No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Durrant House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Heywood Road,Northam , Bideford, EX39 3QB
From the moment you step into our lush beautiful Mediterranean style lobby and experience the beauty of marble floors, lush greenery and colorful flowering plants, with the soothing sound of running water from our stunning copper Willow Tree water feature, you'll know you've come to the right place to relax.
Whether you're visiting on business or pleasure, our attentive staff and superb surroundings will welcome you in style from the moment you walk in the door. The Durrant House Hotel is situated near the little white town of Bideford North Devon.

Discover the comfortable surroundings of our spacious, tastefully decorated guest rooms, all with en-suite facilities with some offering estuary views.

For our guests we offer two eating venues to choose from serving two completely different menus from our award winning chefs, with an aim on catering to all tastes.

We also provide a small fitness room, sauna, sun shower and an outdoor heated swimming pool for guest leisure facilities. There is also nightly entertainment provided on most nights for group tours, all hotel guests are welcome. Due to the hotel having the largest ballroom in area, the hotel is a very popular conference & wedding venue North Devon, we also provide free guest parking on site for over 100 vehicles.

Don't leave without trying a "Devon cream tea" its a way of life down in Devon. served with fresh scones, strawberry jam, clotted cream and a freshly brewed pot of English Devon tea.
Picture of Durrant House Hotel, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing !!!!
Booked a double room and got 4 poster bed, jacuzzi/bath totally amazed. Very clean, very friendly staff and great service. Food was lovely. The only problems we had was the bar closed at 11pm sharp and the main door got locked at midnight and we are smokers. Overall it was a fantastic mini break.

Reviewed by
Karen W

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durrant stay
The room could have done with a good clean but the bathroom was fine

Reviewed by
Barry W

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value, excelled my expectations
Very friendly and helpful receptionists to greet.
Room and hotel was of a better standard than I had expected, dated style in some areas but in a way adds to the charm and gives the hotel a bit of character.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
L Edwards

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family mini-break
A charming hotel with lots of character and great outdoor swimming pool set in beautiful gardens. Food fantastic, varied & very good value for money. Staff could not do enough to help. Family room not big enough & very stuffy on arrival. Bathroom small but modern with excellent shower.
A great base for exploring the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
R Jerger

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place! great value!
Was surprised to find such a nice place for so little money at last minute. Great place and lovely people.

Reviewed by
Paul Davies

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location and very good value
A large, conveniently situated hotel, ideal for singles, and very good value.

Reviewed by
Hilary Bradt

From Seaton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great.
Quite an old fashioned hotel, so no air conditioning, which meant that it was very hot in the room itself!

Reviewed by
Rebecca M

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The superior rooms are far from superior!
This is not a bad hotel to be honest, it does have pretty much everything you need, it is just rather tired, dated and to be honest a bit tacky!
It is in serious need of a make over. With painted ceilings, meerkats statues behind the reception desk, a very odd red carpet and fully laid dinning table in the foyer & dinning room full of dark oppressive wood furniture this hotel is not for the young, or young at heart!
We booked a superior room, as all the standard rooms were taken, lets just say it was far from superior. The cheap leather look sofa was very worn with pretty much all of the fake leather worn away on the arms, which looked awful and rather depressing when you entered the room. The leatherette oversized headboard had also have a very badly repaired rip in it and was way to big for the bed which didn't go with it.
Other than that the room wasn't bad, fully functional, but out of date, bad tase decor, a particular low point is the huge number of brown textured canvas pieces of "art" hung all over the hotel walls, truly ugly!
Oh yeah and our hair dryer didn't work in the bedroom.
I have to be honest I don't usually write reviews of hotels but I was really disappointed with this one so felt I should warn others.
There is a very nice B&B across the road called the old barn if your looking for somewhere nice to stay in the area.

Reviewed by
Emma R

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap last minute booking but would not stay again
Rushed a last minute booking and went quickly on the star rating of site which did not reflect our experience. The hotel was not what we were expecting; could be a matter of taste, but it was not our taste. Our first room allocated smelt very damp and we asked to move, we were accommodated and moved to a room that wasn't damp however rooms very low budget, furniture/decor , beds uncomfortable, finishing of paintwork, electrics, plumbing, poor. Cleanliness, poor.
Food, to be fair was reasonable, good sized portions and good value for money but couldn't wait to check out!

Reviewed by
S Harrison

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place to avoid
We booked what was described as a 'Superior Room' but found the accommodation to be far from superior. Small room, small bathroom, no mini bar or fridge which one would expect in that sort of room. Small window with a partial view of the bridge. not much milk to make a drink with, luckily we had a pint of milk with us. Very disappointing.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next