No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
12-16 South Learmonth Gardens , Edinburgh, EH4 1EZ
Channings Hotel is doubtlessly one of the friendliest hotels in Britain. Boasting the rare charm of allowing the comforts and atmosphere of a country house, but in a decidedly urban setting.

Overlooking spectacular private gardens and nestled on a quiet, cobbled street – the residence compromises 5 Edwardian houses sympathetically restored to provide a relaxed, club-like atmosphere.

During your stay you will be accommodated in one of our 41 individually decorated bedrooms, which include three suites and a four-poster bedroom. Guest are given the wonderfully indulgent option of choosing a rooms with a slipper roll top bath, or Jacuzzi. For a truly romantic stay why not spoil yourself in a luxurious four-poster bed and bath in an oval bath designed for two, with a decor consisting of antique furniture and prints, in deep rich colour.

Foodies will be delighted to discover the fabulous Channings Restaurant – serving award-winning food in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere.

The hotel reserves the right to pre authorise the credit card used to guarantee the reservation 24 hours prior to arrival.
Picture of Channings, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh 2014
Good clean hotel within easy distant of City Centre. Helpful and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Rachael H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast was a bit disappointing scrambled egg wasn't well scrambled

Reviewed by
Fiona N

From Nairn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
I travel with work most of the week, and go to Scotland often.
Everything about this hotel is Brilliant. Room, food, staff, location all great.

Reviewed by
M Parr

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first trip to edinburgh
the channing hotel was chosen due to close proximity of the western general hospital.
as it was a stressful time for myself it was important to feel safe, comfortable and relaxed in a good hotel. the channing certainly provided that for myself and my husband and we returned the following week with a happy heart knowing that we had made the correct choice. many thanks we will return!

Reviewed by
sylvia crawshaw

From kelso, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quiet hotel
Had a last minute 1 night away here with my partner. It's a lovely quiet hotel, staff very friendly and excellent value for money. Within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in the centre.
One thing that would have made the room better would be to have curtains as the blinds let light in around edges, also the blind pulley kept breaking...only a minor niggle though.

Reviewed by
E Penman

From Maybole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable bed and nice room with quality furnishings.

Reviewed by
S Macaskill

From Killin, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couples retreat
Great little hotel, very spacious rooms with great bathroom! Ideal location seems to be 5 mins from everywhere you need to go.

Reviewed by
Gavin Clegg

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely quiet spot but 10 mins walk from Princes Street. A rabbit warren of staircases and rooms in several joined townhouses. My room was not big or plush but very comfortable and perfect for my needs.

Reviewed by
John L

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mid week breakaway
Great place tpp stay. Parking would have made it excellent but good advise where to park was good and not too far to walk in the morning. All staff helpful and friendly. Would go back again and would recommend.

Reviewed by
R P

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I booked this boutique hotel only one hour before we drove up to the dot of the hotel. I read all the reviews and we were very pleased with the hotel in every way. We were able to park outside the hotel ( although we had to pay and so if I was driving and staying for more than 24 hrs it could be tricky) the food was excellent I recommend the fish pie the service excellent and the ambience perfect!

Reviewed by
Lizzy P

From Glastonbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next