No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lymington Road,Milford On Sea , Lymington, SO41 0RF
South Lawn is a beautiful Country House Hotel set in its own grounds surrounded by lovely countryside and within walking distance of Milford on Sea village and beaches. There are plenty of tourist attactions within easy reach; Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens, Hurst Castle or you could take a day trip to the Isle of Wight. We have twenty four individually furnished bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and most have views over our beautifully maintained gardens and fields beyond. Our terrace, which in Summer, is an abundance of flowers, offers an ideal venue for light lunches, afternoon teas or an aperitif before dinner. We are also very fortunate to have a spacious lounge area where guests can relax quietly. The splendid location of South Lawn is unique, situated in an area of exceptional beauty, on the edge of the New Forest yet just a short walk from some of the south's most breathtaking coastline. The forest is renowned for its wild ponies, a multitude of mapped walks and dellicious cream teas.
Picture of South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Lymington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom
The shower is very dated although it works fine but the head doesn't move so not so good if you're tall but perfectly adequate. The hotel itself is lovely and peaceful and the staff so helpful. Would definitely return!

Reviewed by
heather l

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Lawn Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel
Very pleasant and relaxing stay

Reviewed by
Alison L

From France
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

peaceful & Beautiful spot
Very relaxed and friendly place to stay. Lovely surrounds.

Reviewed by
Mary K

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chintzy
Very nice stay ,staff where very helpful and couldn't do enough, food was very nice more so the breakfast. The rooms and decor need updating but think it's part of the charm ,very good value for money

Reviewed by
J Allen

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely wonderful. Fautless staff, beautiful hotel - FAR exceeded our expectations!!
My daughter and I decided to have a night away before she went back to Uni, we read mixed reviews but thought we would give South Lawn the 'benefit of the doubt' and make our own judgement. We could not have been more impressed! Right from pulling up in the car park we knew we had made a good choice! The Hotel is beautiful. We were greeted by William on Reception, he was extremely courteous and professional, a credit to South Lawn. The room was very large and I appreciated the addition of hairdryer and teapot! The Hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas (we were delighted the decorations were still up). The only disappointment was the lack of vegetarian food, which meant we couldn't eat in the restaurant (there was one option). Other than that the breakfast was plentiful and varied. We will definitely be staying again and highly recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Sadie L

From Wells, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

    Family

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Great service and value for money. Bathroom could do with updating

    Reviewed by
    r white

    From Shrewsbury, UK
    Who stayed in December 2014

    Couple

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Our two-night stay to visit elderly Aunt in Care Home
    We received a lovely welcome from staff and was impressed with the effort to festively decorate the hotel. Very good value for money.

    Reviewed by
    S Rudland

    From Hoddesdon, UK
    Who stayed in December 2014

    Couple

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Great relaxing break
    The staff are pleasant and helpful, the room was very large, with comfortable beds.The breakfast was well presented and there was a large choice as well as a cooked breakfast on offer.Terrific value for money.We felt very calm and relaxed during our stay. Will go there again.

    Reviewed by
    D Weller

    From Crawley, UK
    Who stayed in November 2014

    Couple

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Pleasant stay with very welcoming staff
    Lovely hotel,very good customer service and excellent breakfast. Value for money. Only criticism would be furnishings are old style not so much of a problem but cracked basin in bathroom and quite a few areas need some repairs. Maybe bar could extend it's range.
    Would still recommend.

    Reviewed by
    L Woods

    From UK
    Who stayed in November 2014

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    BETTER THAN BEFORE
    Stayed here previously and apart from the bedroom looking a little 'tired' we experienced good service, etc. This stay was better than before as the bedroom was a lot nicer this time (was on the car park side of the building) and we got a special price for last minute booking so all in all a most enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by
    M Fielder

    From London, UK
    Who stayed in November 2014

    Couple

    View Older Reviews

    Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

    All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next