No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 449 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is my second visit to this Hotel love it central to everything for a visit to Glasgow. Hope to return in November as we are going to Erasure concert . Might get a wee deal this time.

Reviewed by
Deirdre Roy

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend concert break
Have stayed here a few times before and never had any cause for complaint. Good value for money including an all you can eat breakfast!

Reviewed by
Laura B

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returning customer
If you want a central hotel at a reasonable cost then you will not go wrong with this hotel.Great for short stays.Breakfast is rather tasty too with a fair choice.Near Central Station and a few bars nearby.Ideal for overnight stays if going to the Hydro/SECC. Will return.

Reviewed by
Isobel N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay to go see Still Game
The hotel is very close to railway station and is close to town . we have stayed at this hotel before and have enjoyed both stay's. rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is excellent with lots to choose from and everything very well cooked. staff were very friendly and overall this hotel is good value for money will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
E Sproule

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pensioners outing.
Great hotel very central.

Reviewed by
Joyce A G

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old hotel but they try hard
When you hear that you are staying in an old and rather ugly looking hotel close to the main station your heart sinks but this place was lovely. Yes the furniture and wallpaper looks and feels a bit old, and the bathroom is rather small and the hotel overlooks a derelict building but the staff try so hard to make this a lovely place to stay: from the cleaners upwards everyone was friendly and helpful there are complimentary biscuits, water and soaps in the room and I slept well. Location is good, Breakfast was fine. No complaints at all. Thank you

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well impressed
hotel is in a very good location for train station,restaurants,bars and the Hydro had a realy pleasant stay

Reviewed by
John Cuthbert

From Maybole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quick trip
Clean pleasant hotel

Reviewed by
J Macleod

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean rooms,fab food,breakfast room very spacious ,not over crowded...friendly staff.very central .
We use this hotel every time we visit Glasgow after trying many others,best value for money ,very accommodating ,friendly and the food is great ...rooms are clean added bonus of a fantastic Thi restaurant just a couple of doors away.

Reviewed by
H Haswell

From BERWICK UPON TWEED, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay breaks.
This was our second stay at this hotel. We find it very central , staff friendly and breakfast selection suits all tastes .

Reviewed by
Elizabeth June M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next