No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
, Peebles, EH45 8NE
Looking for a modern hotel in timeless natural surroundings? The 4 star deluxe Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, Peebles near Edinburgh enjoys a unique setting in the beautiful Tweed Valley with exceptional views of dramatic countryside. The hotel is situated in Cardrona, Peebles only 30 minutes from Edinburgh International Airport, 40 minutes from Edinburgh City centre and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England. Macdonald Cardrona is the perfect venue for both business and pleasure.

With luxuriously appointed bedrooms throughout, Macdonald Cardrona Hotel,Golf & Spa offers its guests a comprehensive range of services and facilities including an award-winning AA Rosette restaurant, challenging 18 hole golf course, Vital spa and health club, outdoor activities area and its own fishing beat on the famous river Tweed.

Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, Peebles at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful relaxing stay

Reviewed by
paul l

From elgin, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

satisfied and planning retun visit

Reviewed by
J Quinn

From WHIXLEY, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Stayed for 2 nights for a relaxing break and had beauty treatments.
Lovely setting, very friendly staff.
Room looked out onto golf course which was lovely.

Reviewed by
tina t

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs some upgrading
Room when built of 4star type, but marks on carpet and frayed fabric on settee. Obviously little investment recently & badly needed to reinstate 4star appearance.
Breakfast a disaster. Terribly slow. More than 5 minutes after being shown to table before came back to take order. Waited a long time for hot breakfast, then it was delivered to wrong guests (who spoke little English) so said nothing. When staff realised our order had been wrongly delivered, did apologise, but had even longer wait for food. In mentime asked for more tea & toast whilst waiting - never came. Had to ask again. Would have been better if they had a breakfast buffet.
Was visiting local friends & having a game of golf at hotel, so would only stay again if going to see them, but would try other hotels in area first unless knew it had been upgraded.

Reviewed by
w r a

From Wylam, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the good and the bad
On arriving at the hotel which we chose as it's a spa hotel we went to book some treatments only to be told that the 3 days we were there there was only 2 half hr spaces available and 3 hrs apart fair to say I was very disappointed and wasn't once told I should book in advance. Room was nice staff very good breakfast on our 1st morning was excellent food service selection couldn't be faulted, unfortunately on our 2nd night there was a problem with the fire alarm we were all evacuated at 2:10 am after close to an hr we were all back in our rooms only for the faulty alarm to go of another 14 times, breakfast the 2nd morning as disappointing items missing we ordered and had to ask for food not cooked right eggs over done bacon under done no pastries left very different from 1st morning on checking out we were refunded for our night the fire alarm was faulty staff were very nice and apologetic treatments at the spa in my opinion were over priced but the 2 treatments I had were very nice therapists were lovely girls

Reviewed by
Dawn F

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing werkend away
Room was clean, comfortable and spacious with two big armchairs to relax in. Some of the cushions and upholstery were a little tired but overall a nice, quiet room with a lovely view.Breakfast was great as was the cream tea.We didn't eat in the restaurant instead chosing to go into Peebles where there is a good selection of eateries.Staff were very attentive and helpful.

Reviewed by
Leigh E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

40th birthday bash
11 family members of age range 3-66 had a very enjoyable and relaxed stay at Cardrona . The children were treated with great kindness and loved the pool. And the men really enjoyed their golf. We certainly would go again for son number twi's 49 th.

Reviewed by
C Archibald

From Kelty, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Low qualtiy room
The family room consisted of a double bed and a very used and worn folder down sofa which was exceptionally uncomfortable. The carpet was worn and stained and the room lacked any personality at all, it very much felt like a hotel chain basic room.

Reviewed by
julie m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice rooms but simple and very over priced food and when full, there's nowhere to sit!
Main gripe here was that they obviously discount rooms to try and get a full hotel but this then means there's nowhere to sit in the public areas. Folk were eating in the lobby! After failing to find anywhere, I had to opt to eat in my room, for which they charge an extra £5 tray charge. No appologies. Simple bar food and very over-priced. Breakfast serving staff also seemed to think you'd got all day to wait to take your order.
This is a purpose built hotel to a budget and it's starting to look a bit shabby in places too. If you like golf maybe it's a different experience?
Had not dissimilar experiences at all other Macdonald hotels and every time I hope the next one is going to be better. Last time for me!

Reviewed by
Philip W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely wonderful
Although we arrived a little later than planned, we still managed to have a really good experience at this hotel, nothing was too much trouble, staff extremely friendly especially Leigh, she was brilliant with us. Very comfortable, spacious room, facilities excellent, will definitely be back, location is excellent for exploring the Scottish Borders, food brilliant

Reviewed by
Hazel Barratt

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next