No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Columba Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
7 Ness Walk , Inverness, IV3 5NF
The Columba Hotel, originally built in 1881, is positioned in the heart of Inverness with enviable views over the River Ness and up to Inverness Castle.

The Columba provides a splendid hotel in Inverness from which to explore and guests can now enjoy modern comforts coupled with the style and tradition expected from our Victorian heritage.

We are delighted to offer guests staying at the Columba Hotel, the Victoria Restaurant, ideal for any dining occasion. The Victoria features a seasonal menu, using locally sourced produce. For a more casual meal, then choose Macnab’s Bar Bistro which is located at the front of the hotel overlooking the River Ness.

Located in the heart of Inverness, you will be well positioned to discover the many things to do without having to travel to far from the Columba Hotel. Along the River Ness you will discover the Inverness Museum and Art Gallery, celebrating all that is Invernessian. We are also in walking distance to the town centre, train station and Eden Court theatre.

Our Hotel makes the perfect setting for your visit to Inverness.
Picture of Columba Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Inverness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Columba Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel
Only problem was the noise of the oil heating woke me at 4 o'clock in the morning.

Reviewed by
d macleod

From Dornoch, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A chilly night!
We were up on the 3rd floor which is in need of modernisation. The windows in our room were rotten and very draughty and above the bed the wallpaper was coming away from the ceiling with a big damp patch.
The bathroom looked like it had been recently fitted and it was lovely, spotless and looked brand new. However it was so cold in there from the draughty window that we had to jump from the bedroom carpet to the bath mat to avoid walking on the freezing tiles! I went to the bathroom in the night and it was like walking into a freezer!
The staff were very friendly and lent me some items I needed, also came up to our room to replace some drinks we were given in error.
The carpets in the hall and general decor needs a good clean/scrub or redone but in all we paid £45 for a night so we weren't expecting the Ritz! Didn't expect to be so cold though but I think it was just the floor we were on as the rest of the hotel looked like it has already been rennovated.

Reviewed by
Heather M

From Tain, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Columba Hotel. Inverness
A good value stay in a comfortable singe room with super bathroom that had been refurbished. Tiles on bathroom floor looked good but on a January night a bit cold! And the bathroom window was stark and could do with a roller blind to help keep cold air at bay especially in Jan.

Reviewed by
A Brownlee

From Invergordon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in a great riverside location
This was a lovely hotel in a great location right by the river and overlooking the castle. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast, the staff there were so helpful and got us everything we wanted. The only downside was no onsite parking, but there was public parking nearby so not too much of a problem.

Reviewed by
Rhiannon M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking Room
Stayed here just after new year with the girlfriend. Room was perfect for what we were after, big, clean and warm. Hotel is well located beside the river and a stones throw from some cracking places to eat. Only downside was parking was a bit of a walk away with the bags.

Reviewed by
P MacNeil

From Isle of Barra, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic view from the room unfortunately it ended there!!
Great location and a great view of the castle and Ness River, however the hotel in general is in great need of some TLC. Breakfast was a disaster. Who has a buffet cooked breakfast these days and we had it at 8am on a Sunday. I would hate to have it 2 hours later. Cold and chewy is doing it an injustice. We had paid for breakfast for Monday but we had to go into town for it unfortunately. It was also very loud in our room. We got awoken with people coming in at 3am then again at 6am when someone was showering and again at 7am when our neighbours put the TV on. Not what we expecting unfortunately....

Reviewed by
Jason Brockie

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very disappointed
The room was small and medium quality, the view in a dirty and untidy back road, the bathroom poor quality and old, very old for being a 4* hotel, the toilet was discoloured.
We arrived on Christmas day, at about 4pm, we wanted a tea and a scone..... we went to the bar and the waitress told us that the restaurant was reserved for the Christmas dinner of some guests and that they could not offer nothing to us....at Christmas day? when everywhere else is closed? Which kind of service is this?
In Inverness were open only Chinese and Indian restaurants....no bar.....no cafe....nothing!
Really disappointed also with the breakfast, the fried eggs were solid....like plastic....we had just some cereals and beans on toast....and we are people that normally do not complain and we eat what it is offered

Reviewed by
X BRAGAGLIA

From Crieff, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold, Cold, Cold
Although rooms had heaters fitted they were not good enough to heat rooms. We were informed by desk that not additional heaters were available.
We had stayed in this hotel before and had the same problem with cold but were given heaters to use.

Reviewed by
William Lindsay

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Columba Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel
Bedrooms and upper floors a little tired could do with a makeover.

Reviewed by
WILLIAM DOUGLAS

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely staff cold room
reception area pleasant The staff lovely and very helpful.The room that we were given was cold and the electric heater was insufficient in heating the room.The room decor in need of updating as dark and dingy looking I was glad that i was only staying one night.

Reviewed by
c stevenson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next