No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sneaton Castle Centre

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Sneaton Castle Centre Castle Road, Whitby, YO21 3QN
Sneaton Castle Centre's guest house is situated in beautiful and extensive grounds adjacent to St Hilda's Priory. The 12 guest rooms are located in a refurbished house in the grounds and not in the Castle buildings. A hearty breakfast is served in the Centre's light and airy Garden Room. All rooms in St Francis House are ensuite and include some little luxuries such as Botham's biscuits and White Company toiletries. One mile from the centre of town, a warm and friendly welcome awaits you. There is ample parking and the Centre can also offer safe storage for cycles. Although the Centre does not have a Restaurant, evening meals can be provided by prior arrangement.

The castle itself dates back to the 19th Century and following major refurbishment, the buildings have been transformed into an ideal modern venue for Conferences, Training Events, Seminars, School, College and Youth Trips, Church Weekends, Holidays, Individual Breaks, Group Outings... and much more!

Picture of Sneaton Castle Centre, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sneaton Castle Centre
We really enjoyed our stay. Accommodation we had gave us some privacy from the children. Very clean and serene atmosphere. Felt rural though not far from Whitby centre. Staff are helpful and friendly. Will be happy to return next year.

Reviewed by
C Hatton

From Shildon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Immaculate room, good value family accommodation
Booked last minute but wow what a find. The location is a little out of Whitby but if weather was good would of been a lovely walk into the town but taxi very reasonable. The family room was very spacious and extremely clean with tea and coffee making facilities with a lovely view over the castle grounds. The reception staff were very friendly when Checking in and the same at breakfast the next morning couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was very good, you could tell produce used was good quality. Lovely place to stay with children, clean, comfortable and very good value for money, in this idyllic location on the outskirts of Whitby.

Reviewed by
Paul P

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sneaton Castle Centre, Whitby's hidden gem.
Never have the wife and I felt so privileged to have stayed anywhere than at the Sneaton centre.
It is so clean, serene and peaceful from the moment you drive in and up the drive, both at the centre and in our room (F3 that looked newly refurbished) that; although we came as a last minute booking for just 2 days B&B we are now already looking at booking a week there sometime later on.
The views are stunning from the centre a true place to relax and recharge.
On the down side (not the fault of the centre) if you leave the car there as parking at Whitby is at a premium be prepared for the local bus and the new park and ride services to Whitby to shut down around 6pm, not good to say this is the summer season.
And there is no pub diner in walking distance of the centre if you return early.
On the plus side local taxi each way into Whitby is just £5.
The staff were all exceptionally friendly and efficient everything and everyone worked to make this Whitby's hidden gem; long may it continue.
See you soon.

Reviewed by
J Stuart

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting
Sneaton Castle is a stunning building, set in equally stunning grounds. Although the overnight accommodation isn't based in the castle itself it equally has stunning views. The accommodation was spotless & very spacious, very high standard. The staff were polite, extremely helpful & welcoming. The food was plentiful & excellant. Would recommend this to anybody visiting Whitby or North Yorkshire. We will be back.

Reviewed by
Kelly Hilton

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay
Stayed here for one night with my husband & 2 year old, the staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room was very spacious and the breakfast was delicious and all in beautiful surroundings - we will definitely stay again if we are ever in the area.

Reviewed by
helen d

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No CCTV
Wouldn't recommend parking inside the castle car park as my car was seriously vandalised several dints plus a smashed windscreen phoned the police but was told it was pointless to come out as they don't have CCTV !!!!!!! It was also suggested by the duty manager that I arrived with the damage already done my car is a mobility car and is regularly checked I wrote a letter to them and was basically told there is a sign saying they hold no responsibility for cars parked in their grounds basically tough luck avoid this car park

Reviewed by
Julie Smith

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely surroundings with clean accommodation that is close enough to Whitby to enjoy the town but far away enough to enjoy the peace and quiet, breakfast was lovely and the staff were really friendly, because the rooms were outside of the main building it felt as if you were self catering without the need to disturb anyone but the staff were always there should you need something, thoroughly enjoyed the stay, brings b&b to the next level.

Reviewed by
jason s

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
good sized rooms, very clean and well furnished. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely surroundings and easy access to Whitby and surrounding attractions.

Reviewed by
alan bainbridge

From Berkeley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sneeton Castle
Had to change rooms as first room was below a family room. The noise from above was unbearable. Luckily there was another room available which was smaller but without the noise. Also it stated that the hotel was one mile from the town centre, but in reality was too far and had to taxi in and out.

Reviewed by
Darren Foster

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This castle is set in beautiful, well kept grounds. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and warm. Couldn't ask for more.

Reviewed by
S Holmes

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next