No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Bear Inn 53 High Street, Somerset, BA16 0EF
The Bear Inn is a traditional pub in the small town of Street in Somerset. The inn boasts a spacious interior filled with cosy corners and a large garden and terrace to enjoy in the summer months. Food is served all day and our traditional menu and daily food offers mean you can be assured of great quality and value at every visit.

Street was a small farming community until the mid 19th century when Cyrus Clark set up his shoe factory and built housing and leisure facilities to provide for his workers. Now, the manufacturing arm has moved abroad and the old workshops have been turned into a retail village offering designer and high street clothes at outlet prices. The town is located in a rural area, less than 2 miles from Glastonbury and only 10 minutes from the M5.

Our accommodation consists of 24 comfortable and spacious rooms situated either above the pub or in our neighbouring cottages. We are located a minute’s walk from the retail village at the edge of the town.

Picture of The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns, Somerset at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Hotel was really close to the shopping village and ideal as a stop over. Room was in an annex and really clean and cosy. Food was very good value and really helpful staff. They even made my wife a hot tipple and not to pay if she did not like it! Thank you for your hospitality.

Reviewed by
M wickett

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay if visiting Clarks Village
Very helpful staff, lovely food and would recommend the pub instead of eating at Clarks Village. Room was good and large, very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Karen M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at The Bear
Had a great stay. Hotel was really nice, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Adele D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good staff dreadful place
we were given a "bedsit" down the road as no rooms left in hotel… bedsit was very old and dirty, bed was clean but nothing else. wallpaper was falling down, noisy pipes, no shower gel etc in the bottles supplied. breakfast was disgusting, I'm not normally fussy, but the dirty marked knives and forks put us off originally and then when we turned our cups over and they were filthy too!! really bad. My bacon was uncooked, tomatoes over frozen and fluffy in a bad way, eggs were tasteless and my husbands porridge was solid. We were actually reimbursed as one of the friendly staff agreed our room was very poor (we didn't even mention the breakfast…) but as nice as the staff were we couldn't bring ourselves to stay there again even if it was for free….. sorry… but no..

Reviewed by
Bridget H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mis-sold
We stay in a few hotels, but after consideration of what we paid for the hotel it was extremely disappointing. The room we had made travel lodge and the premier inns look like luxury hotels. The room did not match the picture online. Holes in the selling, wall paper coming away. The whole room was terrible for the price charged. It needs a total refurb, the room had a smell as though it had been empty for a long while. We didn't complain at the time but after going onto two other hotels it made me thought I should. I would avoid this hotel next time were in the area as it's not worth the price.

Reviewed by
Zak R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay.
Very welcoming premises, and excellent service at all times by a variety of staff members. Good food available with excellent service and a range of prices. Staff were attentive and efficient, and friendly. Very helpful at check in. We had perhaps the least of their rooms, which I have marked down as the bathroom was a little tired (some chipped paint, some discolouring on the sealant for the shower, and had a radiator with no thermal control - it was on full all the time) and the room adjoined the High Street, so there was passing traffic and street noise until about 11.00 pm or so. Also there was only one chair in the room, which was a desk chair. However, I was very happy with this all at the discounted price. I may not have been so happy at full price. All other parts of the hotel were finished to a very high standard, however.

Reviewed by
Paul Harris

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bathroom was bit shabby

Reviewed by
Glenn Turner

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice surprise
Stayed for one night combining a theatre visit and Clarks Village. The staff were very helpful and friendly and let us have our room a bit earlier. A large bedroom with plenty of drawer and cupboard space and a nice outlook over the side garden and the High Street. Bath towels could have been a bit larger for the chubbier person ! The bar and dining areas were very pleasant and comfortable. We had an enjoyable meal as well. We both look forward to staying here again.

Reviewed by
S Hilton

From Colyton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stopover
We stopped here on the way to Devon and were pretty impressed. The room was well equipped and was nice as it is as detached from the pub itself. Only minor issue was the bathroom which didn't seem as clean as it could have been.
I Would definitely recommend and will stay here again. Sub £50 with a great breakfast made it a great choice and quite accessible to M5

Reviewed by
David Rowe-Bewick

From Sherburn In Elmet, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was in another building across the road from the Inn.
It needed updating and the outside of the building did not look good.
It was clean and our breakfast was good and the staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
P Browne

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next