No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - G&V Royal Mile Hotel

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 George IV Bridge , Edinburgh, EH1 1AD
Five-star luxury, with the warmest of welcomes. G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is a stunning, contemporary landmark, and the only five-star hotel on the historic Royal Mile, set in the heart of the Scottish capital. Iconic design characterised by our local Scottish, rich heritage. Think boutique, think comfort, think style, think G&V.

Dramatic black and white with splashes of inspired colour. Emphatic contrasts. Sublime comfort. Stand out touches in all 136 guest rooms and suites overlooking the ancient capital. Nespresso machines, i-pod docks, LCD TV’s, free high speed Internet and other truly desirable, modern indulgences.

With the award-winning Italian restaurant Cucina at its pulsing heart, showcasing Scottish sustenance and brilliant Bar G&V as its playground from a morning latte to a late night G&T.

An urban spa retreat, discreetly hidden away. Escape from the bustling city to pamper, polish and perfect. A vibrant, inspiring gym. Whether you’re training for a challenge, or using it as an escape.

Seamless service at every touch point whether it’s sensational spa treatments or memorable meetings and events. A myriad of excellent detail magically conceived and brought together by artistic alchemy and royal indulgence.
Picture of G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 105 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

G&V Royal Mile Hotel
Staff very friendly. Hotel well situated for getting in & around town. Breakfast had a good choice.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

G&V Royal Mile Hotel
Great location, very friendly and efficient staff, spotlessly clean and great facilities.

Reviewed by
H Richards

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

G&V
Definitely stay here again. An would recommend it to anyone

Reviewed by
J Beatson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't have a G&T, get a G&V instead.
Simply one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Stayed the night before Valentine's as a surprise for my wife. Soon as we arrived, a doorman took my bag and escorted is to check in, both friendly and couldn't be more help. Great start. We were early but knew we could leave our bags and have a look around Edinburgh. The receptionist said our room was already available but it we wanted to wait a little extra, he could upgrade us. We both decided to take the room already available and had a little celebratory drink from the mini bar, reasonably priced. Room was lovely, quite small but fitted with all mod cons and we felt chilled immediately. Good in the restaurant was lovely (if a little pricey) and service was attentive and friendly. Both me and my wife loved this hotel and the entire experience was one we thoroughly enjoyed. G&V have a brilliant hotel here, ran by a fabulous, friendly staff. We will definitely go back at some stage.

Reviewed by
Mark Lucas

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely stay
We enjoyed a brilliant stay at G&V. The service at check in and out was great. The rooms were really comfortable, a lovely big bed and air conditioning that can actually make the room cool. We didn't eat at the hotel but we did have several drinks at the bar and they were delicious. I would happily stay here every time I came to Edinburgh, which sadly isn't something I do often enough.

ManagementResponse

Dear Lucy D, We are all so delighted you had such a magical experience with us in Edinburgh. Please do not forget about us! Spread the G&V word and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future, Kind regards, James Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
Lucy D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

G and V Edinburgh
Excellent hotel, very modern finish with quite a unique look. Rooms were spotless with everything you needed in them and staff were very helpful.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ross H, Thank you so much for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh soon. Have a great 2015! Kind regards, James Archer, Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
Ross H

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service, great location
Great for couples. All staff were friendly especially bar staff. Room quiet even though central. Nice linen and stylish rooms.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mary P, Thank you for your kind words following your stay. I am delighted you had such a great time with us in Edinburgh. Please come and see us again sometime soon, Kind regards, James Archer, Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
Mary P

From Castletown, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, ok breakfast, loved the doormen in kilts. Will return as lovely hotel
great place to stay for business or leisure.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your four star review on your recent stay with us at G&V Hotel. We hope to see you again in the future, With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
kath b

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb service in a central location
Nicely situated for the centre of Ediburgh. Everything was accessible by foot or a short taxi ride. Very friendly and welcoming service. Loved the decor. The room was very quiet even though the hotel is close to the city centre. Will definitely be back.

ManagementResponse

Dear Alec, Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel following your stay. I am so pleased to read that you felt so well looked after for your trip to Edinburgh. Have a fabulous Christmas and New Year. Kind regards, James Archer Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
Alec C

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Pure luxury, can't wait to return.

ManagementResponse

Dear Annette, We cannot wait to welcome you back. Thank you for your fab comments! Kind regards, James Archer Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
Annette Millican

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next