Reviews - The Beach Hotel


1-4 Regency Square, Brighton, BN1 2FG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (11)

64% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Gavin F

  • September 2015

The Beach Hotel

I found the beach hotel to be a fantastic place to stay in Brighton.

Rooms are clean, comfortable and very good value for money. My only complaint would be that wi fi didn't reach our room and was only accessible from the lobby area however it was still free and the TV in our room had plenty of channels to choose from. The location, just opposite the west pier, is extremely convenient allowing you to get to the beach or to the city centre in a short walk. This also meant that our room had a lovely sea view which is something I've had to pay extra for in other hotels. I cannot comment on breakfast as I didn't try it but it was included free in my booking and from description sounded to be substantial. I would definitely stay at the beach hotel again and would absolutely recommend it to a friend.

  • Andrew Pitt

  • April 2015

very nice room, other facilities had room for improvement.

Reception was pleasant and welcoming, the 'single' room' was great with a kingsize double bed, crisp clean sheets and an abundance of towels and toiletries.

Large flat screen TV with freeview, and coffee making facilities. Only fault with the room was that the shower was a dual tap type on the bath and the low ceiling made it impossible to stand or hang up the shower attachment. breakfast was adequate with buffet style on first morning allowing you to have as much as you wanted (although plates were very small). On the 2nd morning, I was presented a ready plated breakfast as soon as I walked in dining room making it nearly cold by the time I had cereals and a coffee. the tables themselves were clean but were heavily stained with coffee-cup rings The worst fault by far was the lift. an ancient system consisting of a normal door and a metal gate which if you did not close on exiting, stranded the lift on that floor. The ride between the floors was like something at Alton towers and was quite frightening until you got used to it, especially when going down. All in all, value for money.

  • A Faulkner

  • March 2015

Tired hotel but ok for the money

Hotel in need of renovation but good value for money

  • Hayley C

  • January 2015

Good for the price

Clean, black out curtains, great location.

Rough around the edges - stained carpet, table with burn marks, bathroom window stuffed with tissue etc. However for the price in central Brighton was good for a 1 night stay. Staff really helpful

  • Deborah C

  • November 2014

Ok if you are on a budget

Great location, probably was once a lovely hotel, is a great regency building that needs some TLC.

Not a warm welcome considering I was wet from the rain, they just wanted my other half of the payment... A human touch would be nice. Room and bathroom were clean, but very tired looking stains on the chairs, and bedding even though bathroom was spotless. The worst thing was the smell of smoke in the room it was awful, I could not put my clothes in the wardrobe as the smell was so strong, it made the room feel dirty. My view was great overlooking the square with a sea view and a little balcony, would be great in the summer. Next day I mentioned it and they pleaded ignorance to anyone smoking in the rooms, they has also sprayed around air freshener to mask the smell but it made it worse. The breakfast is what it is cheap and cheerful and cooked very much on a budget, but a good array of yoghurts, cereal, fruit but the breakfast offers no choice and they do not cater for GF, a loaf of bread kept in the freezer would be a good idea, I did email before hand but it was ignored. I personally would not stay again due to that awful smelling room, I noticed others have also commented on smoky smelling rooms. I am not sure its worth the hotel losing business over something like this as they look like they are struggling as it is.

Maybe they need to be a bit more fussy on who stays and invest some love and care into what is a beautiful building with real character and beats a Travelodge hands down in that respect...

  • e cave

  • November 2014

excellent location

very clean room, obviously recently refurbished with lovely ensuite but towel rail not yet connected.

Fantastic for the price. The linking corridors need painitng as these let the general appearance of the hotel down.

  • Dorothy N

  • September 2014


Shabby .

From reception to throughout the rest of the hotel. Antiquated lift. Room 20 had 2 single beds pushed together, mattresses needed new springs. Bin in loo, dirty and lid missing. Toilet would not flush, furniture marked. Skirting missing in bathroom,nearly all of it. Chair at table threadbare and electric radiator had no plug on and wires exposed. On the staircase at the back of the building had a toilet out of order and stains on the carpets, I suspect bleach. The ceiling in the room for breakfast was very badly patched. All the tables had ring marks on them, and where do I begin to describe breakfast. 3 girls behind the bar, too busy talking to explain the procedure. I had a glass of water and my partner's hot water was not. We could not wait to leave,I have never been up so early on a morning for a long time. Going to ask for money back. I have photographs.

  • J D

  • February 2014

Perfect hotel

Beautifully clean and comfortable hotel, ideally situated just a short walk away from many tourist attractions.

Pleasant, polite staff. Room exceptionally clean with all necessary amenities. Breakfast was freshly cooked one day of our stay and served buffet style the next, both of which were entirely satisfactory, alongside a variety of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, cheeses etc. Would definitely stay here again. Excellent value for money for an altogether pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

  • Jill S

  • January 2014

Beautifully clean room on the 4th floor.

Very quiet, comfortable bed, good hot water and very warm. Don't recommend anyone fat trying to negotiate the stairs from 4th down to 3rd floor as they are very narrow. Lift was a bit of a problem as people keep leaving the inner door open.

  • Jade C

  • November 2013

The hotel needs updating and I’m not sure it’s worth £65 per night, however it is in a great location.

We requested a double room and the room we stayed in had 2 singled beds pushed together which was very uncomfortable. The staff were ok, average breakfast