No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sneaton Castle Centre

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Sneaton Castle Centre Castle Road, Whitby, YO21 3QN
Sneaton Castle Centre is situated in beautiful and extensive grounds adjacent to St Hilda's Priory. The Centre is within walking distance(1 mile) of the heart of the historic and picturesque seaside town of Whitby, affording easy access to some of the most glorious countryside in the United Kingdom, notably the North York Moors and coastline.

The castle itself dates back to the 19th Century and following major refurbishment, the buildings have been transformed into an ideal modern venue for Conferences, Training Events, Seminars, School, College and Youth Trips, Church Weekends, Holidays, Individual Breaks, Group Outings... and much more!

All our 4 star accomodation is in our St Francis House building and not in the main Castle buildings.
Picture of Sneaton Castle Centre, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and superb location
From the friendly greeting on arrival to the response to any queries we had we had very attentive staff. Breakfast was excellent and the local Whitby kippers a treat. Accommodation was comfortable and quiet.

Reviewed by
Graham Marshall

From Hessle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected
After reading the write up I was rather disgruntled at this accomodation! When booking with Late rooms it stated this was the last room available when we got to the hotel we were the only guests there... Barring another couple!
It was like a school /church Youth club type setting and nothing was going on. All the rooms where locked. My teenagers were bored!
The room was freezing cold we all slept in our clothes and to add to the general dullness the fire alarm kept going off!
All in all it was shockingly overpriced to stay in a sub standard room!

ManagementResponse

We were very disappointed to read this review as nothing was mentioned on departure. The Centre is primarily a Christian Conference Centre with Four Star Guest Accommodation within the grounds. Previous reviews mention the peaceful setting. We are not sure that any Guest House would provide entertainment for teenagers. Quality in Tourism have awarded us Four Stars within the Guest Accommodation category. We are therefore concerned that anyone should consider Four Stars as sub standard. The heating is on a timer and goes off during the night. However, we do have a Night Porter who could have altered the timer on request. The fire alarm went off twice on Sunday morning. This means that the smoke detectors did their job. They can be sensitive but have never activated before unless during a test. This weekend was quiet and we only posted one family room on Laterooms for sale and a couple of twin rooms. This is normal and certainly not to make us look busy. The review did not mention the breakfast so we're not sure why this was marked down. We're sorry that this reviewer did not enjoy staying at Sneaton Castle Centre because staff work very hard to ensure that guests do enjoy their time with us.

Reviewed by
Helen Donald

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful,and the surroundings are lovely. Chilled out staff,great room. best hotel yet!
Would return without a doubt. Peaceful,lovely surroundings,clean and only 20 mins from town. Great stay. Very impressed with the place.

Reviewed by
o holmes

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful
The staff were attentive and helpful at all times. The room was spacious and well-furnished to a high standard. Breakfast included an assortment of dried and fresh fruits as well as the usual cereals, yoghurt and toast. As I have to be on a low-fat diet, I did not try the traditional, cooked breakfast apart from an experience with a rather dry and bony kipper. We chose to eat out on both evenings so we cannot comment on the evening meals. There was nothing wrong with the menu: it was just that it did not contain the food which we like.
The best part of our stay was undoubtedly the fact that we were able to join the Sisters at the Convent for Mass on Sunday and some of their daily offices. It was spiritually uplifting and we were made very welcome. Thank you to all at Sneaton Castle Centre and the Convent for a wonderful stay. We will return!

Reviewed by
Christopher M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful
Highly recommended. We were able to book a single night for a Saturday at Sneaton Castle Center. We found plenty of parking space and staff were friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Our stay was very peaceful, and the grounds were very pleasant. A real retreat.

Reviewed by
Katherine G

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will be back
In an ideal location, less than 10 minutes away.We either drove into Whitby or walked to catch the bus and got a taxi back.The room had everything you needed,plenty of space, and lots of very hot water.The breakfeast was excellent, although a radio in the background would have been nice.The grounds are beautiful to see and there is plenty of safe carparking.We thought it was the best place we have stayed in, and will be back again.

Reviewed by
Lorraine C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break with family
A clean, spacious family room. The grounds are beautiful. Fabulous breakfast. The whole family enjoyed the stay and we would definitely return in the future.

Reviewed by
Tracey. R

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation, would definitely visit again and reccommend to others

Reviewed by
T Addesso

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very nice and peaceful stay at the hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel is set in the lovely grounds of the convent and old school. The location was perfect, just far enough out of Whitby so as not to be disturbed by the night life or the seagulls, but ideally located to either go into the town or to use as a base for sightseeing further away. Very easily accessable by car or public transport. Would very happily stay here again.

Reviewed by
P COLLINS

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy with our stay
It was so peaceful, and in a very beautiful setting.

Reviewed by
C Stafford

From Mexborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next