Reviews - Highdown Hotel


Littlehampton Road Goring, Worthing, BN12 6PF

Price From 110.07 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (47)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Doleman

  • August 2014

Disappointing breakfast

Most disappointed that there was no fruit option at breakfast - fresh or tinned

Also no marmalade or apology from the member of staff

  • Stephen B

  • August 2014

Bar closed in evening

Not particular convenient location (smallest journey is 5 miles round trip because of its position on a dual carriageway) and so having the bar close as soon as they stop serving Sunday lunch isn't helpful.

Good breakfast however.

  • rona peebles

  • August 2014

Booked to Celebrate 42nd Wedding Anniversary

Total disapointment.

On arrival total lack of signage for reception, greeted by Tea Rooms full of public with crying children and barking dogs (some retreat) The room was small with a 4 poster bed which was way too big for it, the toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall, the bin in the bathroom was going rusty, every time we wanted to get to either side of the bed we had to move heavy chairs and avoid the hearth on one side, then put them back to sit 'comfortably to watch the TV, then move them again if one wanted to use the bathroom or put a light on. the coffee/tea making facilities was a small shelf attached to the wall - no room for spillage. one cup at a time. I am out of characters for my comments, I could go on........spoiled my anniversary.

  • Dave B

  • July 2014

Family room

Large family room but poor quality furniture with grubby marks and stains.

Shower room ok.

  • Linda Hickie

  • July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here I came with my hubby and two brothers to attend my cousins wedding

All facilities were great and the staff very friendly the cavery was excellent value foot was excellent and the breakfast outstanding the hotel is very lovely..enjoyed the surroundings too I went for a work and a run the scenery was beautiful and lots if little cats around too I love cats lol fantastic stay had by all thanks very much Linda mark Andrew and tommy

  • S H

  • July 2014

Weekend away....

A late booking so we got the last room available and not the best of rooms.

The decor was pleasant enough and a comfortable bed. However the plumbing in the bathroom needed attention and we reported this to the front desk on checkout. The room door was not well-fitted so we were disturbed by it rattling late at night and early morning from others doors opening and closing on our floor. The food and service were reasonable but overall we did not feel our visit was good value for money.

  • j bowes

  • June 2014

Lovley helpful staff.excellent beautiful room.beautifull surroundings

Will definitely booking again soon for longer very reasonable prices in bar and cavery.excellent all inc this beautiful manor house.

  • A King

  • June 2014

Great place for a quiet retreat

Our trip got off to a bad start, due to the fact we were not allowed to check in until 3pm, and then found our room still messy.

However when reporting to Reception, the manager apologised that they were short-handed that day and dealt with the problem herself, tidying the room and bringing us towels within a few minutes, which I was very impressed with. Great Customer Service from all the staff. The hotel itself is lovely, set away from the road, and the room itself clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished. I would also definitely recommend getting up early to sample the amazing breakfast.

Just a tip if you are looking to stay. If you are planning to go out for the evening, I would definitely recommend using the local taxi service. The local taxi service charge a £3 fee to pick you up from outside the hotel, but it is worth paying the fee, as it is quite precarious trying to navigate the road and driveway in the dark late at night, with no streetlighting available.

  • julia buck

  • June 2014

Great place staff friendly ,great room,great location

Had a great stay twice now and will be back again the only thing Carvery great but roast potatoes not great

  • denise c

  • May 2014

Bit tired hotel and tired people!

Hotel is a bit tatty, particularly the restaurant, needs redecorating.

Disappointing breakfast, not much choice, cold and not much of it. Could't get evening meal as restaurant closed at 6pm. Needs better soundproofing as kept awake by woman singing very badly and very loudly. As reception not manned no one to complain to. Would not stay here again if possible.