Reviews - Fishermans Cot by Marstons Inns

4

Bickleigh, Tiverton, EX16 8RW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andrew G

  • July 2014

A great place in central devon

If you are looking for a scenic location in central Devon then this is as good as it gets.

Situated on the banks of the Exe there is no better place for evening drinks or breakfast coffee then tnjus place. The motel style rooms are clean and nicely presented if a bit dated, its Premiere Inn prices without the same quality of finish. Foods OK too but don't expect a gastronomic menu but it OK for slightly overpriced pub grub. All that said I would stay here again just for the location.

  • Sini O

  • July 2014

Lots and lots of spiders.

Our first reaction to our room was slightly freaked out disbelief: the outside of the whole building, including our door, was full of spiders of all sizes (including really big ones).

The receptionist said it was "one of those nights" when we went back to ask for some tissue to wipe off / kill some of the spiders. I have never seen that many spiders in one place and hope I never will again - there were hundreds. The window was open, so the first thing we did after wiping most of the spiders off the door and hesitantly entering the room was to kill the couple dozen spiders that had set up house in our room. There were also a few dozen tiny little dead flies on our beds; they kept falling from the ceiling every now and then. Not too disturbing compared to the spiders, but a little unpleasant. Otherwise the room was fairly clean, very warm (no AC). Keeping the window closed seemed to keep most of the spiders out. Beds and bathroom were ok. Wifi was free and worked well. Breakfast was included and not bad at all, and the staff was very nice. However, if spiders bother you, I definitely would not recommend staying here.

  • Susan P

  • July 2014

Mini Holiday

I stayed for 4 nights with my elderly Mother and even at booking stage the manager was very helpful in giving us the right room for her needs.

She really enjoyed the stay and found access to dining area easy and thoroughly enjoyed the food. Beautiful location by the river. The staff were friendly and always cheerful. Good base to visit local attractions, especially recommend the Tiverton Horse Drawn Barge Canal Trip and the Canal Tea Room.

  • Robert Godwin

  • July 2014

Relaxing Holiday

The accommodation was clean and adequate.

More shelves in the bathroom would have been useful. The meals, especially the breakfasts, were excellent. The views from the Fisherman's Cot were brilliant with easy access to surrounding areas. My only disappointment was the décor within the eating areas, poor and the state of the woodwork outside...rotten wooden window frames and doors. Paint non existent. Marstons, you could do a lot better.

  • J Knack

  • May 2014

Good value for the price

We stayed at Fisherman's Cot for three nights over a Bank Holiday.

It was a nice hotel, and the staff was very friendly. We had an issue with the heat in our room, and after we reported it to the front desk it was fixed within ten minutes. The bed was a bit soft, but otherwise the room was clean and restful. We had not intended to eat at the restaurant as often as we did, but the quality of the offerings and the cost was very good so we ate almost every meal there. If we travel to that area again we would definitely consider The Fisherman's Cot.

  • B Fletcher

  • March 2014

Thank you

  • K O'Hanlon

  • March 2014

will be staying again

  • Patrick Toner

  • February 2014

Our silver wedding anniversary

We stayed in this hotel the night of our wedding 25 years ago, so I booked it as a surprise for my wife for our silver anniversary.

It really hasn't changed much in all that time. We stayed in the same room, with a great view of the river, my wife was thrilled and the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. We had a great little two night break, with great food, and plenty of liquid refreshment. I would like to thank both management and staff for making our visit so memorable 😊