No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bath House Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Holyrood Street, , , Chard, TA20 2AH
It is perfectly placed to explore all three counties with the beautiful coastal towns of Lyme Regis and Beer, and the county town of Taunton within a thirty-minute drive. Tastefully decorated throughout, it has a homely, yet modern, contemporary style. But the icing on the cake is to sample the delights of Ron's unique style of cooking and to experience the wonderful hospitality that Karine and her team bring to this delightful gem in this corner of Somerset. Why not come and sample their wares, whether it be to stay or to dine? You won't be disappointed.
Picture of Bath House Hotel, Chard at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful experience
The friendliest welcome to a wonderful gem of a place hidden in the middle of Chard.

Reviewed by
Claire T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem behind a modest exterior
Bath House hotel looks nothing from the outside. But its modest exterior hides a real gem. You will be greeted by Katrine who came with her family to run the hotel 11 years ago (at first it was just an oriental restaurant). She understands service in a way all to rare in the UK hotel business. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are a revelation. There are only 6 and we stayed in the Hollywood room. Like the whole hotel, it has been designed beautifully in a restrained contemporary style with beautiful fabrics and comfortable beds. It is air-conditioned, has a large TV and wifi. Tea, coffee and bottled water are provided. The bathroom is also large and well-designed with a bath and a separate shower. Finally, the chef is Katrine's husband Ron who is a master of Malaysian cooking. We always chose the Malaysian dishes and they were spectacular. The breakfasts are huge and, like all the food, beautifully presented. If I have to find any criticism, it would be that the coffee could be better, but in every other respect this was a great find.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel
Really enjoyed our stay the Bath House Hotel. Couldn't of been more friendly and helpful. Room very good with nice little touches to make it feel more special, good coffee and hot chocolate, biscuits and even cotton wool in bathroom!

Reviewed by
S Taylor

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel and restaurant - highly recommended
Do believe the reviews you read about the Bath House Hotel, the welcome and service is 2nd to none. I have never been so welcomed in any establishment I've visited.
This is all down to Karine and her husband Ron, they can't do enough for you and make you feel at home and even like part of the family there. On arrival we were offered copious pots of tea and biscuits and then shown to our room, the Shakura. This was very nice, modern and had nice shower room. Overall the decor is very good throughout the hotel.
We had dinner there the night we stayed and enjoyed prawns/squid for starters and then the beef Rendang for main course, followed by ice cream and the sticky toffee pudding. All the food was excellent, the service level was impeccable from Karine & Shin, and let's not forget Ron who is an excellent chef without doubt and the team work very hard to deliver and they certainly do!
Breakfast the next morning was again a gourmet's delight, I had the full-English and my partner the smoked salmon & asparagus on brioche. Again excellent food and service, After breakfast we stayed and sat with the owners and their friends for a pot of tea (or two) and really didn't want to leave.
Ron & Karine, well done, you really are excellent hosts and run a first rate hotel.
Highly recommended, do try them when you are in the area!!

Reviewed by
Gary R

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming, friendly and perfectly tiny room
Our room was small but just perfect for our one night stop over. Kids very excited with their sofa bed. Quality of fixtures and fitting very good, bed very comfy. A sort of Japanese experience:-)
Our host was very accommodating and charming. The restaurant downstairs is, I believe, the best in Chard and the local area - pick anything Malaysian from the menu - fabulous cuisine in very family friendly B and B. Will go again if we are in the area, worth it for the evening meal alone!!

Reviewed by
frances l

From Tetbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent little Hotel. The evening meal and the breakfast were superb.

Reviewed by
mark r

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great small hotel, very well presented and excellent customer service
As a frequent business traveller staying mostly in large chain hotels, it was a rare treat to find the Bath House and a throughly enjoyable experience spending time there. The welcome from the owners and staff was perfect, the room comfortable and attractive and the food both in the evening and at breakfast definitely worth a visit on its own. My only regret is that I don't have any plans to visit the area again for work but when the opportunity next arises I will be heading straight back to the Bath House.

Reviewed by
GARY P

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice place to stay with friendly owners
I only stayed here for the one night and it was superb.
Although it is a fairly small hotel, the owners were so warm and friendly and the service was fantastic.
My room was spotlessly clean and everything, including the bathroom looked brand new.
The food was amazing, there were three authentic Malaysian dishes on the menu and I had the beef one. This was absolutely gorgeous. The breakfast was lovely and fresh too.
I would highly recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Paul N

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply cannot fault this place
Recently stayed for first time (definitely will not be the last though) and hadn't read any reviews so didn't know what to expect.
The room was excellent; spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable with all the essentials. Guest areas were also very relaxing and clean and the location of the hotel is perfect; right in the center of Chard but away from the main road and any noise.
Food was simply divine. I felt I couldn't miss the chance for some authentic Malaysian cuisine and it really did not disappoint. The restaurant and bar area atmosphere was very relaxing, a great selection of beverages & wine list and as I said previously, the food was just faultless!
Ron & Karine are just the perfect hosts, very attentive, chatty and polite.
I later read that the hotel won a Trip Advisor award in 2012 and I am not surprised, this really was the most pleasant stay I have had in a very long time and I do a fair amount of travelling around the UK on business.

Reviewed by
Joshua I

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent town location with free parking and wi-fi.
Friendly family-run hotel. Delicious Malaysian evening meal followed by an excellent choice of breakfast, served from 7am, and including individual fresh fruit platter. Personal service.
The power of the shower could be improved.

Reviewed by
Linda R

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next