No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highdown Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Littlehampton Road Goring, Worthing, BN12 6PF
Originally built as a private home this former manor house is set within the glorious grounds of Highdown Gardens. There are 16 ensuite luxury rooms with free WI-Fi access, satellite TV, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryer. There is a large traditional restaurant with a popular carvery and an á la carte menu or guests can relax in the comfy lounge and bar. Free car parking is available on-site.

This a great place to stay whether its for business or pleasure. Located just outside Worthing it is easily accessible from the A27 and A259. Shoreham Airport, Worthing, Littlehampton and Brighton are close by whilst Fontwell Race course is 12miles and Goodwood being 17miles.

Picture of Highdown Hotel, Worthing at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for what was needed
Really lovely people to deal with x

Reviewed by
S Craig

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much Improved Accommodation, Good Value Hotel
Accommodation in separate block in this heritage hotel site. No lift and only one room with flat level entry, so limited availability for those with mobility issues. Just finishing room refurb to a high standard, and transformed from tired and a bit grubby to excellent quality rooms with new furniture. Meals good value in tired separate reception/bar/restaurant which is in need of a makeover, though clean and warm. Breakfast is improved with proper coffee, but still no croissant/yogurt/fruit/cheese/cold meats so choice is limited to cereal, toast and cooked breakfast. It is included in the price. Staff are Jacks and Jills of all trades but manage well, and when my room was unexpectedly not available due to refurb they quickly found me another. Reception is not staffed 24 hours, though they do tell you this on booking, so take care to arrive before 10pm. All in all this is now a very good value bed and breakfast hotel, and I have already booked to stay again.

Reviewed by
Barrie C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable few days
My daughter and I had a very pleasant visit, we found the room had been tastefully decorated . The tea & biscuits replaced daily. The Staff were very pleasant though out our stay.

Reviewed by
J Wallace

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely brief stay
I booked via online choosing this hotel as it seemed reasonably priced. Decided to go for the Four Poster room being that it was to be part of a special weekend with my better half. Arrived arun 17:00 as I advised. Friendly reception, little biof a shlepp thru narrow fire doors, but once in the room - quite impressed. Bed looked the part - only thing I would say is the mattress could do with updating - talk about feel each spring!!
Breakfast was self service and great - again the staff were friendly and helpful.
Relaxed atmosphere great staff, good room and alovely breakfast - what more can you ask for for £37 each?

Reviewed by
C Tasker

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
The room was comfortable, pleasent temperature the only issue was difficult to flush toilet you had to learn how to operate. Restuerant was good value with an excellent carvery but limited menu if you did not want the carvery.

Reviewed by
David P

From Radcliffe-on-Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maybe been a little harsh
Stopped here for three nights while working in Brighton, couldn't complain regards to food wise the help yourself all you can eat breakfast is very good, when I booked it did say it had A-la-carte and carvery menus but only did carvey meals, which is maybe ok if your only stopping for an odd night but there are several places near by if you fancy a change. I had a single room which was adiquate for my needs but was dissapointed with the limited tv channels and very slow internet(although a 5am it does get a bit quicker ) another gripe I had with my room is the fact the only window was a skylight and was difficult to open and the temp was rarther warm during my stay so the room was like been in an oven at times.

Reviewed by
Neil L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor value for money
reception was away from hotel and i closed at 10 pm opened at 8 30 am . so if someone needed help at all in between these hrs you used your mobile but not every body has one
the room was of bad standard the was ahole in the inside of bathroom door . no chain on sink plug . the bed were lumpy and the base was broken and damaged.
we do not recomend to stay there .

Reviewed by
barbara s

From Benfleet, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Birthday
Staying for a family birhtday nearby, this hotel was a great choice and a great sucess. Welcoming, relaxed and the best hotel bed I have slept in in ages. Breakfast was perfect, only comment is coffee could be better quality - but all in all good value for money

Reviewed by
S Austin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Menu
This hotel is good value for money, but the menu consists of Carvery only. This is great for one night, me personally I would only book 1 night. If you like carvery it's Food Heaven.

Reviewed by
F Parr

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food comment based on breakfast only as I only stayed one night. Not a lover of cooked buffet style food - being left under heated lights dries out the food. My hotel room was comfortable but the furniture and décor was quite dated. The hotel, on the whole, was what I was looking for as it was nearby to the family member I was visiting so will be happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Marilyn Hyatt

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next