No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sneaton Castle Centre

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Sneaton Castle Centre Castle Road, Whitby, YO21 3QN
Sneaton Castle Centre's guest house is situated in beautiful and extensive grounds adjacent to St Hilda's Priory. The 12 guest rooms are located in a refurbished house in the grounds and not in the Castle buildings. A hearty breakfast is served in the Centre's light and airy Garden Room. All rooms in St Francis House are ensuite and include some little luxuries such as Botham's biscuits and White Company toiletries. One mile from the centre of town, a warm and friendly welcome awaits you. There is ample parking and the Centre can also offer safe storage for cycles. Although the Centre does not have a Restaurant, evening meals can be provided by prior arrangement.

The castle itself dates back to the 19th Century and following major refurbishment, the buildings have been transformed into an ideal modern venue for Conferences, Training Events, Seminars, School, College and Youth Trips, Church Weekends, Holidays, Individual Breaks, Group Outings... and much more!

Picture of Sneaton Castle Centre, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No CCTV
Wouldn't recommend parking inside the castle car park as my car was seriously vandalised several dints plus a smashed windscreen phoned the police but was told it was pointless to come out as they don't have CCTV !!!!!!! It was also suggested by the duty manager that I arrived with the damage already done my car is a mobility car and is regularly checked I wrote a letter to them and was basically told there is a sign saying they hold no responsibility for cars parked in their grounds basically tough luck avoid this car park

Reviewed by
Julie Smith

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely surroundings with clean accommodation that is close enough to Whitby to enjoy the town but far away enough to enjoy the peace and quiet, breakfast was lovely and the staff were really friendly, because the rooms were outside of the main building it felt as if you were self catering without the need to disturb anyone but the staff were always there should you need something, thoroughly enjoyed the stay, brings b&b to the next level.

Reviewed by
jason s

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
good sized rooms, very clean and well furnished. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely surroundings and easy access to Whitby and surrounding attractions.

Reviewed by
alan bainbridge

From Berkeley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sneeton Castle
Had to change rooms as first room was below a family room. The noise from above was unbearable. Luckily there was another room available which was smaller but without the noise. Also it stated that the hotel was one mile from the town centre, but in reality was too far and had to taxi in and out.

Reviewed by
Darren Foster

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This castle is set in beautiful, well kept grounds. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and warm. Couldn't ask for more.

Reviewed by
S Holmes

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base....
Myself and my teenage daughter booked in for the whitby goth weekend, and we were very impressed when we pulled up to see 'a castle' surrounded in mist at the time!!! - very impressive building, we were a little disappointed that our room wasn't in the actual castle but an annex building. To get to the annex was a short walk through a beautiful walled garden, on arrival to our building i was reminded slightly of an old peoples home, a little dated looking... but spotlessly clean, large room, comfortable - no other issues. We had breakfast the next morning in the 'castle' part which we enjoyed.... staff were great, helpful and friendly....

Reviewed by
helen e

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely place!
Really enjoyed our stay - we had a little 3 year old with us and it couldn't have been better - exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, especially on reception, lovely room with loads of space for our daughter's little camp bed, loads of hot water, lovely breakfast, loads of room to run around in beautiful grounds. Even got a very warm welcome in the chapel from a lovely nun (not always the case with a very lively toddler!) Will definitely try and stay again if we come back to Whitby. Thanks for everything.

Reviewed by
Katy J

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel with an interesting history
I really enjoyed my stay the staff were helpful. The history of the castle was really interesting. I would have preferred being slightly nearer Whitby, but would definitely consider staying again

Reviewed by
Lesley S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend break
The hotel and staff were great loved the room and location was perfect for trips to Whitby town will go again :)

Reviewed by
STEWART V

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful surroundings rooms a little basic but very clean & staff very helpfull

Reviewed by
joanne b

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next