Reviews - Bath House Hotel


Holyrood Street, ,, Chard, TA20 2AH

Price From 177.56 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (25)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Camilla H

  • September 2015

The Brilliant Bath House

Superb, clean B and B with a lovely couple in charge- fantastic breakfast- couldn't fault it for the price.

Thoroughly recommend.

  • James D

  • May 2015

Somerset Break

All the staff were extremely friendly and the accommodation, facilities and food were excellent.

The owners were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • James Fowler

  • February 2015

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Bath House Hotel 5* treatment

We stayed there for 2 nights we had something to eat on the first Night the Food was fantastic any one that stays there has to find out how nice the food was.

The hosts were fantastic I would certainly stay there again no problem.

  • Paul F

  • November 2014

Excellnet - Can't wait to stay again!

First class accommodation, First class food and First class customer service!!!

  • Gary P

  • November 2014

Definitely recommended

If you are visiting Chard or anywhere nearby I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to you.

This was my second stay at the Bath House and as on the previous occasion I was travelling alone on business. The welcome and warmth shown by the staff and owners are second to none and they really do make you feel at home. The rooms are small but well presented in a boutique style. The restaurant is open to the public and serves a good range of food including some very nice oriental specialities.

  • Penny H

  • September 2014

Exceptional- a little gem!

I was blown away by the friendly customer service, superb food and wonderful rooms.

This place really is a true gem and they deserve support. I will certainly stay again. Faultless!

  • Neil P

  • September 2014

2 day stay

Excellent accommodation with all facilities of high quality.

Very friendly owners and excellent food. Ideal location for visiting the area.

  • B Ede

  • August 2014


Such an amazing place.

This was the last night of our honeymoon, Karine and Ron were perfect hosts and made us feel like we were visiting friends rather than guests in their hotel. The room decor was beautiful, spacious and very clean. Breakfast was very good and filling. We chose to eat our evening meal in the Bath House Hotel too, the food was very tasty and of a very high standard, good value for money as well.

  • Allan Speller

  • August 2014

Bath house chard

This hotel is a really friendly clean and welcoming place to stay the food is excellent and the owners can't do enough to please .

We had three days of being treated like part of the family and would recommend it to all

  • Peter Ennis

  • August 2014

Hidden Gem !!!

Stayed here before and after a training course at River Cottage.

We had a 2 night stay in this 6 room hotel. Our room was called Sakura and is a king-size double or twin en-suite. There are some awkward bits but I'll get to those later. The main things are the room, the food and the service all of which were superb. Although the room was smallish the decor & furnishing were very good but what really jumped out at us was the cleanliness. We have stayed in some of London, Dublin, Madrid and Paris' finest but never have we seen a hotel room this spotless. We complimented the owners on their recent refurb only to be told it took place 7 years ago. Coming & going, we could see into other rooms and they seemed of a standard as was the whole premises. We had 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners. We took photos of all, such was the quality of the food and of the presentation of the food. Breakfast is a matter of selection from a menu the night before but it is entirely your own fault if you are hungry again by 2 o'clock. The dinner menu is a well balanced selection of classic & Asian food with something for everyone on it - the restaurant is open to the public. From the moment of arrival until we left nothing was too much trouble for Ron, Karine and their team. There are some awkward bits. The hotel's location is a little quirky, off high street in a small market town, on a one-way system beside Sainsbury's. Its street frontage is the restaurant. The hotel entrance itself is around a corner of the building but is a locked door. The restaurant is closed Sundays - our arrival day. On-site parking is available but limited & you need to know where you are going. If you don't know all this in advance you could, as one reviewer did, form a bad first impression so my advice is call them from your mobile an hour before arrival. My advice to the owners in this regard is to produce some kind of introductory message covering these issues and email it to everyone who books a room so that there are no surprises. We had no problem because we were spotted looking in the restaurant window mid-afternoon Sunday by a staff member who guessed who we were and came out to greet us. Otherwise, the Bath House is a hidden gem and we can only congratulate Ron, Karine and their team on the obvious care & pride they take in it. We'll find another excuse to stay there again.