You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel


320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY

Price From 172.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (169)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul W

  • October 2016

Good Cheap hotel

Enjoyed our stay basic but clean, comfortable and great location.

  • G S

  • October 2016

glad we only booked one-night

Hotel is situated in a run down part of the city, and the Alexander Thomson hotel is in need of a major refurbishment and a chef that can produce a proper Scottish breakfast, eggs were like rubber sausages were not good quality , and the toiletries in the room were minimal

  • C Crossley

  • October 2016

Alexander Thomson Hotel

Needed somewhere to stopover while travelling onto other parts is Scotland.

Excellently situated near train stations.

  • Steve H

  • September 2016

Poor first impressions, much better once inside

Rather a seedy and run-down part of the city centre though very convenient for everywhere, especially the Central Station.

The reception area and hotel frontage give a rather poor impression of what is, under the surface, a pretty reasonable place. You will get street noise, and this isn't a four star experience by any means, but a decent buffet breakfast with plenty of choice, nice public areas (if your taste is not too contemporary) and the bedroom we had wasn't too bad. Service ok but not over-friendly compared to some of the famous Glasgow hospitality we experienced across the city. Tea and coffee, iron and ironing board, decent shower, TV worked, good standards of cleanliness, comfy bed. Convenient and free luggage storage room. In short, you'll have a good stay here as long as you don't pay too much attention to first impressions. Good value.

  • David M

  • September 2016

Breakfast just okay eggs over cooked and in Scotland no square sausage

  • M Gibson

  • August 2016

Clean but Tired

Clean, spacious an very central

  • Lesley Martin

  • July 2016

Alexander Thomson Hotel

Excellent value for money for a city centre hotel.

  • David F

  • July 2016

Quirky Hotel

Located very well for the city centre, the inside of the building is a lot more inviting than the external appearance.

The room was a typical size, the bathroom was a little different. The toilet was a little over 2 feet off the floor, which made things a little difficult for my wife, who is only 5ft 2inches. When she had to use it her legs dangled over the side, like a toddler on a grown up toilet. The shower was set 4 inches above the floor, which left a large step to negotiate getting in and out. The dinning and bar facilities were good and the breakfast was excellent, self service buffet , plenty of it and good quality.

  • Jasmine C

  • June 2016

Spacious room, tasty breakfast

Good room, bed was comfortable and the shower was nice.

Good selection for the breakfast, would recommend staying here again as it's so close to the station.

  • Deborah R

  • June 2016

Wonderful experience

From the very start Paul was the perfect host.

I had questions about the rail system, he promptly provided the information, this made our choices of activities that much clearer. The family room was large enough for us and our adult daughter with one bed to spare. It is fully equipped to hang out on a rainy evening, as we did last night. Breakfast basics are laid out, and you have the option to add a hot entree. Over our two night stay we tried 4 of them, and can say they were some of the best breakfasts we have had on out vacation. The eggs were cooked perfectly.

All in all it was more then we expected and couldn't be more pleased.