No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
12-16 South Learmonth Gardens , Edinburgh, EH4 1EZ
Channings Hotel is doubtlessly one of the friendliest hotels in Britain. Boasting the rare charm of allowing the comforts and atmosphere of a country house, but in a decidedly urban setting.

Overlooking spectacular private gardens and nestled on a quiet, cobbled street – the residence compromises 5 Edwardian houses sympathetically restored to provide a relaxed, club-like atmosphere.

During your stay you will be accommodated in one of our 41 individually decorated bedrooms, which include three suites and a four-poster bedroom. Guest are given the wonderfully indulgent option of choosing a rooms with a slipper roll top bath, or Jacuzzi. For a truly romantic stay why not spoil yourself in a luxurious four-poster bed and bath in an oval bath designed for two, with a decor consisting of antique furniture and prints, in deep rich colour.

Foodies will be delighted to discover the fabulous Channings Restaurant – serving award-winning food in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere.

The hotel reserves the right to pre authorise the credit card used to guarantee the reservation 24 hours prior to arrival.
Picture of Channings, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business trip ideal ovenight venue
very good accomodation and excellent service in restaurant at breakfast time

Reviewed by
linda g

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Great room very spacious had everything that we needed. The Australian man on reception was very knowledgeable about the area and very help full. My wife is vegetarian and there was plenty of variety for her at breakfast a problem we always incur.

Reviewed by
s chabba

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shackletons Pad
A comfortable stay with friendly staff and great food. I'd recommend taking a standard room over a small for a little extra comfort.

Reviewed by
Brendan B

From Oban, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel
A very nice private hotel, clean, comfortable the only problem was I was only booked for one night, I will be staying again, Thank you Channings.

Reviewed by
m lister

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable, traditional hotel. good sized bedroom with super view. Breakfast was excellent, overall my stay at Channings was very good value

Reviewed by
D Wood

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
Stayed here overnight while visiting theatre. No problems dropping luggage early and checking in late. Room was clean and very warm. Spacious bathroom with toiletries provided. Very enjoyable breakfast and staff all friendly and accommodating.

Reviewed by
J Dickson

From Tranent, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canny at Channings
We stayed overnight at this charming hotel. Our room was extremely large with a lovely bay window overlooking the city. The bed was also very big and comfortable. The room provided everything you'd need except no hot chocolate satchets in the complimentary drinks tray. The shower was very powerful making it quick and easy to shower. The male receptionist on arrival was very polite, friendly and professional can't remember his name but he was Irish and the female when we were leaving was also very polite, friendly and professional. Would certainly recommend this hotel especially when we got it at such a good rate.

Reviewed by
E Bunn

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved our stay here. very spacious, quiet room. staff very helpful. only downside was we were only staying for one night. will be back

Reviewed by
m robertson

From Mauchline, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quaint little hotel
The staff were excellent from the time we walked in. They were very accommodating and informed. The hotel was quaint and quirky but the rooms could be modernized a little bit more and kept a bit a more tidy as it lacked that fresh look!

Reviewed by
Fayaz M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
Very happy with that hidden stylish Edinburgh treasure.

Reviewed by
K K

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next