You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns

4

Bear Inn 53 High Street, Somerset, BA16 0EF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Edward C

  • May 2016

OK but tired

The accommodation was OK but needed decorating.

The carpet was grubby. There was only one chair in a double room and the bed was very narrow. The staff were very helpful and willing to give good service but the brewery shouldn't rely on their staff to compensate for other deficiencies.

  • H Hoskins

  • April 2016

The Bear Inn Street

Friendly welcome at the Bear Inn and very helpful staff with fitting 16 of us in for dinner after a long day swimming at Millfield School, especially as it was only myself, partner and daughter staying there.

Stayed in one of their cottages which had a double bed and pull out sofa bed. Cottage was clean and had everything we required for one nights stay. Breakfast was included in the price of the room which was nice having the choice of cereal etc which was self service and then you had a choice of a cooked breakfast which was freshly cooked. Enjoyed our short stay and if ever attending the school again for an event will look at returning back to the Bear Inn.

  • Fiona G

  • February 2016

A pleasant stay

We stayed in one of the inn's family rooms in the cottages opposite the main pub building.

We were pleased to have an adjoining room to put our baby's cot. The bathroom

was spotless and had hand wash and shower gel supplied. Due to the nature of the cottage building we could hear the people below us particularly their television quite clearly which was a shame as we were unable to go out with the baby. Upon arrival we enjoyed an early dinner of rotisserie chicken which had an impressive selection of sides and was served quickly which was handy with our busy little person to entertain. Breakfast was good with a selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and juices to choose from before your cooked breakfast. The only real negative was the cleanliness in the pub that morning. We wanted to use the facilities to change our baby but the main toilets hadn't been cleaned from the night before and there was general debri (glasses on the pavement outside etc) which was a bit unpleasant to see. We fed back to staff so they were aware of our feedback and were limited with their cleaners only starting at 9am.

  • Kate S

  • December 2015

The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns

Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff made our stay great.

  • Colin D

  • November 2015

Overnight break

Set in the heart of the town, perfect for walking and visiting the sights.

A lovely spacious room with food on site and car parking.

  • S Jones

  • November 2015

Hi.

Although the room (No 4) was clean, there was no milk so we were unable to have a drink. When we left the room, we checked all the drawers and found items from previous people. The shower wash was empty in the bathroom and the bath panel was pushed in. Attention to detail I thought was poor as this was highlighted when I used the main pub toilet and found that I could not lock the cubicle. For £90.00, I feel that the price was a bit steep as I've stayed in better rooms for less money.

  • Paul p

  • July 2015

The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns

Good value for money.

  • Peter G

  • May 2015

Disappointing stay

On the plus side, a comfortable and clean room and the Inn is very centrally located for the town.

However, I was disappointed as my room was above the bar and there was noise coming through until well after midnight which prevented me from sleeping. The breakfast was only a cooked English and toast with no continental offer and the coffee was lukewarm. The English breakfast was listed on the menu as having 7 components; I only got 5. The sole breakfast waiter was rushed (although polite) and service slow. The reception staff on arrival, however, were great and very helpful with the parking - the car park was full. Don't think this is value for money and will revert to the Premier Inn again next time, which although out of town has loads of parking, better rooms and is quieter.

  • M Lewin

  • April 2015

Great Place to Stay!

Stayed one night whilst son was playing in a Cricket tournament at Millfield School.

Lovely place, spacious rooms, bar/restaurant area was relaxed and had a good atmosphere. Staff at breakfast (great choices) were very helpful and attentive. Would definitely stay again.

  • sue b

  • March 2015

Customer service really very good, friendly, stayed in a little suite over the road from main hotel

Customer service really very good, friendly, stayed in a little suite over the road from main hotel which was very clean, quiet, great bathroom.

Had an evening meal on the Friday as we passed and the atmosphere a bit noisy and meal a bit average however the evening meal the night we stayed in a Sunday was really good and atmosphere very nice. Breakfast very good and helpful staff. Just over the road from Shopping Village and not far at all from Glastonbury. Would definitely stay again and recommend.