No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Barnstaple Street, Bideford, EX39 4AE
As 'The Little White Town's' finest hotel, The Royal sits proudly at the eastern end of Bideford's ancient stone bridge. The bridge may have been here longer but it's still no surprise that this comfortable, cosy hotel has been welcoming and inspiring guests for over 200 years.

As a base, The Royal Hotel is great for exploring the winding streets of Bideford, cycling the Tarka Trail or the beaches and countryside of Tarke country. You can visit Westawrd Ho!, the only town in Britain to be named after a novel.
Picture of The Royal Hotel, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, regardless of discount
It's the little things that count. Like the reception automatically giving me the Wi-Fi code. The bathroom having a shaver plug. Being able to leave the car in the car park after check out while I explored Bideford. But the larger things are there too. The breakfast consisted of a cereal buffet and tabled served cooked meal, for which there was a good selection. The room was ample for me as a single traveller and the bed was really comfy. The front desk had good local knowledge for my destination. The staff were professional and I felt like I was getting a high class service without the heirs and graces of some other top level hotels.

Reviewed by
I Bowden

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, friendly helpful staff
Stayed for one night on a business trip. Other guests were pensioners and travelling workers. Room was clean, quiet apart from snoring neighbour. Dinner and breakfast was fine.

Reviewed by
Rudolf K

From Cobham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel..
Probably one of the best hotels I've stayed in for years. ALL of the staff were polite, unfailingly courteous, and extremely helpful. My room was clean and tidy, with everything that one needs for a short break. The breakfast was sublime, and lots of it..
I will definitely stay here again in the future. I Highly recommend this hotel..

Reviewed by
Les D

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Hotel, Bideford
My stay in Bideford was to enable a visit to an elderly sister in a care home. The 3-day package I was offered was excellent value and ideally placed. On arrival, my then single room had been upgraded to a double which was of 3* quality. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the hotel spotlessly clean. I enjoyed my breakfasts in the massive ornate dining room. My only (minor) complaint was the corridor noise in the night and what seemed to be noise transmitted from adjacent rooms through very thin walls. The Royal struck me as a classic hotel from the last century now effectively restored and updated as much as possible. All-in-all, I would surely return and recommend to others for a short stay. It is ideally placed for the quayside area and town centre.

Reviewed by
Alan J M Baker

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and polite staff. hotel location and Cleanliness firstclass.
.

Reviewed by
Roger Parsons

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely perfect
Like all the hotels in the Brendt Group we have stayed at the stay was perfect. Staff were pleasant and helpful and food was exceptionally good.

Reviewed by
stuart cardwell

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bed & room was quite small. All very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Low rated for food, although only ate breakfast at the hotel and didn't enjoy it at all.

Reviewed by
Pamela L

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another Weekend at The Royal
This is a fantastic Hotel, a little old world in many ways but charming, having spent more weekends than I can recall in Holiday Inns ,Marriott's , De Veres & Premier Lodges with at best average service service and soulless rooms this hotel is a refreshing change.
The staff are really smart , courteous , the Resturant service and quality of food is way over that expected at a three star hotel and incredible value.
The rooms are large and comfortable , I can honestly say I have never seen a cleaner bathroom in a hotel room and cleaning staff that clearly take a pride in thier work, the hotel is spotless even the brass gets polished everyday !


Reviewed by
Robert B

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, Comfortable and good value for money
Very comfortable, clean room, all usual facilities provided, very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Gerald L

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.

Reviewed by
Brian R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next