No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Argyll Square , Oban, PA34 4BE
The Royal Hotel stands in the center of town close to the harbour and ferry terminal. It's central position makes it ideal for visiting the West Coast of Scotland as well as the Islands of Mull and Iona. Built in 1895 the 3 Star AA awarded hotel offers traditional Scottish hospitality within quality modern surroundings. A small car park is located to the rear of the hotel and has limited non guaranteed space. Public parking both chargeable & free available nearby.

Our lounge and ceilidh bar have been refurbished to a high standard and we also now have FREE Wifi access in all public areas. All 91 comfortable bedrooms have private bathroom and all have colour television, direct dial telephone, hospitality tray, hairdryers and central heating.

Our Restaurant offers a fine selection of fresh Scottish produce complimented by an interesting range of wines. Situated on the first floor the Restaurant overlooks the Town Square. Bar meals now available 12.00pm until 8.00pm. Relax over a pre dinner drink, coffee or sample a wee dram from our fine selection of Scottish Malt Whiskeys. Evening entertainment is a regular feature including the famous Scottish Show with "Torquil the Piper"

Picture of Royal Hotel, Oban at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel, let down by little things, that bug
Arrival was great, directions to the Garage/Parking were plainly given. The undercover parking smelt like a urinal. The foot path route to the entrance from the garage was unsafe to walk due to broken and uneven concrete and tarmac. The breakfast service was like waiting for a bus. The problem was waiting, for the waitress coming to me for the order for the pot of tea and toast. (The buffet breakfast was good). My room 203 fronted onto the main road and the dock. At 05:45 I was awoken by a very loud announcement from the CalMac ferry which is about 100yds away.
Apart from the negative, the Bathroom had a full size bath, a nice change from a small shower in the corner of the room.

Reviewed by
philip morris

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms have been updated, however it is an old building with creaking floors etc the staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was better than most. We'll be back.

Reviewed by
A McLellan

From Forth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok accomodation but terribly hot as no A/C in the room
We stayed during the heatwave in July, 2014. The high temperature in the room made it impossible to sleep, hence the low rating. The breakfast was ordinary, not more

Reviewed by
M Nilsson

From Staffanstorp, Sweden
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel in need of renovation

Reviewed by
I Brown

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
Chose this hotel as Laterooms advert showed a reduction from £168 a night to £89 so expected much better. Hotel also required payment at check-in. Had I seen the room and was made aware of self serve breakfast I would have gone elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Bernard M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable
Apart from being asked to pay up front which I'm not used to, it was an enjoyable experience. Breakfast was a buffet style which was great and staff were pleasant

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

n/a
Hotel is tired

Reviewed by
carol d

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a place that's seen better days
Overall impression is that it's a place in need of a bit of investment and TLC. I booked as somewhere cheap to clean up in after a few days of tramping round the highlands and living outdoors so it served it's purpose. I wouldn't pick it as a first choice if I was back in Oban but mainly because there's a lot of other accommodation on offer however if it was the only option then I'd take it.
Room was relatively comfortable and generally clean although peeling wallpaper and a plethora of stains on various soft furnishings act as quite a big detractor. If you're sensitive to noise you may be irritated by the sounds of the ancient plumbing which can clearly be heard through the walls, especially in the morning when everyone is getting up and having a shower.
Only ate breakfast which was fine - nothing to write home about but perfectly adequate and I've certainly had worse. Similarly the staff were friendly enough but didn't seem that interested in being there.

Reviewed by
Mark E

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel, Oban.
Very well located being two minutes walk from the station and the port. Staff were excellent, pleasant and helpful. Room was clean if a bit dated. Breakfasts were substantial with an excellent range of choices. Bar meals were equally good. I would certainly come back to this hotel.

Reviewed by
P Bleasdale

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had problem while staying here. We requested a wake up call and never received it.
Also, there's a lack of communication to new patrons. We had to ask where the breakfasts were being served!

Reviewed by
Kim B

From Sparta, USA
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next