No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Argyll Square , Oban, PA34 4BE
The Royal Hotel stands in the center of town close to the harbour and ferry terminal. It's central position makes it ideal for visiting the West Coast of Scotland as well as the Islands of Mull and Iona. Built in 1895 the 3 Star AA awarded hotel offers traditional Scottish hospitality within quality modern surroundings. A small car park is located to the rear of the hotel and has limited non guaranteed space. Public parking both chargeable & free available nearby.

Our lounge and ceilidh bar have been refurbished to a high standard and we also now have FREE Wifi access in all public areas. All 91 comfortable bedrooms have private bathroom and all have colour television, direct dial telephone, hospitality tray, hairdryers and central heating.

Our Restaurant offers a fine selection of fresh Scottish produce complimented by an interesting range of wines. Situated on the first floor the Restaurant overlooks the Town Square. Bar meals now available 12.00pm until 8.00pm. Relax over a pre dinner drink, coffee or sample a wee dram from our fine selection of Scottish Malt Whiskeys. Evening entertainment is a regular feature including the famous Scottish Show with "Torquil the Piper"

Picture of Royal Hotel, Oban at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 98 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
Only slight downside was the size of the room. However everything else more than made up for this. Staff very friendly and welcoming. My third time staying there, would not keep going back if I did not think it was a good place to stay.

Reviewed by
John M

From Lochgilphead, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another weekend stay
Breakfast was excellent had a bath and shower in my room couldn't ask for any better.

Reviewed by
T Hood

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bedrooms
televisions need upgrading

Reviewed by
michael f

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all round hotel
***Fantastic Breakfast***
Staff very friendy and helpful
Close to the railway station & ferry port.
Nice and clean and Nice and quiet.

Reviewed by
G Y

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor front reception customer service
Being a frequent user of late rooms and taking advantage of book now and pay on departure I was shocked by the attitude and treatment that we received by reception staff on our arrival when full payment for our stay was demanded up front. We explained that the deal on Laterooms meant that we could budget for our 2 day stay knowing that we could settle the room bill on departure on the Tuesday but the manager, Jamie I think, just stood poker faced and repeatedly said,"it's company policy to ask for payment on arrival". The conversation took place in the front reception area, in front of the staff and other guests, very embarrassing. So I said that we would not be staying at the Royal Hotel and got my phone out to search for another hotel in Oban as we had driven over 100 miles to get there. Jamie immediately threatened us with a demand for a late cancellation fee ! We tried again to explain our situation and he then demanded a deposit of £50 up front with full payment the following day. We felt we had no choice but to agree, horrible situation made worse but his stoic attitude. And so to room, which was classed as a Superior twin with a sea view. On entering room 404 we were actually walking uphill! The dresser on the left hand wall was 6" higher at the right hand side and sloped down to the left! The sea view in one of the small windows was completely blocked by the stone ballastrade of the building. The room was clean but very dated, the floor boards creaked and were all uneven. The bathroom seemed to have been recently refurbished but they had omitted to give the door a lick of painted so it was yellow and marked compared to the rest if the decor. Breakfast on the first morning was not the advertised buffet but we were served a full Scottish by a nice waitress but the quality of the food wasn't very high. We were back in the room getting ready to go out when the phone rang, it was reception. The female was very curt with me, asked if we were staying another night, I said yes and her retort was, but you haven't paid! We had fully intended to go to reception and pay the balance when we were ready to go out so to have a demanding phone call, in such an abrupt manner was uncalled for. Part of the deal at the Royal was an additional 15% discount on the bar drinks and bar meal but because of the way we were treated we decided that the Royal didn't deserve any more of our money and so we ate and drank elsewhere in the town. We had booked the hotel for a much needed break but the whole trip was wasted by the attitude of the front reception staff. If the Hotel policy is "payment on arrival" then it should be on their website and on Laterooms so that customers are aware. But in all of this, there was no excuse for the horrible way we were treated.

Reviewed by
David C

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Buget Hotel very close to the Ferry and Railway Station
Really friendly & helpful staff. Leave plenty of time for check out as they cater for bus parties who all want to use the lift at the same time. The breakfast was very good, evening meal Ok but there are loads of really good places to eat within walking distance of the hotel we were too lazy to go out.
The room was clean and airy with a comfy bed. The bathroom was a little quirky in layout but very clean and functional.

Reviewed by
J Crosskell

From Barrow Haven, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel
Very comfortable room.

Reviewed by
P Cowan

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel
Was ok for the price.

Reviewed by
P Lamont

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel
Room was pretty shabby with damp in the en suite and wallpaper was peeling off the bedroom wall.

Reviewed by
A Louden

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first time at this hotel
only negative comment bathroom a bit chilly

Reviewed by
robert l

From HORLEY, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next