No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hampshire break
We thought this was terrific value for money. A very large room, with comfortable beds, very good food and friendly staff. Only very slight blot was lack of bar staff when needed. Excellent

Reviewed by
Terence S

From Woodstock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers
At first sight the hotel appears impressive. The building is well positioned and looks quite inviting.However on entering the building it becomes apparent that it is in need of serious renovation particularly the window frames and paintwork. The decor is very dated.
The 'late key' system is in operation after 10.30 and seems to work quite efficiently.
Overall I would say this hotel is over priced for the service and accommodation on offer.

Reviewed by
j robinson

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Detail lacking
Room not of standard expected of hotel. Carpet aged and 'ribbed'. One power point under table causing one to crawl underneath and remove plug for TV or kettle in order to use fan or anything else. No Wi-Fi at hotel.
Entrance mat well past sell by date. Not good first impression.
Lids on teapots and hot water jugs in restaurant did not fit causing liquids to cool quickly.
Only one small soap supplied for two people. Shower gel not replaced when used.
Although stayed for most of week, rate increased by £10 for Friday.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would return to this hotel
The hotel staff were friendly and helpfull. The quality of the breakfst was very good, although we didn't have an evening meal. The room was very spacious and clean although a little tired in terms of decor and fittings. The hotel and grounds were quiet and pleasant. The bar was limited and very quiet. Location was a twenty minute walk into Milford on Sea which was fine for us in nice weather, but would be a problem if raining or less mobile than us.

Reviewed by
k lawtey

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I call bespoke
First the downsides - slightly damp smell to the room. The double glazing was blown and the window full of condensation. The tv was postage stamp size and horror of horrors - the bed was soggy. Very soggy. Final downfall - cracked basin in the bathroom. Clearly, this place needs investment.
Up sides - lovely location and overall disappointment tempered by a cracking breakfast with superbly attentive and friendly waitress.
Overall, somewhere that I wouldn't return to or recommend.

Reviewed by
Richard F

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Being fair
My impression on entering was that the hotel looks like an old folks home. The staff were charming,though I can't say the same about the room! I had specifically ticked the box 'double bed for double accomodation' & suspect I was inadvertently given a 'double for single' use. The garden view, beautiful pastoral views were around the side. I was overlooking the car park. The room was extremely basic with hard armchairs & cheap student type furniture. The bath had water from the hot tap, though none from the cold tap. The ghastly looking curtains were ill fitting. One night an alarm went off at Reception, every 5 mins for hours, before a code was found to neutralise it.
On the plus side, the breakfasts were very good. There is no wifi in the rooms! As it happens because my room was above Reception, I did occasionally get wifi.

Reviewed by
S Beinart

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A peaceful retreat
Comfortable, but in need of some upgrading and maintainance.

Reviewed by
Jan W

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

says wot it is.
beautiful view great breakfast friendly efficient staff. walkable distance from milford on sea But would have been priced right if it was ?10.00 less .

Reviewed by
Jayne B

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel very nice but dated small uncomfortable single beds (most modern hotels have 2 small doubles) and the food was very average and expensive my wife had the Steak which was a £5 surcharge on the usual £14 for a main and arrived looking like a pub style £6.99 steak & chips!! Though the breakfast was very good all in all £200 for a night away including a meal was very expensive. The staff were very helpful though no conversation and seemed to be very robotic although the lady on reception was very good.

Reviewed by
S Birch

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for a wedding
A comfortable and friendly hotel in a beautiful setting close to lots of places of interest in the New Forest. I understand it has just been taken over by new management and hopefully it will be undated as it is in need of some new refurbishment. As a wedding venue it was very good..

Reviewed by
Linda J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next