  • michael eley

  • April 2016

Lovely find

The owner had just taken over this pub,he was very friendly as were all the staff.

Our room was very pleasant and and clean, bed comfortable we were suprised at the extensive menue(icluding the specials board) for a small village pub. Meals hot and plenty full. Would certainly recommend PS pub about 3miles from Taunton.

  • P Hemsworth

  • April 2016

Stop over on our trip to Cornwall.

After reading other reviews welcomed this room.

The pub had just been taken over the week before, but the new owner was coping very well. New staff were being training up in the bar and restaurant, but all was good as they were well supervised. We had an evening meal there, which was great, very hot food and plates. The restaurant was quite busy,very popular with the locals apparently. Breakfast was good too, a choice of cooked or cereals.

The room was a little smaller than I imagined it would be (room 5) but we got a good nights sleep. Lovely powerful shower.

I would recommend for 1 or 2 nights stopover to see the area.