You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Friars Carse Country House Hotel

3

Auldgirth, Dumfries, DG2 0SA

Price From 109.72 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Robert K

  • May 2016

Fairly disappointed

On arrival it took a few minutes for the recption to acknowledge us as they were busy talking among themselves.

Not a very warm welcome. The hotel needs some work as it is looking tired. We had Redwood room. It was large with a nice four poster bed and good en-suite but missed the finishing touches considering it was a so called honeymoon suite. We had a meal in the restaurant on the first night. The staff in the restaurant were less friendly than reception!. We were originally booked in for three nights but cancelled the last night. Would not stay there again.

  • brian g

  • January 2016

Lost a couple of points on the food front.

Pizza had none of the ingredients advertised and the breakfast toast one day was just too hard. Apart from that a very comfortable stay.

  • Kim W

  • September 2015

Friars carse

Beautiful surroundings, lovely walks, friendly staff.

Everything was great. only thing it was looking a little bit tired but that doesn't bother me as it's an old house .

  • Sharon C

  • April 2015

Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Lovely relaxing overnight stay.

Thoroughly enjoyable dinner. Radio 1 at breakfast time in dining room dreadful and we were younger than most other guests!

  • stephen b

  • January 2015

December stay

The hotel was in very nice grounds where you can walk along the riverside, the room was a decent size and clean and the staff were very friendly.

The Saturday night (we stayed Friday and Saturday) was apparently fully booked but it was extremely quiet and we were the only people about in the bar and hall areas at 10.30, with seemingly no one else up and about. We only had the breakfast and no other meals but that was fine and the staff helpful

  • Marion M

  • December 2014

Worth a visit

Our first impression of the hotel was excellent, and the reception staff gave a very warm welcome.

The rooms allocated were lovely and the bathroom adequate. There is not a lot of choice on the evening meal, but what there is is cooked to order and delicious. Very reasonably priced too. Think they are quite short staffed on the breakfast rota, as both mornings we had an issue, but would not let that put us off going back. Think we paid a bit over the odds though, as we could have got more for our dish through another site which is annoying.

  • J mccombe

  • November 2014

room disappointed

Room full of flys had to get it sprayed which smelled the room all night bathroom was great just coverd in flys feel they should have check the room out beforehand fill the bath and again water full of dead flys very disappointed and no apology also felt very rushed out hotel 11 am check out they phoned at 1030 to remind us it was a 11

  • m McNulty

  • September 2014

What a beautiful building and fantastic setting..but I feel it will fall into disrepair.

This hotel could do with a bit of paint and decor.So if your looking for luxury you wont find it here.Rooms are very dated and furniture on its last legs.

  • J Stewart

  • September 2014

pleasant stay

Felt this was a pleasant hotel giving value for money.

Lovely setting.

  • Chris H

  • August 2014

Good hotel, good food, good staff, nice grounds

Good hotel with very helpful, welcoming and efficient staff.

Very nice food.