Fishermans Cot by Marstons Inns

4

Bickleigh, Tiverton, EX16 8RW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • k young

  • March 2015

Fishermans Cot by Marstons Inns

Shower height was very low and not adjustable.

A larger tv screen would be better. No mobile phone signal but good wifi.

  • Gary Kent

  • February 2015

Nice Overnight Stay

I have stayed here before and never been disappointed.

The accommodation is always spotless and the food whilst obviously pub food is always good as, is the breakfast. Over all for an overnight stay good value.

  • Brian M

  • January 2015

Nice place to stay. Probably best in spring & summer. Location excellent. Food OK.

Had a simple fish & chips evening meal - fish excellent.

Breakfast in the morning was of really good quality - spoiled by the fact that everything was overcooked. If you are going to offer good quality food for an english breakfast - you really should cook it right!

  • t gee

  • January 2015

Our stay

We booked our stay for a night away from our small children.

We intended to chill out and relax and that is definitely what we did. The checkin process was quick and very friendly. Our room was very fresh and cosy with everything we needed. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and there was plenty of choice to suit everyone. All the staff were very helpful and polite. We would recommend the Fisherman's cot to all parents needing timeout and anyone looking for a relaxing stay. Can't wait to stay again soon.

  • Stewart Hardy

  • December 2014

Great views, room very clean and warm,good food. Staff were very polite and competent.

Lovely property,no down side to my stay, except you need to be Bamber Gascoine to turn tv on .

  • Susan Ford

  • December 2014

Superb accommodation, superb food, superb staff, great value, highly recommended.

We could not believe our luck finding the Fishermans Cot at Bickleigh through your website.

Thank you so much and we will certainly be back next year when we intend to travel to this area again.

  • norma savory

  • November 2014

value for money

Small hotel on the banks of a river provides a peaceful location for break.

We were booked in for only one night and wish it could have been a week.room was large as was the bathroom and the twin beds were clean and comfortable with spotless white bedding. The restaurant has a varied menu and I was delighted to see that it did small portions of some of the items. We we're surprised at the variety on the menu. Well done the Chef. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. Some area's of the hotel were a bit tired and need updating. All in all I found this a magical place and th quote Arnie ' I will be back'.

  • Scott H

  • November 2014

Inn by the Exe with stunning weir

Wow what a spot, I arrived at sun set and was greeted by a fantastic view of an old stone road bridge and the river Exe flowing over the weir below the beer garden and after a long drive felt very relaxed, the duty manager took my details and said he would bring my paperwork over so I sat and enjoyed the setting before the sun went down.

Had evening meal and breakfast at the restaurant and was very good hot and plenty of choice service was good and the bar is well stocked. the room was very clean and tidy nestled into the traditional roof of the building so had plenty of character which was what I was after, it looks like there is an ongoing programme of work to the building and some areas were a little tired but the view more than makes up for this, like all old character buildings the maintenance is always ongoing but my room was fantastic and modern. I did not see the family rooms but if I was stopping with my family I think I would give them a try as a family sat on the table next to me were very impressed with the accommodation they had booked. The acid test for me is would I stay again and the answer would be yes, the following night I stayed at the Hilton in Exeter and I really wished I had booked the fisherman's cot say no more.

  • Sandra P

  • August 2014

Fishermans Cot

Lovely setting.

Room had just been re-furbished so very clean but the paint fumes were, at times, over-powering. They are doing a lot of work in the gardens which will give more light to all of the rooms, which will make a huge difference. All in all, very pleased with our stay.

  • Amanda M

  • August 2014

Acceptable accomodation, lovely staff

Rooms are basic and cheerless, and could be cleaner, bathroom was tiny and only very basic toiletries (liquid soap) supplied.

View was great and staff very helpful which made the stay much better than it would have been based on room alone. Evening meals were tasty, breakfast eggs to be avoided- cooked to inedible rubber however you ordered them, the local bread was welcome to fill the gap. Convenient, pretty location, very average experience.