No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Barnstaple Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Braunton Road, Barnstaple, EX31 1LE
The hotel's lounge area, with leather sofas and contemporary decor, is the perfect place to put your feet up, and serve equally well as an area to catch up with friends, family or colleagues.

You have the option of 2 excellent eating experiences at the Barnstaple Hotel. The varied restaurant menu makes use of local ingredients and the Sunday carvery is particularly popular among residents and guests alike. The stylish minimal interior design creates a modern feel and creates an ideal setting for you to enjoy a memorable meal in. And with our lively children's menu, you'll find we take great care of our younger guests too.

Alternatively, you can choose from a range of light bites and main meals in the bar and lounge areas. Complete with big screen TVs, you can take some time out to watch live sports events, or find a quiet corner and sip on a professionally mixed cocktail. Perfect.

But what makes the hotel really special is the fantastic on-site health and leisure club, with heated indoor and outdoor pools, a cutting edge gym and range of alternative therapies on offer. How Refreshing.
You'll find plenty of space to make your own here at The Barnstaple Hotel. Your room comes with everything you need for a restful night's sleep, including a TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Your en suite bathroom is stylishly finished with modern fittings. Most rooms have views over the outdoor pool and garden area.

Perhaps more than anything else, it is the location that makes The Barnstaple Hotel so special. Set on the outskirts of England's oldest borough and on the coastal side of the town, the hotel is only a 5 to 10 minute walk from the centre of Barnstaple.

You are ideally placed to discover the delights of North Devon's golden coastline. The miles of beautiful beaches offer everything from water sports to beach combing. Barnstaple itself provides a wealth of things to do, including 10-pin bowling, go-karting and an excellent shopping centre.

All over North Devon, you will find amazing attractions such as the Milky Way Adventure Park and Exmoor Zoo. Or if you enjoy walking, the fantastic sights at Lynmouth, Lynton and The Valley of the Rocks are unmissable.

Picture of The Barnstaple Hotel , Barnstaple at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

None enthusiastic reception and set the tone for rest of stay!
Arrived fairly late, reception staff had no enthusiasm and argued what we had booked with late rooms!! After showing her my email they relented and offered us another room as a live band was on, "great" I said, well if this was an upgrade then I shudder to think what our original room was like. Were do I start room looked ok when walked in turned light on and had a disco for 5 mins, managed to get to the loo and found no loo roll and toilet seat not fixed correctly !
Then in middle of night I think a herd of buffaloes went down corridor noise was bad at 2am !!
Finally when I thought nothing else could be wrong breakfast came and ups were dirty and beans and mushrooms on buffet were cold!
I much to say I doubt I will not be booking a night at the Barnstaple hotel anytime shortly !

Reviewed by
A Lewis

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel - very good value for money and a first class breakfast!

Reviewed by
Sue W

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Stay
Good friendly hotel. Happy and helpful staff. Good pool facilities (indoor and out). Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Amos Rodrigues

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad but let down by mis-communication on offers for the kids
Nice, clean hotel. Family room a bit of a squeeze but just about adequate - we had to put the arm chair in an unconventional location to make the kids' zed beds fit in. Polite staff but the hotel has all sorts of offers for kids which come with certain conditions which weren't adequately communicated to us. So what we thought was free as part of the deal was not and we had to pay extra. There was confusion between staff. Also the headline price was deceiving - the small print on the Laterooms confirmation adds extra premiums depending on the number of kids you have with you (£10 extra each) so the room for us was £20 more expensive than we originally thought. The pool and spa facilities are nice and for a change the shower in our room was very good / worked without spattering the whole bathroom. This hotel has more than adequate parking and is well situated if you want a Burger King (next door)! A drive into town otherwise if you want to visit Barnstaple centre. We didn't try the hotel's food - except the boys having some premium ice cream. The bar was full and the restaurant looked popular but the food was a little pricey for us. I get the impression judging by the popularity they would provide a good quality meal to be fair.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel beautiful inside and out exactly as pictured from the website exceeded our expectations and was clean tidy comfy spacious and the meal was fantastic and value for money cannot recommend this hotel enough the staff were very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
nicola k

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed
Booked a room just for a night as visiting friends on the way back from Cornwall. For the price was expecting a basic room with no frills, but was very pleasantly surprised - super kingsize bed and lovely furnishings. Hadn't looked up the hotels facilities prior to arrival as 'just a bed for the night' but would certainly return in the future and make full use of the spa facilities - both the indoor and outdoor pools looked very inviting. The receptionist 'Sue' was exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super stay at The Barnstaple Hotel.
Lovely friendly hotel. The staff were always very accommodating and helpful. Spent a few days there with the kids, who loved it, and spent as much time in the two swimming pools as they could. The food was great, and there was plenty of choice for my rather picky kids. Shame the location of the hotel is not the best, but is only about ten minutes walk into town. Only a few minutes walk from the Tarka Trail, which we used to walk into town sometimes (takes about ten minutes longer).
Would certainly use again, and was fine for families (as long as you don't mind the bedrooms being a bit cramped with fold-out beds) although we were lucky to have a large room this time (been before). Thumbs-Up.

Reviewed by
Wayne H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Summer weekend
A long established 3 star hotel which from the outside looks a little like an American Motel but inside the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
As with a lot of hotels that don't have air conditioned bedrooms they can get hot during the summer months but a fan as provided to try and ease things.
The outside pool is small and not very deep but has warm water and attracts the kids.
The indoor pool is larger, cooler and quitter:)
Reception staff were very polite and attentive.
The staff at breakfast were very friendly and very efficient and the food offers a wide choice. I particularly liked the fresh fruit salad and the bonus of having your eggs cooked to order.
The location outside of town is not a problem and puts the hotel closer to beaches of Saunton and Croyde which is about 9 miles away.
I would recommend you give this hotel a try.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super Break.
We stayed with our 2 Grandsons both aged 11, the hotel was simply lovely and the staff were friendly and always willing to help, the breakfast was excellent and the food at night was good. The leisure facilities were ideal for the boys
The only downside was that the room was too small for a family of 4 and would have been more suited for 2 people, but it was spotlessly clean.

Reviewed by
William A

From Pentraeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mixed experience -
The room looked clean and the beds were comfortable. However, there was an awful smell from the bathroom and I really wanted to go out and buy some bleach. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was average to good. Both pools were excellent- very clean and with convenient opening hours. Guests are allowed to smoke at the entrance of the hotel and within the grounds. This will be a matter of opinion but I did not think this was appropriate for guests with children to have to experience cigarette smoke.
I had a issue with payment as the hotel wanted to charge more than the late rooms price for an adult and a child. There was ambiguity around the statement that extra children cost £5-10 extra. I did not have an additional child other than the one in the original quote - which already accounted for a child. I felt that the hotel were very unreasonable and this left me feeling very distressed.
There is a clear issue with the management of this hotel- it is far from customer focussed and I could not recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
Jennifer M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next