No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
South Parade, , , Weston-super-Mare, BS23 1JP
The Royal Hotel is a charismatic, historic and luxuriously appointed Georgian hotel centrally located within Weston-Super-Mare in a unique situation. It enjoys both a wonderful sea views and close proximity to the promenade, town centre, Italian Gardens, Winter Gardens, Sovereign shopping centre and the Jill Dando Memorial Garden.

The Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the beautiful Somerset countryside and many places of interest that are within easy travelling distance: Cheddar Caves & Wookey Hole, Bristol City & Water Front, city of Bath, Cribbs Causeway Retail Park, Quantock Mendip Hills and Glastonbury & Wells.

In 1810 The Royal Hotel was the first hotel to be opened in Weston-Super-Mare. It is set back from the sea front behind extensive lawns, has extensive car parking and is easily accessible by car, coach and rail. For guests travelling by air, the drive from Bristol airport takes approximately 25 minutes.

All 37 bedrooms are fitted to a select standard and all very well equipped. In addition several of the bedrooms are themed to a superior standard.

The Royal Hotel epitomises the elegant regency style that has made Weston-Super-Mare famous. The recently refurbished Golden Jubilee Restaurant has an excellent reputation with hotel guests and local residents alike. This is due to the excellent menu devised by our Head Chef, which includes dishes to tempt and excite all tastes. The menu changes frequently as our Chef creates new dishes for all our guests to enjoy.

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the beautiful Somerset countryside.
Picture of The Royal Hotel, Weston-super-Mare at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
very good service friendly staff but over priced

Reviewed by
Alex Cummings

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exelent hotel
great hotel with character but a bit over priced

Reviewed by
Alex Cummings

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have stayed at Royal about 4 times but we were disappointed this time hair dryer in room not working and on 2nd morning we had to wait nearly 35 mins for our breakfast the toast was cold so they did bring some more and the coffee was luke warm in fairness there was only 2 people serving breakfast I also rang Hayley beauty clinic for an appointment but she never returned my call

Reviewed by
Diann Ruston

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Think carefully before booking
This hotel looks impressive as you arrive for a weekend break at the coast. As you enter reception you can't help but notice the fantastic stair case that dominates the lobby area (ideal for the bride walking down the stairs with her father photo), and that's about as good as it gets. The rooms are in desperate need of updating and whilst the staff do try hard they struggled to cope with demand on the weekend I stayed. Add to this that the hotel is flanked by noise both front and rear and if you are going for a relaxing break the area doesn't quieten down until after 1.00am on a Saturday night.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

betty boop
I could not fault it, Lovely view. food was excellent. We have stayed with you twice before.

Reviewed by
betty w

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great bank hol
the royal hotel is a super place to stay, all the staff so friendly, nice spacious room with a big bathroom, central to all amenities it was great.

Reviewed by
stephen jones

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Annual grandchildren visit to Weston-super-Mare
Lovely view, very accommodating on changing room in advance.

Reviewed by
Anthony W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfied
Excellent stay

Reviewed by
sandra foreman

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel , Early holiday break
We arrived at the Royal hotel Weston Super Mare and was welcomed by reception staff and showed to our rooms. Completely satisfied with our accommodation. We did notice however that there was no fridge in either rooms as advertised for medication storage. this did not matter for us, so no problem. We had booked bed and breakfast and found the beds comfortable and the breakfast superb, plates were hot and the full monty breakfast most enjoyable. Location was near to the Winter Gardens and the Playhouse theater , the high street shops just a walk in the park. I would recommend this hotel for a stay we enjoyed our three day break. PS Do not be put off by the comments about creaky floor boards they add to the charm of the place.

Reviewed by
Alan F

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No christmas cheer
Booked for a christmas break and paid a lot of money as this is listed as Westons premier Hotel.
Very disappointed as no entertainment on at all over the xmas period so we went to surrounding hotels who had all made an effort.
We decided to go for the £20 a head xmas afternoon buffet and despite it being the costliest we have ever heard of we can honestly say its the worst buffet we had ever seen.
Sausage rolls, Pork pie, cheese, pickled onions, egg ........just a few buffet essentials that were not included ! We would have asked for a refund if we had any other options for eating on Xmas day evening.
That along with the lack of entertainment and generally downbeat atmosphere of the Hotel led us to leave a day early and forfeited the £125 charge for the final night.
They seem to rely on the elder guests who have been going there for years.

Reviewed by
A Gauden

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next