No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Columba Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
7 Ness Walk , Inverness, IV3 5NF
The Columba Hotel, originally built in 1881, is positioned in the heart of Inverness with enviable views over the River Ness and up to Inverness Castle.

The Columba provides a splendid hotel in Inverness from which to explore and guests can now enjoy modern comforts coupled with the style and tradition expected from our Victorian heritage.

We are delighted to offer guests staying at the Columba Hotel, the Victoria Restaurant, ideal for any dining occasion. The Victoria features a seasonal menu, using locally sourced produce. For a more casual meal, then choose Macnab’s Bar Bistro which is located at the front of the hotel overlooking the River Ness.

Located in the heart of Inverness, you will be well positioned to discover the many things to do without having to travel to far from the Columba Hotel. Along the River Ness you will discover the Inverness Museum and Art Gallery, celebrating all that is Invernessian. We are also in walking distance to the town centre, train station and Eden Court theatre.

Our Hotel makes the perfect setting for your visit to Inverness.
Picture of Columba Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Inverness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attic room was stuffy & we were unable to open a window more than an inch or two.Views only of only
Stayed with my elderly Mother & the room was at the top of the hotel Beds were clean & comfortable & shower was in the bath which is difficult for an 84 year old .Just less than £150 with breakfast was a bit overpriced for what we had

Reviewed by
L Pearson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been better
Not a 4 star but convenient location room adequate but pretty tired,

Reviewed by
John R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff very polite, accommodation could do with a refresh but was very clean. Found the breakfast bland and dried which can unfortunately happen with self serve buffets though to give the hotel due I dare say if I had the time they would have cooked fresh if I would have highlighted it to them.

Reviewed by
N Cameron

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel room was vastly over priced. £70 would be nearer the mark for this accommodation.

Reviewed by
STUART S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

thankyou for a Later and saving booking
De where very happy to get a doom arter carhire Trifty stod us of breaking a contract saying they should deliver a var in the airport, and didnt.
After 2 tours of dealing de had to find accomodation for the right and de where very happy chat you game to our rescue - thankyou

Reviewed by
j christensen

From 9310 Vodskov, Denmark
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a restful steep
The first thing I noticed was the bed was very squeaky to the extent that every time l moved it woke me up.
About an hour after I fell asleep a loud repeating noise was coming through the wall, I'm not sure what it was but sounded like a fog horn or a washing machine being switched on and off which lasted about 10 minutes. It took me along time to get back to sleep.
Doubt I would book this hotel again.

Reviewed by
K Silver

From Stonehaven, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good all round. Excellent breakfast. They have roll top baths though which I liked but not always easy for older people to use the shower that is within them.

Reviewed by
Laura M

From Aberdeen, Scotland
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Columba or not Columba
We didn't get to stay at the Columba as we had been double booked, thankfully though we were accommodated at the sister hotel next door The Palace, which turned out to be a fantastic hotel great service beautiful room and fantastic staff.

Reviewed by
Henry G

From Insch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

executive room quality
when we booked this accommodation we understood we were booking an excecutive room ,which on your website described as more spacious with couch as seating,i am afraid it was anything but an excecutive room,we complained to reception and were told this was their example of excecutive room,but on leaving hotel in the morning we saw room next door was more modern,and spacious(bigger window for river view and couch for better seating) than the room we had been allocated
we paid bill but were really unhappy,wasnt worth the money

Reviewed by
C Leonard

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Tired Establishment under Renovation
What a lovely building and a super location. However despite it being a building full of character from another time, the establishment of fire barriers, location of lift - have made the building awkward to navigate with a suitcase.Unfortunately the smell of paint and tired feel of other areas; a shower fluctuating from scalding to freezing as well as noisy water systems adjacent to our room was disappointing and certainly not the romantic Scottish experience i had hoped to share with my new partner.
Had we known of the renovations we would not have booked - sadly overpriced for what we experienced. Hopefully this will not be the case for future visitors as the receptionist was profusely apologetic about the shower.

Reviewed by
C Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next