No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Durrant House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Heywood Road,Northam , Bideford, EX39 3QB
From the moment you step into our lush beautiful Mediterranean style lobby and experience the beauty of marble floors, lush greenery and colorful flowering plants, with the soothing sound of running water from our stunning copper Willow Tree water feature, you'll know you've come to the right place to relax.
Whether you're visiting on business or pleasure, our attentive staff and superb surroundings will welcome you in style from the moment you walk in the door. The Durrant House Hotel is situated near the little white town of Bideford North Devon.

Discover the comfortable surroundings of our spacious, tastefully decorated guest rooms, all with en-suite facilities with some offering estuary views.

For our guests we offer two eating venues to choose from serving two completely different menus from our award winning chefs, with an aim on catering to all tastes.

We also provide a small fitness room, sauna, sun shower and an outdoor heated swimming pool for guest leisure facilities. There is also nightly entertainment provided on most nights for group tours, all hotel guests are welcome. Due to the hotel having the largest ballroom in area, the hotel is a very popular conference & wedding venue North Devon, we also provide free guest parking on site for over 100 vehicles.

Don't leave without trying a "Devon cream tea" its a way of life down in Devon. served with fresh scones, strawberry jam, clotted cream and a freshly brewed pot of English Devon tea.
Picture of Durrant House Hotel, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The superior rooms are far from superior!
This is not a bad hotel to be honest, it does have pretty much everything you need, it is just rather tired, dated and to be honest a bit tacky!
It is in serious need of a make over. With painted ceilings, meerkats statues behind the reception desk, a very odd red carpet and fully laid dinning table in the foyer & dinning room full of dark oppressive wood furniture this hotel is not for the young, or young at heart!
We booked a superior room, as all the standard rooms were taken, lets just say it was far from superior. The cheap leather look sofa was very worn with pretty much all of the fake leather worn away on the arms, which looked awful and rather depressing when you entered the room. The leatherette oversized headboard had also have a very badly repaired rip in it and was way to big for the bed which didn't go with it.
Other than that the room wasn't bad, fully functional, but out of date, bad tase decor, a particular low point is the huge number of brown textured canvas pieces of "art" hung all over the hotel walls, truly ugly!
Oh yeah and our hair dryer didn't work in the bedroom.
I have to be honest I don't usually write reviews of hotels but I was really disappointed with this one so felt I should warn others.
There is a very nice B&B across the road called the old barn if your looking for somewhere nice to stay in the area.

Reviewed by
Emma R

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap last minute booking but would not stay again
Rushed a last minute booking and went quickly on the star rating of site which did not reflect our experience. The hotel was not what we were expecting; could be a matter of taste, but it was not our taste. Our first room allocated smelt very damp and we asked to move, we were accommodated and moved to a room that wasn't damp however rooms very low budget, furniture/decor , beds uncomfortable, finishing of paintwork, electrics, plumbing, poor. Cleanliness, poor.
Food, to be fair was reasonable, good sized portions and good value for money but couldn't wait to check out!

Reviewed by
S Harrison

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place to avoid
We booked what was described as a 'Superior Room' but found the accommodation to be far from superior. Small room, small bathroom, no mini bar or fridge which one would expect in that sort of room. Small window with a partial view of the bridge. not much milk to make a drink with, luckily we had a pint of milk with us. Very disappointing.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutely fantastic hotel
food was out of this world, the stay was perfect, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, hotel staff overwhelming, absolutely the best weekend ever thank mrs sharon goodwins

Reviewed by
Sharon G

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Third stay this year!
Having been recommended The Durrant by a Lola friend I have stayed there three times in six months with more visits planned. Room is always clean and spacious staff are friendly and helpful and the Olive Tree restaurant is always a good choice for a hearty breakfast - the staff are first class all hardworking too
Can't recommend the hotel enough

Reviewed by
W Arnold

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Hotel
We absolutely loved this Hotel, the staff were very helpful, the food in the Olive Tree restaurant was very good and very reasonably priced and good sized portions.
There is a bar in the hotel which serves food and this is very reasonably priced as are the drinks.
This is a good Hotel for families, groups and I believe just about anyone as you just feel so comfortable the minute you walk into the building.
The room was lovely and well equipped, two sofas, lots of cushions, tea and coffee making facilities and just about everything you could need.
We will most definitely be staying at the Durrant House Hotel again soon.
P.S this should be 4*

Reviewed by
Denis K

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

average hotel, exelent service and resturant
Upon arrival first impressions were good. Lovely old school looking reception with staff more than willing to help. Finally found our room in the maze of corridors and were not overly happy. After returning to reception where the staff were more than willing to help and sort out the issue the second was quieter if that.
Floors were squeeky, double glazing was not secure and could hear when next door were moving around.
As for the hotel restaurant, that was exceptional. The staff were again helpful and friendly and the food was excellent, well worth a visit.
Overall the staff and hotel restaurant were top class but the hotel could do with a refit.

Reviewed by
j cole

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday Weekend
First impression of Hotel was generally good. Parking proved to be a challenge, although large the car park seemed to be inadequate, even more so when people arrived both evenings of my stay for events booked in the function room.
I had been quite surprised before my stay to realise the hotel had a 7 day cancellation requirement. This I thought was totally unfair, sometimes peoples plans do change unexpectedly and I was glad that mine hadn't.
Lastly I thought having to pay for internet connection was totally appalling - in this day and age?!
Think small changes could make the world of difference.

Reviewed by
J Allman

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wi fi awful
the hotel is fine and clean but if you want a reliable wi fi service i would think again. Despite moving rooms I was unable to connect to the internet consistently so won;t be coming back

Reviewed by
NEIL LOADER

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cancellation
had to cancel hotel 2 days before my arrival was due, still had to pay full price ,they said I have to give a weeks notice. but only booked it 5 days before ,

Reviewed by
brian elliott

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next