No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Argyll Square , Oban, PA34 4BE
The Royal Hotel stands in the center of town close to the harbour and ferry terminal. It's central position makes it ideal for visiting the West Coast of Scotland as well as the Islands of Mull and Iona. Built in 1895 the 3 Star AA awarded hotel offers traditional Scottish hospitality within quality modern surroundings. A small car park is located to the rear of the hotel and has limited non guaranteed space. Public parking both chargeable & free available nearby.

Our lounge and ceilidh bar have been refurbished to a high standard and we also now have FREE Wifi access in all public areas. All 91 comfortable bedrooms have private bathroom and all have colour television, direct dial telephone, hospitality tray, hairdryers and central heating.

Our Restaurant offers a fine selection of fresh Scottish produce complimented by an interesting range of wines. Situated on the first floor the Restaurant overlooks the Town Square. Bar meals now available 12.00pm until 8.00pm. Relax over a pre dinner drink, coffee or sample a wee dram from our fine selection of Scottish Malt Whiskeys. Evening entertainment is a regular feature including the famous Scottish Show with "Torquil the Piper"

Picture of Royal Hotel, Oban at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 95 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location and relaxed atmosphere
Lovely stay with an excellent buffet breakfast.

Reviewed by
Caroline c

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would return again
Booked a room for 2 nights as we were visiting family in Oban.Friendly staff and a comfortable room awaited us.Breakfast (self service) was fantastic and the staff quick to bring tea and coffee to the table.
After coming in later at night we had a nightcap in the bar,staff again were found to be very helpful and polite.I will return again as i found the hotel great value and the staff friendly.

Reviewed by
D McCracken

From Maybole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very tired looking hotel cant use the lift in the morning as the staff hold on tow it

Reviewed by
edward hare

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Nice hotel going to seed.
Sad to say the first impression is of entering the house of aged relative, the smell of old age and decay is everywhere probably, I suspect, from the floor covering. I'm glad I had slippers with me, a walk across the bedroom in bare feet is not recommended.
The day I stayed there the hotel was very busy, breakfast in the morning was stone cold and the staff, although polite and friendly, seemed under pressure. The kitchen staff need to be informed that the clue to toasting bread is in the word toasting, it should be toasted to a golden colour and be served hot and crisp. What I, and others were receiving was barely warmed bread.

Reviewed by
Andy G

From Tetbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was clean an tidy but the bathroom was a bit tired , the water pressure in both the sink and shower where poor and service at breakfast was a bit slow and breakfast itself was ok but both mornings at breakfast there was no mushrooms with no attempt to replenish and the eggs had seen better days under the heat of the lamp used to keep them warm so I waited for fresh ones to come , none of these negative points would stop me from using this hotel again as it is a 3 star hotel and was what I expected from a three star hotel . The £100 per night for the four poster bedroom is at the top end of the price bracket that I would pay for what it offered and if I tried to book again and it was more expensive I wouldn't book it .

Reviewed by
D Coll

From Dalry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oban Royal Hotel
The room was extremely small and the heat was off, making it cold. Heater was brought up and maintenance man came up next day. Heat turned on for a while and then went cold again. Came on around 3 am. Not good.

Reviewed by
Sharon Griffith

From Denver, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oban delights
Staff only to happy to resolve any problem and make your stay memorable. Nothing was a trouble to them that made our stay so enjoyable

Reviewed by
William Barr

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tiered hotel
Decided to book a last minuet break in Oban .this hotel is to run down it needs a complet rebuild the bedroom floor had a slant running from window to the door which is totally not what you would expect .the noise of squeaky floor boards keeps you a wake all night and as for the toilet flushing I will leave it to your imagination

Reviewed by
Alan S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned basic hotel
All was ok, breakfast was very late, roomful of people and no juice or hot food. I left with just tea and toast as I had a ferry to catch. Clean and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Mary s

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel, let down by little things, that bug
Arrival was great, directions to the Garage/Parking were plainly given. The undercover parking smelt like a urinal. The foot path route to the entrance from the garage was unsafe to walk due to broken and uneven concrete and tarmac. The breakfast service was like waiting for a bus. The problem was waiting, for the waitress coming to me for the order for the pot of tea and toast. (The buffet breakfast was good). My room 203 fronted onto the main road and the dock. At 05:45 I was awoken by a very loud announcement from the CalMac ferry which is about 100yds away.
Apart from the negative, the Bathroom had a full size bath, a nice change from a small shower in the corner of the room.

Reviewed by
philip morris

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next