The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns

4

Bear Inn 53 High Street, Somerset, BA16 0EF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (73)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • M Lewin

  • April 2015

Great Place to Stay!

Stayed one night whilst son was playing in a Cricket tournament at Millfield School.

Lovely place, spacious rooms, bar/restaurant area was relaxed and had a good atmosphere. Staff at breakfast (great choices) were very helpful and attentive. Would definitely stay again.

  • sue b

  • March 2015

Customer service really very good, friendly, stayed in a little suite over the road from main hotel

Customer service really very good, friendly, stayed in a little suite over the road from main hotel which was very clean, quiet, great bathroom.

Had an evening meal on the Friday as we passed and the atmosphere a bit noisy and meal a bit average however the evening meal the night we stayed in a Sunday was really good and atmosphere very nice. Breakfast very good and helpful staff. Just over the road from Shopping Village and not far at all from Glastonbury. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stephen C

  • March 2015

Very sirprised

A lovely hotel just across the road from Clarks village.

Only down side had a knock on door at 9am asking me what time we was checking out. Around the bath needed a little bit better cleaning. But overall very nice place and very good helpful staff.

  • c hokan

  • February 2015

Good Hotel

Booked through LateRooms and was not disappointed the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly.

my only little complaint is that the room could do with a bit of updating. We stayed in one of the cottages the room was very spacious. The location is also very central for going to Wells and of course Clarks Village. Will certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Ian T

  • February 2015

Really good value for money. £35 for a twin room incl. breakfast. Great!

the rooms were always clean & comfy and of a good standard but now the Pub has been refurbished it is a good place to stay.

The food is typical for a pub chain; standard fare at a reasonable price.

  • Dorothy B

  • February 2015

Short break

Ideal close to clarks village in walking distance.positioned in street town Ideal for visiting glastonbury and wells .

Good bus links. Staff here are very good, food ok,room warm and bed ok,

Used a few times as find central location excellent..

  • Lucy Simister

  • February 2015

Great experience

Really impressed, great, happy friendly service.

Accommodation beyond our expectation, menu is great and very good value for money, well done.

  • NICK K

  • January 2015

great value

great value overnight accommodation, nice room, decent service.

Great for Clarkes village

  • David Cameron

  • January 2015

Seconds chance saloon

We booked at the last minute and we're pleased to find a room available for two nights, for two adults and a 2 year-old.

We didn't realise until our arrival that the room was in a separate building from the pub, 100 yards away and across the road ('Blossom Cottages'). The room was fine, but there were signs of damp on the bedroom ceiling, which was also very dark with only one downright in a corner of the room and a dim bedside lamp. Our son had a sofa-bed in a separate room, which was good, but the duvet was too thick for him. No fault in that, but I was surprised that I couldn't find any blankets in the room.

We returned to reception and asked for another lamp and a blanket. We didn't get either; we were told that they had been asking their hotel chain's head office for new furnishings since April (to which my thought was, 'just go to B&Q and BUY a LAMP'), and in lieu of a blanket we were offered a mattress protector. So, after my son went to sleep we spent a very dim evening. I was very impressed the next morning: a very good breakfast and, after raising our concerns, the hotel without any fuss at all moved us for our second night to a room in the main building. This was much better, not least because we could use a baby monitor after our sin was asleep and spend the evening in the bar. The room was better but also had a large damp stain in one corner. Finally, the double beds in both rooms were narrow; I would have much preferred a king-size bed. That said, we slept adequately if not superbly, and had another good breakfast in the morning. Bit of a mixed bag, and of course our situation was slightly idiosyncratic with a small child, but for anyone thinking of staying I'd suggest trying to ensure you get a room in the main pub building. And for the management, I'd suggest investing in some lamps, bigger beds and undertake a spot of decorating.

  • Craig A

  • January 2015

The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns

Great value for money would stay again.

Very friendly staff and helpful