No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bath House Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Holyrood Street, , , Chard, TA20 2AH
It is perfectly placed to explore all three counties with the beautiful coastal towns of Lyme Regis and Beer, and the county town of Taunton within a 30 minute drive. Tastefully decorated throughout, it has a homely, yet modern, contemporary style. But the icing on the cake is to sample the delights of Ron's unique style of cooking and to experience the wonderful hospitality that Karine and her team bring to this delightful gem in this corner of Somerset. Why not come and sample their wares, whether it be to stay or to dine? You won't be disappointed.
Picture of Bath House Hotel, Chard at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Such an amazing place. This was the last night of our honeymoon, Karine and Ron were perfect hosts and made us feel like we were visiting friends rather than guests in their hotel. The room decor was beautiful, spacious and very clean. Breakfast was very good and filling. We chose to eat our evening meal in the Bath House Hotel too, the food was very tasty and of a very high standard, good value for money as well.

Reviewed by
B Ede

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bath house chard
This hotel is a really friendly clean and welcoming place to stay the food is excellent and the owners can't do enough to please . We had three days of being treated like part of the family and would recommend it to all

Reviewed by
Allan Speller

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem !!!
Stayed here before and after a training course at River Cottage. We had a 2 night stay in this 6 room hotel. Our room was called Sakura and is a king-size double or twin en-suite.
There are some awkward bits but I'll get to those later. The main things are the room, the food and the service all of which were superb.
Although the room was smallish the decor & furnishing were very good but what really jumped out at us was the cleanliness. We have stayed in some of London, Dublin, Madrid and Paris' finest but never have we seen a hotel room this spotless. We complimented the owners on their recent refurb only to be told it took place 7 years ago! Coming & going, we could see into other rooms and they seemed of a standard as was the whole premises.
We had 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners. We took photos of all, such was the quality of the food and of the presentation of the food. Breakfast is a matter of selection from a menu the night before but it is entirely your own fault if you are hungry again by 2 o'clock. The dinner menu is a well balanced selection of classic & Asian food with something for everyone on it - the restaurant is open to the public.
From the moment of arrival until we left nothing was too much trouble for Ron, Karine and their team.
There are some awkward bits. The hotel's location is a little quirky, off high street in a small market town, on a one-way system beside Sainsbury's. Its street frontage is the restaurant. The hotel entrance itself is around a corner of the building but is a locked door. The restaurant is closed Sundays - our arrival day. On-site parking is available but limited & you need to know where you are going. If you don't know all this in advance you could, as one reviewer did, form a bad first impression so my advice is call them from your mobile an hour before arrival. My advice to the owners in this regard is to produce some kind of introductory message covering these issues and email it to everyone who books a room so that there are no surprises. We had no problem because we were spotted looking in the restaurant window mid-afternoon Sunday by a staff member who guessed who we were and came out to greet us.
Otherwise, the Bath House is a hidden gem and we can only congratulate Ron, Karine and their team on the obvious care & pride they take in it. We'll find another excuse to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Peter Ennis

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

charming overnight stay
Very nice hotel loveley room, good food and very nice staff.

Reviewed by
christine j

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming and comfortable stay

Reviewed by
Nichola D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Gem
I was surprised by the high standard of this Hotel for the price paid, compared to many other hotels I have stayed at. A quality 'Restaurant with Rooms' style hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was very good.

Reviewed by
Paul T

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and immaculate hotel just off the high street.
Drove past the hotel first time round as it is set back slightly from the main road and in a one way street. There is parking behind it, accessed via Sainsbury's car park. Very friendly welcome. As I completed the registration form and breakfast choices a tray of tea arrived - most welcome after a long drive. Was given the wifi code but couldn't get it to work in my room. Mentioned this to staff who felt it was because the room, Seagrass, was above reception and the modem. Perhaps this could be sorted? Room was small, but very tastefully decorated. Bathroom very modern and clean. The humming from the Sainsbury generators stops when it closes. Breakfast very good. An enjoyable but short stay. Staff could not have been more helpful.

Reviewed by
Mark P

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful experience
The friendliest welcome to a wonderful gem of a place hidden in the middle of Chard.

Reviewed by
Claire T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem behind a modest exterior
Bath House hotel looks nothing from the outside. But its modest exterior hides a real gem. You will be greeted by Katrine who came with her family to run the hotel 11 years ago (at first it was just an oriental restaurant). She understands service in a way all to rare in the UK hotel business. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are a revelation. There are only 6 and we stayed in the Hollywood room. Like the whole hotel, it has been designed beautifully in a restrained contemporary style with beautiful fabrics and comfortable beds. It is air-conditioned, has a large TV and wifi. Tea, coffee and bottled water are provided. The bathroom is also large and well-designed with a bath and a separate shower. Finally, the chef is Katrine's husband Ron who is a master of Malaysian cooking. We always chose the Malaysian dishes and they were spectacular. The breakfasts are huge and, like all the food, beautifully presented. If I have to find any criticism, it would be that the coffee could be better, but in every other respect this was a great find.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel
Really enjoyed our stay the Bath House Hotel. Couldn't of been more friendly and helpful. Room very good with nice little touches to make it feel more special, good coffee and hot chocolate, biscuits and even cotton wool in bathroom!

Reviewed by
S Taylor

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next