No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 414 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I travel often and stay in many good hotels in the UK and around the world. Great location for our needs (we needed to be close to the station.). Very good breakfast. The weather was was very hot and humid when we were there and the hotel has no air-conditioning, but I don't think it would be needed too often in Glasgow, generally. The hotel is an old building so the rooms are large with high ceilings. Certainly not 5* but very acceptable fro the price. Comfortable bed. There were only two negatives for me. The first is that our room was across the road from a modern building that had a bank of rather loud air-conditioning vents going all the time. With the windows open because of the heat and lack of air-conditioning this disturbed me at first, but I managed to sleep well, though,as we had a busy day. Be warned about the lift. It's old and tiny and only takes two people and their luggage at once, so build in waiting time if you want the lift. On balance a nice hotel for the money, in a good location. Very nice breakfast. Nice staff. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Kim G

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop in the heatwave
Location good for station. Helpful facility for storing luggage - much appreciated. Breakfast adequate. All self service. Overall a good hotel for the price I paid which can vary greatly.

Reviewed by
R Chambers

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent reasonably-priced hotel with superb location near Central Station
This is an excellent, friendly, very reasonably-priced hotel with a superb location near Central Station

Reviewed by
Mark Newbrook

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great clean budget accommodation
The AT is an excellent choice of hotel whilst in Glasgow. Handy for Central Station, with helpful staff, the foyer could do with a refresh, but the rooms are comfy and clean, and the cost is fantastic for a city centre hotel. My only issue is that there's no mattress cover between sheet and mattress, but that's all. Breakfast is buffet style and lots of choice. Also like the Scottish offering of a fried tat tie scone!!

Reviewed by
Sheila G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bizarre experience
Very strange hotel - I don't very often pick fault with hotels, but this one was just strange! Grumpy bloke at check-in, rooms that had been half modernised, no hot water in the morning for a shower, breakfast buffet that had been sat there for far too long and gone hard.... That's all.
Well. I suppose at least it was clean and I got some biscuits!

Reviewed by
C Blake

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great wee hotel
Fab room, looked newly refurbished. Slight noise but all from outside the room and as in the centre of Glasgow (and I stayed on a Friday night) played music on my iPad and that was enough to drown out the street noise. Bathroom was large and good water pressure. Would definitely book again if needed a room in Glasgow city centre.

Reviewed by
Fiona J

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
Only here for one night,s stay but found the hotel excellent value for money. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Only downside is the building opposite which tends to give it a run down area. However everything was very close to shops and railway station.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but just
Good sized bathroom and freshly decorated but should have thermostatically controlled shower rather than manual mixing valve.
The room had just been decorated and was a reasonable size, however, does require air conditioning as it was quite noisy(Traffic etc)
Food reasonable but not fantastic Fresh fruit salad should be fresh as opposed to tinned version
Have issues with having to leave the room by 10:30 am

Reviewed by
William M

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
central location easy access for shops secc other sporting events. Hotel clean and comfortable breakfast good choice and even the fussy eater would not go hungry .Overall good value for price paid

Reviewed by
graeme f

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
We stayed for two nights. The weather was warm and the room was hot. It held the heat. The window was opened the first night and we had to close it because of smoke from cigarettes was so bad. The second night was better but it was still too hot to enjoy the room.
We asked for extra towels and they said they would bring then right up. They never came.

Reviewed by
Gary C

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next