No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - G&V Royal Mile Hotel

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 George IV Bridge , Edinburgh, EH1 1AD
Five-star luxury, with the warmest of welcomes. G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is a stunning, contemporary landmark, and the only five-star hotel on the historic Royal Mile, set in the heart of the Scottish capital. Iconic design characterised by our local Scottish, rich heritage. Think boutique, think comfort, think style, think G&V.

Dramatic black and white with splashes of inspired colour. Emphatic contrasts. Sublime comfort. Stand out touches in all 136 guest rooms and suites overlooking the ancient capital. Nespresso machines, i-pod docks, LCD TV’s, free high speed Internet and other truly desirable, modern indulgences.

With the award-winning Italian restaurant Cucina at its pulsing heart, showcasing Scottish sustenance and brilliant Bar G&V as its playground from a morning latte to a late night G&T.

An urban spa retreat, discreetly hidden away. Escape from the bustling city to pamper, polish and perfect. A vibrant, inspiring gym. Whether you’re training for a challenge, or using it as an escape.

Seamless service at every touch point whether it’s sensational spa treatments or memorable meetings and events. A myriad of excellent detail magically conceived and brought together by artistic alchemy and royal indulgence.
Picture of G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

G&V Royal Mile Hotel
Excellent welcome and helpful staff. Wonderful view over the city from our room on the 5th floor. Will use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
E Morrison

From UK
Who stayed in April 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Had a great time from the minute we walked in until the minute we left. very nice hotel. staff very helpful and friendly. rooms lovely. bed soooo comfortable. had the best sleep I've had in a long time. view from room good. breakfast was lovely. will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
K Reeder

From England
Who stayed in April 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Great stay. Had a deal on laterooms which made it great value for money. Excellent service from reception staff and bar staff.

Reviewed by
M Harris

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in April 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, but dramatically overpriced.
I stayed here for one night on a weekend trip to Edinburgh. I was travelling alone, so thought I would spend a bit extra on a room. The room total was in excess of £200 (a "Cosy Room"). Naturally I was expecting something quite special, but upon entering the room I was first slightly dismayed by its size although the bed and generally furnishings were first class. I have stayed in several high end hotels, most notably the Fraser Suites (crucially, for a very similar price) and really extremely impressed by the whole experience there. I am reluctant to exude the same enthusiasm for the GnV. I am also unconvinced by the decor of the hotel - in my own opinion it has a slightly cheap feel to it all and doesn't suggest the same grandeur as the price range suggests.
Aside from that, the location is first class and the staff were lovely and available whenever. I did order room service at one point (a cheeseburger, which was one of only a few items available), and found the bread to be a little stale/hard. Admittedly, this was close to 3am but if a 24 hour room service is offered I would expect standards to be a little more consistent. My major grievance is that I felt the price in no way reflected my overall experience, having felt significantly more impressed by other hotels in the city in the same price range.

Reviewed by
Stuart Thomson

From UK
Who stayed in April 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly staff nice welcome, quick check in and nice room,also nice central location .

Reviewed by
Brian G

From Larbert, UK
Who stayed in April 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place
Stayed here for a Business Trip, but also made a weekend of it. Very accommodating & nice room. Breakfast not great, but Ok.

Reviewed by
Martin S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

modern & first class - perfect combination
This is the best hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in Edinburgh.
Beautiful modern rooms, dare I say funky, great views over the bustling Royal Mile below and luxurious comfort throughout.
Staff all smiling, attentive and the way a misunderstanding with valet service was dealt with was further proof, not that it was needed, that everything about this hotel is high standard quality.
it was a special occasion for us and we will definitely be back soon.
Ewan and Annisa

Reviewed by
E Wilson

From Campbeltown, UK
Who stayed in April 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary ruined and bad experience!
We arrived at hotel and where greeted by lovely friendly staff who showed us to our room promptly. However minutes after being in our room we realised the television was on and couldn't turn it off or switch channel. Therefore rang reception who sent someone up and failed to rectify the problem so left to return again and say we would be moving rooms. We gathered our things and waited about 20-30 minutes for him to arrive back to move us to new room but he never returned. Great start to the break! so we rang reception who sent a completely different person up to move us to a new room. When we booked the room it stated it was a special Easter package and we would receive an Easter egg. However upon arrival and inspection of the rooms there wasn't one present. So we rang reception where we spoke to a woman who didn't have a clue about it but said "oh I'll look into it". Later we did receive the Easter egg but if we had not asked not so sure we would have! The new room seemed fine but when we returned at night we noticed some lights weren't working but we made do. The next day we headed out and upon return our card for the door wouldn't work so we went down to reception to sort the problem and returned back to the room but yet again the card didn't work so we went downstairs again when they "sorted the problem" again but still didn't work so went down again and finally it worked! Later that night we were laid in bed when we heard dripping and when we drew back the curtains a huge puddle of water overflowing from windowsill was pouring on the floor and water was dripping from the top of the window. We gathered towels and dried the water up but could barely see due to the lights not working. The towels were soaked and clothes which had been left on chair next to window must have fell off and also got wet as well as bags!! We rang reception and although they moved us it was our second time in only just over 24 hours we had to be moved! In the previous room we had asked for firmer pillows to be sent to the room which we received. However when we moved to the other room and rang reception to provide firmer pillows again they had no clue what we where on about and denied doing firmer pillows even though we had them the night before! So when they arrived they where exactly the same as we already had so we took it upon ourselves to go into the old room as we still had key and retrieve the pillows we had previously! When we started to fall asleep there was a loud clanking and whistling noise which stopped then repeated itself throughout the night which resulted in very poor and broken sleep!! The next morning I went to take a bottle out of the fridge which had already been opened and was half full! We then started to get ready for breakfast so went to get a shower when we noticed dirty brown substance all around the shower head and on the shower head! There was also splatters around the ceiling near the shower head, 5* quality? Therefore neither me or my partner wanted to get washed using that shower so left the hotel without doing so! When we told reception we received a 30% discount but still had to pay over £200 for this experience!! Was meant to be a peaceful relaxing break but got off to a bad start and it just continued! Thanks for ruining what was meant to be a nice break away for our anniversary which turned into room changes, bad hygiene and upkeep, poor facilities and sleepless nights which will cost you over £200 for this unenjoyable experience! Not 5* quality or service!

Reviewed by
M Welch

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in March 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, Fab Service, Excellent Rooms
I booked this hotel for a surprise visit to Edinburgh for my husband. It exceeded my expectations - with a great location on the golden mile, amazing rooms with a super comfortable bed and fantastic customer service.
We had requested an early check in and our room was ready when we arrived at 9.00 AM. The staff were incredibly helpful and the service was second to none.
The bar was great with a wide selection of drinks and a great atmosphere. Would definitely book again!

Reviewed by
Amy T

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in March 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Excellent hotel in an excellent position

Reviewed by
C JOHNSON

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2015

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next