No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Friars Carse Country House Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Auldgirth , Dumfries, DG2 0SA
Set in a 45 acre estate including woodland, The Friars Carse Country House Hotel is located only 7 miles from Dumfries town centre, yet
enjoys a tranquil rural location. Situated on the banks of the River Nith, the hotel boasts stunning views of the Dumfries & Galloway Countryside and the hotel's Private Salmon & Sea Trout River. All 21 en suite bedrooms have tea/coffee making facilities and TV, some with Free WiFi Internet access.

The hotel's recently refurbished Holiday Cottage Accommodation is also available, situated within the hotel grounds. All Hotel Facilities are
available to Self Catering Guests.

The Friars Carse Hotel is popular for Short Breaks, Golfing Holidays and Business Trip Accommodation.

Accessible for Dumfries | Gretna Green | Edinburgh | Glasgow
Picture of Friars Carse Country House Hotel, Dumfries at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, good food, good staff, nice grounds
Good hotel with very helpful, welcoming and efficient staff. Very nice food.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful experience
Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in July 2014. Booked the Bridal Suite to get 4 poster bed & Jacuzzi tub. The tub was for 2 people but was about 4 to 5' wide inside the tub. Beautiful room. WiFi not good but that was our experience all over Scotland except near Edinburgh. Restaurant was to fancy for us for dinner but breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
G Murray

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in beautiful setting
Lovely,impressive hotel .Our room could have been bigger but otherwise we had a wonderful stay.we used the 2 nite stay to make final arrangements for our forthcoming wedding and indeed we have booked a future nite there the day before our ceremony.
Food was lovely and we thought the room price was good value for the quality of hotel.

Reviewed by
D Barker

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a great experience using laterooms.com
I liked the grounds and the hotel room was very clean.

Reviewed by
Kerry E

From Loanhead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun at the Friars
Great setting-very peaceful

Reviewed by
Paul Campbell

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So relaxing!
We checked into the hotel and told the girl we would not return until after 9pm as we were attending a local concert. She told us they stopped serving food at 830 but would arrange for sandwiches to be put by. This was a lovely gesture and was really appreciated. The hotel itself is lovely and set in beauiful gardens. In the morning we sat next to the water after taking a short stroll while enjoying the sunshine. The breakfast was first class and the service could not have been better. We will be returning soon.

Reviewed by
Sharon K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
Felt this was a pleasant hotel giving value for money. Lovely setting.

Reviewed by
J Stewart

From bathgate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Only stayed for one day but will be returning without a doubt...a fantastic hotel in a pleasant staff. Food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Mark Watson

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb location. Great food. Excellent stay.
Couldn't ask for more.

Reviewed by
GRAHAM H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing retreat
A stunning property in stunning grounds. The staff are most charming and go the extra mile to ensure your stay is as relaxing as can be. Room although somewhat tired and basic was comfortable, although certain aspects would benefit from maintenance and dusting. I must add however that I would not think twice about staying here again, in fact I am currently planning a return visit! I have already recommended this beautiful escape to friends.

Reviewed by
Stuart Raeburn

From Ardrossan, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next