Reviews - The Royal Hotel


Barnstaple Street, Bideford, EX39 4AE

Price From 104.23 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (18)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • John Eaton

  • July 2015

Very Nice Hotel

Thank you for a pleasant stay

  • Caroline B

  • May 2015

Perfect stay

Lovely hotel.

We found all the staff to be friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent quality. The room was quite small but the bed was very comfortable. The only thing we found was that the en suite was quite small and the water pressure wasn't great for the shower.

  • M Gregory

  • April 2015

The room was clean and spacious with very nice furniture. Bed comfortable Bathroom needed updating,

Our first thoughts was - what a lovely room - and the breakfast next morning was excellent.

Unfortunately for us, our room was directly above the main hotel entrance - room 104 - which was right next to the roads into Bideford so traffic noise was a bit of a problem. Much worse than that was the wedding party which used the bar until the early hours and went outside to smoke - just below our bedroom window. They were very noisy which meant we had virtually no sleep until around 4 or 5 in the morning. We only stayed the one night so cannot comment further. I suspect other nights would have been much better.

  • A Dennis

  • March 2015

One night stay

A really nice hotel however we stayed before and had a much nicer room.

The room was a lot smaller which was disappointing. Break fast was lovely.

  • R Fox

  • March 2015

nice hotel but..

very disappointed with the bathroom in room 207 which was not up to the usual high standard I have experienced in a Brend Hotel..

The toilet seat, although clean was very worn and the toilet was so near the wash basin you had to manoeuvre between the two to be able to use it.. We had already requested a move from our allocated room due to a loud humming noise ( which I assume came from the kitchens ) making it impossible to relax.

  • michael a

  • January 2015

The Royal Hotel

Wonderful hotel steeped in history.

Excellent breakfast.

  • I Bowden

  • November 2014

Great value, regardless of discount

It's the little things that count.

Like the reception automatically giving me the Wi-Fi code. The bathroom having a shaver plug. Being able to leave the car in the car park after check out while I explored Bideford. But the larger things are there too. The breakfast consisted of a cereal buffet and tabled served cooked meal, for which there was a good selection. The room was ample for me as a single traveller and the bed was really comfy. The front desk had good local knowledge for my destination. The staff were professional and I felt like I was getting a high class service without the heirs and graces of some other top level hotels.

  • Rudolf K

  • October 2014

Good value, friendly helpful staff

Stayed for one night on a business trip.

Other guests were pensioners and travelling workers. Room was clean, quiet apart from snoring neighbour. Dinner and breakfast was fine.

  • Les D

  • October 2014

Excellent Hotel..

Probably one of the best hotels I've stayed in for years.

ALL of the staff were polite, unfailingly courteous, and extremely helpful. My room was clean and tidy, with everything that one needs for a short break. The breakfast was sublime, and lots of it.. I will definitely stay here again in the future. I Highly recommend this hotel..

  • Alan J M Baker

  • May 2014

The Royal Hotel, Bideford

My stay in Bideford was to enable a visit to an elderly sister in a care home.

The 3-day package I was offered was excellent value and ideally placed. On arrival, my then single room had been upgraded to a double which was of 3* quality. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the hotel spotlessly clean. I enjoyed my breakfasts in the massive ornate dining room. My only (minor) complaint was the corridor noise in the night and what seemed to be noise transmitted from adjacent rooms through very thin walls. The Royal struck me as a classic hotel from the last century now effectively restored and updated as much as possible. All-in-all, I would surely return and recommend to others for a short stay. It is ideally placed for the quayside area and town centre.