Reviews - Brambles Bed and Breakfast


Whitnage Cottage Whitnage, Tiverton, EX16 7DS

Price From 92.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (24)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Allison Hunt

  • September 2014

Mid-week break

We stayed on a Tuesday and Wednesday night, on a 'room only' basis, simply because we wanted to get into Tavistock early to see relatives.

We were greeted by Alison as soon as we arrived in the car park and shown to our room, which was the four poster bedroom in the main house. The room was very clean and welcoming, with various teas, coffees and hot chocolate, with biscuits and mints. We did see the breakfast being prepared and cooked and it looked lovely. We certainly heard no complaints from the other guests. Information on the surrounding area was available and comprehensive. We ate both evenings at the pub, about 3/4 mile down the road, which was a twenty minute walk down a lovely lane......make sure to take a torch for the return to Brambles as there are no lights. Brambles is set in a lovely and very rural location, so don't expect a Tesco or Macdonalds just around the corner. We would definitely stay again.

  • andrea R

  • August 2014

Fabulous stay at charming B & B

I had a fabulous short stay at this B & B.

The accommodation was charming, the owner was very helpful and friendly and the facilities were far above what I expected for the price.

  • andrea mallatratt

  • August 2014

Top choice and value for a short stay

Friendly welcome by owner, a little difficult to find but good instructions.

Good safe parking and ease of access to accommodation. Clean, well stocked and homely feel to the Garden room. A little small but that didn't seem to matter. Good location few mins from motorway. Will book again. Thank you.

  • Peter Marshall

  • July 2014

Excellent in every way

Alison and David have thought of everything to make this an excellent B&B - we wish them a successful season.

  • Stephen M

  • July 2014

Great overnight room in lovely location

Perfect for what we wanted being an overnight stay close to the M5.

Stayed room only in the annexe for a very good price. Very clean and comfortable room with king size bed, bath and shower. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room with a wonderful choice of drinks etc available - a really nice touch. Pleasant out of the way quiet rural location despite close proximity to M5 and the North Devon link road. Lovely views from the large garden. Nice pub 20 minute walk away. As we booked a room only we couldn't comment on the breakfast.

We did notice that our particular room had no wardrobe storage space which was not a problem at all for our stay but might be a bit restrictive if staying more than a few days. Would certainly recommend for a short stay.


  • July 2014

Weekend experience

First impression was prefabricated accommodation with all 3 bedrooms in a single story conversion with adjoining doors to other bedrooms.

There was the lack of space within the bedroom, it was literally the bed with an equal narrow distance of room on 3 sides and a very small shower room, sing and toilet. However, it was comfy and quiet, albeit due to the size, you would not want to do anything except sleep. Breakfast was lovely and you could not ask for anything more, top notch and saved the Brambles experience. The owners were equally as pleasant and made every effort to make our experience as comfortable as possible, just constrained by size.

Price. Booking one month in advance, the price was for a 3-4* hotel but delivered at a 2* level. Disappointing and would look to have paid at least £20 less for the room, breakfast was spot on.

  • G WOOD

  • June 2014

on the lane

a very good and quiet place to stay no lights so good for star gazeing

  • J Keen

  • May 2014

Nice night away from the kids

Easy to find, but I do know the area.

Good pub just down the road for a meal then onto Brambles. Well equipped room in the annexe, nice bed and furnishings, nice deep bath in bathroom. Went for the breakfast option, again very good fresh cooked full English. Would stay here again.

  • John A

  • May 2014

Nice pleasant stay, many thanks!!

  • Andrew L

  • April 2014

we had an excellent 4 night stay = just perfect

Alison was very welcoming and our room was lovely and was serviced every day lovely selection of hot drinks on offer in the bedroom and nice touches such as a bowl of mints daily, lovely biscuits, lamps on for our return on the evenings.

The property is very rural with lovely views which we enjoyed - we hope to return again in the not too distant future.