No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old School Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Whitchurch Road, Horrabridge, Yelverton, PL20 7TT
This historical Old School offers you luxurious and comfortable surroundings with many of the services of a hotel and all the comforts of home.

We provide facilities to our guests, such as Internet access (Wi-Fi) and parking - FREE of charge. For those guests with a discerning palette we offer evening dinner (advance notice required)in our licensed dining room. Our food is freshly prepared and locally sourced by our Chef Chris who trained at Leiths School of Food and Wine, London.

With plenty of choices, our lovely breakfast’s include homemade bread, freshly baked by Chris each day and a selection of homemade conserves and marmalade! Wonderful flavours to get your taste buds singing every morning.

Located within Dartmoor National Park the picturesque village of Horrabridge has 2 pubs, a village store, post office and more. Close to the Cornish border, the Old School makes the perfect holiday base to explore Cornwall as well as Devon.
Picture of The Old School Guest House, Yelverton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room. was not sure if we could book an evening meal as they never made it clear.
Very welcoming and clean.

Reviewed by
d taylor

From helston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Stay
Thank you Maxine for making our stay so lovely. From the moment we walked in we felt comfortable. Your house is smashing and so inviting. We loved the room and found the bed very comfortable. We liked the skylights with the electric shutters - it's a shame we couldn't see the stars because of the clouds. The packets of crisps and biscuits are a great idea and the little home made soaps are a lovely touch. I hope you noticed I didn't put them all in my bag - at a bigger hotel I wouldn't be able to resist! ;) Having a jug of milk in the mini fridge is such a good idea. I detest those little milk and cream cartons. The complimentary bottled spring water in the fridge is also a kind touch. The water was lovely and hot for our showers and there was a good flow through the shower which is always a good thing. Breakfast was brilliant. I'd normally never eat grilled tomatoes but I cleared the plate. The sausages are obviously very good quality. Proper coffee and home made marmalade and jam. You even make your own butter. Excellent! Maxine you have a wonderful place and it was our pleasure to have two nights sharing it. Your house feels happy and you have the perfect attitude to make guests feel special. Thank you so much.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots of character!
Excellent hosts with plenty of advice about local area. Room was large and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was ordered the night before but was of excellent quality when it came. The accommodation is on the very edge of the open moorland so, can be walked to from the B&B.

Reviewed by
Phil L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite location, well appointed and clean.
A friendly greeting welcomed us to The Old School Guest House. It was slightly difficult to find...up a step track but once there, parking was easy...right outside the apartment. A lovely apartment with private entrance and lovely views. Clean and well appointed. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accomodation and a warm welcome
A great place to stay, nice village and easy routes to Tavistock & Plymouth.
The apartment was super, probably the cleanest I have stayed in before.

Reviewed by
Steven Healey

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
Stayed 2 nights in room 4. Only minor fault we could find was the lack of a full length mirror in the room somewhere!

Reviewed by
keith m

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hostess

Reviewed by
h roy

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful B&B, didn't want to leave!
One of the best B&Bs I've stayed at! The whole building was beautiful and the room was gorgeous. Maxine and Chris made us feel very welcome, and helped us with somewhere to eat. The breakfast was excellent as well. Overall, a brilliant stay and I look forward to going back!

Reviewed by
Rachel Perry

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For a memorable stay
Very helpful and friendly, great advice on places to visit and for eating out, along with directions and standard that could be expected. Accommodation was perfect, very relaxing

Reviewed by
J Adamson

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A single night stay we would definitely repeat!
The room was clean and well-equipped, with nice touches like real milk - in a fridge - and some fresh flowers. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room had character so not just a 'box', with a lovely view over the valley - very nice to wake up to. Breakfast was delicious too, and we'd definitely stay again when working that way. Hosts were welcoming and friendly. We felt that it was brilliant value for the money.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next