No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Friars Carse Country House Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Auldgirth , Dumfries, DG2 0SA
Set in a 45 acre estate including woodland, The Friars Carse Country House Hotel is located only 7 miles from Dumfries town centre, yet
enjoys a tranquil rural location. Situated on the banks of the River Nith, the hotel boasts stunning views of the Dumfries & Galloway Countryside and the hotel's Private Salmon & Sea Trout River. All 21 en suite bedrooms have tea/coffee making facilities and TV, some with Free WiFi Internet access.

The hotel's recently refurbished Holiday Cottage Accommodation is also available, situated within the hotel grounds. All Hotel Facilities are
available to Self Catering Guests.

The Friars Carse Hotel is popular for Short Breaks, Golfing Holidays and Business Trip Accommodation.

Accessible for Dumfries | Gretna Green | Edinburgh | Glasgow
Picture of Friars Carse Country House Hotel, Dumfries at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a visit
Our first impression of the hotel was excellent, and the reception staff gave a very warm welcome. The rooms allocated were lovely and the bathroom adequate. There is not a lot of choice on the evening meal, but what there is is cooked to order and delicious. Very reasonably priced too. Think they are quite short staffed on the breakfast rota, as both mornings we had an issue, but would not let that put us off going back. Think we paid a bit over the odds though, as we could have got more for our dish through another site which is annoying.

Reviewed by
Marion M

From Dumbarton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room disappointed
Room full of flys had to get it sprayed which smelled the room all night bathroom was great just coverd in flys feel they should have check the room out beforehand fill the bath and again water full of dead flys very disappointed and no apology also felt very rushed out hotel 11 am check out they phoned at 1030 to remind us it was a 11

Reviewed by
J mccombe

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a beautiful building and fantastic setting..but I feel it will fall into disrepair.
This hotel could do with a bit of paint and decor.So if your looking for luxury you wont find it here.Rooms are very dated and furniture on its last legs.

Reviewed by
m McNulty

From Strabane, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, good food, good staff, nice grounds
Good hotel with very helpful, welcoming and efficient staff. Very nice food.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful experience
Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in July 2014. Booked the Bridal Suite to get 4 poster bed & Jacuzzi tub. The tub was for 2 people but was about 4 to 5' wide inside the tub. Beautiful room. WiFi not good but that was our experience all over Scotland except near Edinburgh. Restaurant was to fancy for us for dinner but breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
G Murray

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in beautiful setting
Lovely,impressive hotel .Our room could have been bigger but otherwise we had a wonderful stay.we used the 2 nite stay to make final arrangements for our forthcoming wedding and indeed we have booked a future nite there the day before our ceremony.
Food was lovely and we thought the room price was good value for the quality of hotel.

Reviewed by
D Barker

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a great experience using laterooms.com
I liked the grounds and the hotel room was very clean.

Reviewed by
Kerry E

From Loanhead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun at the Friars
Great setting-very peaceful

Reviewed by
Paul Campbell

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So relaxing!
We checked into the hotel and told the girl we would not return until after 9pm as we were attending a local concert. She told us they stopped serving food at 830 but would arrange for sandwiches to be put by. This was a lovely gesture and was really appreciated. The hotel itself is lovely and set in beauiful gardens. In the morning we sat next to the water after taking a short stroll while enjoying the sunshine. The breakfast was first class and the service could not have been better. We will be returning soon.

Reviewed by
Sharon K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
Felt this was a pleasant hotel giving value for money. Lovely setting.

Reviewed by
J Stewart

From bathgate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next