You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Old Waverley Hotel

3

43 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2BY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (165)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • G Richards

  • June 2016

Central Edinburgh Hotel

As one would expect of a large impersonal organisation.

  • J Charlton

  • May 2016

won't stay again

For the price, the accommodation was ok.

Room was warm and clean, bathroom spotless. Excellent view from 5th floor. Decorated pleasantly. Central position, good breakfast. Reception staff a bit off hand. Akward entryway through two very heavy glass doors and up a flight of stairs.

  • T Cunningham

  • March 2016

Quaint lovely old hotel in the heart of the city

We enjoyed our stay, the service was good, the room adequate and the place was just right.

The only down side was its single glazed windows and it was a bit noisy with young folk walking along Princess Street at 2am making a racket and the city comes alive around 7am onwards. The hotel needs double glazing, sound proofing.

  • Margaret W

  • March 2016

Long weekend away

We had a very enjoyable stay,hotel is ideally placed so that it's easy to get to all major attractions and not too far to walk to train station.

  • Ian C

  • March 2016

Great value for money for such a central location

Quiet, well appointed twin room.

Plenty of hot water coming out the shower head (which seems rare in older hotels). Cracking Scottish breakfast with all the trimmings. Efficient reception staff. I would stay here again.

  • simon c

  • March 2016

Super city break

Good location and value for money in the heart of Edinburgh.

I booked a last minute trip and as usual late rooms made the entire process effortless!

  • Andrew C

  • March 2016

Nice Hotel in centre of Edinburgh

A great spot, close to centre of everything you would want to do in Edinburgh.

Nice rooms and good breakfast.

  • Catherine M

  • February 2016

Old Waverley Hotel

Very convenient location, helpful staff, great view.

No wardrobe or proper hanging space, rail above bedside lamp, which didn't feel very safe or a good option for my clothes!

  • Eileen H

  • February 2016

Amazing view nice room but !

Room was nice view was outstanding , bathroom freezing and only heated with small towel rail , had to wait for lift to access room for long period as it was constantly used by staff .

Returned to hotel to have drink in bar service very poor despite plenty of staff behind reception . Bfast awful delivered to room as requested no butter condiments tea cups milk in glasses to use for tea no sugar side plates or cups food dried up and frozen on arrival toast cold and uncooked reception attempted to justify bfast quality even after being shown photographs . Would not recommend eating or drinking in hotel . Stairs to reception and check in no lift or staff to help despite bell to call for staff it's ignored !

  • David S

  • February 2016

Traditional Charm

A charming Victorian property bang in the centre on Princes Street.

We had a front aspect room facing Princes Street and the gardens. Terrific views. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. Modern tiled bathroo, spic and span. Nice large bed and traditional decor (as it should be in a Victorian property)

The reception staff were welcoming, the Scottish breakfast was self serve and fine. Some reviewers moaning about older properties on here, go to Travelodge then.