No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Huntingdon House Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
18 St Mary's Street, , , Dumfries, DG1 1LZ
The Huntingdon is an entirely non smoking hotel. Business travellers; A free, reliable and fast Wi-Fi internet connection is available. Work space in all the rooms. A large safe car park and a quiet lounge bar to relax in at the end of a long day. Tourists; Four Castles, Abbeys, Museums, Rabbie Burns, Robert the Bruce, J M Barrie, Thomas Carlyle, Commodore John Paul Jones, Many Lochs and rivers, The Solway coast, The Galloway Forrest. All within a short walk or drive! I know we are biased because we live here but this really is a beautiful area to visit. Mountain bikers; We provide the perfect base for you to ride the 7 stanes, Scotland's award winning mountain bike tracks. Only a 10 to 20 minutes drive from Mabie Forest, Ae Forest, Dalbeatie and all seven of the trails are less than an hour and a half away. Drumlanrig castle also provides some very entertaining mountain bike tracks. A lockable workshop for your mountain bikes with ample tools if necessary and a hosepipe and power washer available. Walkers; The southern upland way, Solway coastal path, Burns trail, Mabie Forest and the Glenkiln sculpture trail to name but a few of the many attractions in this area. Golfers; Southerness, Powfoot, The County, Dumfries and Galloway, Thornhill, Lockerbie, Colvend. With all of these fantastic golf courses and many more within a short drive To say this area is a perfect location for a golfing holiday is an under statement Motorcyclists; My wife (VFR 400) and I (GSXR 1000) are bikers so we are definitely motorcycle friendly. The hotel has a dedicated separate motorbike parking area. Tools and workshop are available if needed. Advice on local routes is freely given and if I get the chance I may even come with you. This really is a fantastic area for motorcycling.
Picture of Huntingdon House Hotel, Dumfries at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place tp stay
Superbly decorated, very welcoming. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
N Askew

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left a real pleasure. Terry helped carry the bags, gave us help finding our way around Dumfries and recommended places to eat and drink. Always around for whatever we needed. Food great and plenty of it. We were travelling up to Oban and he even produced a scenic route to avoid the games in Glasgow. Only slight problem was lack of pressure in shower but that didn't spoil the experience.

Reviewed by
Trevor Dyson

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful owners

Reviewed by
L Lorimer

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a train trip to Dumfries
This hotel was ideal for my short trip. A short walk from the station. A friendly and helpful greeting and responsive service. Comfortable room with generous tea and coffee facilities. An excellent, freshly cooked breakfast. What more could you want?
I could see this as an excellent base to explore the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
Martin D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second visit
Having stayed at this hotel we knew exactly what to expect and were not let down. Lovely room spotless clean. well stocked with coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits . Good breakfast served by very friendly and attentive host.Large car park on site and hotel about ten minute walk to Dumfries town centre.

Reviewed by
a maguire

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dedicated personal service, spotless well maintained hotel on the edge of Dumfries town centre. The owners have put their heart and soul into making this an excellent place to stay. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Iain N

From West Calder, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A home away from home!
Came to dumfries for wedding and left it a little late to book my room close to the venue. I am so glad Huntingdon House had rooms available for the duration of my stay, what a find! From the moment I got there Terry and Lynne were nothing short of exceptional hosts making me feel more than just a guest for the weekend. From the prompt serving of breakfast (so delicious), booking my cab to take me to the wedding to entertainment into the wee hours with Scott and Sonia- just genuine hospitality from beginning to end. If you ever go to Dumfries ensure you stay at this lovely welcoming hotel, you won't be dissapointed!

Reviewed by
Charmaine Trotman

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly , clean , excellent room and great breakfast ,
Would recommend this hotel to any one .

Reviewed by
david jenkins

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Ver friendly and very comfortable. Great value.

Reviewed by
Leslie W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

THE place to stay WHENEVER I visit Dumfries from now on. Excellent all round.
Warm welcome, extremely helpful, genuine interest in people and comfortable, clean and quiet environment. Highly recommended. Haven't stayed in better - and I travel ALOT!

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next