No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
, Peebles, EH45 8NE
Looking for a modern hotel in timeless natural surroundings? The 4 star deluxe Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, Peebles near Edinburgh enjoys a unique setting in the beautiful Tweed Valley with exceptional views of dramatic countryside. The hotel is situated in Cardrona, Peebles only 30 minutes from Edinburgh International Airport, 40 minutes from Edinburgh City centre and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England. Macdonald Cardrona is the perfect venue for both business and pleasure.

With luxuriously appointed bedrooms throughout, Macdonald Cardrona Hotel,Golf & Spa offers its guests a comprehensive range of services and facilities including an award-winning AA Rosette restaurant, challenging 18 hole golf course, Vital spa and health club, outdoor activities area and its own fishing beat on the famous river Tweed.

Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, Peebles at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation surrounded by beautiful countryside helpful courteous staff and good food
Will be visiting this hotel again

Reviewed by
J Donnelly

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded our expectations
The hotel accommodation is excellent and the location is beautiful, we'll worth a visit. Only one minor issue is the lack of seating in the bar area, we visited during a busy period and the few seats that are available were reserved by families that appeared to be keen not to share and were camped in for the long haul.

Reviewed by
Barry H

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst Customer Service made for a very unhappy stay
The hotel was very nice & the surroundings were beautiful. The service was very bad. The girl that checked us in had an unpleasant attitude when asked why we had to offer a credit card, all I wanted was an explanation as I had pre-paid the room. I believe it is courteous to ask if we've stayed before. She didn't! She gave us absolutely no details on where we could eat & when. We then went to have a sandwich in the bar, I asked for no salad, when it came the barmans exact words were "He's put a little lettuce on it but that's ok eh?" and then walked off! He then did not come back to ask if our food was ok (as I seen him do with other guests over the 2 days we were there) Before our sandwiches came, we asked if we could book in for dinner. We were told no, abruptly, it was fully booked. We ended up only being in the hotel to shower & sleep which I did not pay over £200 for. We ended up eating & drinking out so the hotel lost out on well over £300 due to this.
What was not stated was that this is a dog friendly hotel. My husband is allergic to dogs. It wouldn't even be as bad if they just sat at their owners feet but there were dogs running about, jumping on furniture and barking. This was all in the 'cocktail bar' where you could also eat.
What I will say is that the village of Peebles is brilliant. Some of the friendliest people I have come across & we would stay in Peebles again but definitely not at the Cardrona.

Reviewed by
K Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel is in beutiful setting, the rooms are well equipped and modern and are well maintained, breakfast was excellent, price of evening meals and moreso drinks was too high. Service very poite and helpful. Sporting facilities excellent although fishing is over priced. Thouroughly enjoyed stay and autumn offer was good value

Reviewed by
i bateson

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great last minute stay. Staff very pleasent and helpful.

Reviewed by
Seonaidh O'Donnell

From Cumnock, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed our stay the hotel is very good with super views from the room. the only thing that spoiled our stay was we went downstairs to have a coffee and the boy behind the bar said that I had to go back upstairs to get the coffee. I am using a stick at the moment he could have phoned for someone to bring me my coffee.

Reviewed by
Margaret Wallace

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
A very clean, comfortable and friendly hotel with good leisure facilities. We will be back and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
S Cook

From St Andrews, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfully comfortable bed, clean and tidy room

Reviewed by
sarah m

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful location

Reviewed by
Graham E

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful relaxing stay

Reviewed by
paul l

From elgin, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next