Reviews - Fishermans Cot by Marstons Inns


Bickleigh, Tiverton, EX16 8RW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Knack

  • May 2014

Good value for the price

We stayed at Fisherman's Cot for three nights over a Bank Holiday.

It was a nice hotel, and the staff was very friendly. We had an issue with the heat in our room, and after we reported it to the front desk it was fixed within ten minutes. The bed was a bit soft, but otherwise the room was clean and restful. We had not intended to eat at the restaurant as often as we did, but the quality of the offerings and the cost was very good so we ate almost every meal there. If we travel to that area again we would definitely consider The Fisherman's Cot.

  • B Fletcher

  • March 2014

Thank you

  • K O'Hanlon

  • March 2014

will be staying again

  • Patrick Toner

  • February 2014

Our silver wedding anniversary

We stayed in this hotel the night of our wedding 25 years ago, so I booked it as a surprise for my wife for our silver anniversary.

It really hasn't changed much in all that time. We stayed in the same room, with a great view of the river, my wife was thrilled and the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. We had a great little two night break, with great food, and plenty of liquid refreshment. I would like to thank both management and staff for making our visit so memorable 😊

  • Dawn B

  • December 2013

Christmas Stay

We stayed here on Christmas Eve and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The food was lovely and the staff were knowledgeable about food being gluten free.

The room was very comfortable and the Inn is set in a very picturesque location.

  • Robert G

  • December 2013

Nice Hotel

We stayed when the hotel was undergoing some work to the outside of the hotel.

However, no work was being done while we were there. Everything was cleaned up and tidy.

  • barry davies

  • December 2013

Hard Mattress Anoying Hoovering spoils a lovely place idylic place

Your going to love the look of this place with it's Thatched Roof which is being replaced.

Right on the river lovely would recommend it only two downsides one easily fixed one which will take a few quid. The mattress in room 22 is rock hard. needs upgrading. Please please please don't hoover whilst people are trying to have a relaxing breakfast. I know it is a large room but there must be a time in between breakfast and lunch to hoover on a Sunday morning. It was like being 14 again when my mum would bash the hoover into my bedroom door to "subtlety" wake me!!!!

  • Barrie P

  • October 2013

What a fantastic stay !!

The staff at the Fishermans Cot are excellent !.

Made us very,very welcome & could not do enough for us . The only criticism is , Marstons you need to give this beautiful place some cash to update the decorations , as the place is looking tired & slightly run down !!!. This is a great shame as the food is very good . Keep up the wonderful hospitality staff !. Marstons start spending some money or you might find people not turning up .