No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beach Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
1-4 Regency Square, Brighton, BN1 2FG
The Beach Hotel together with the Regency Restaurant date back to early 1828's when the restaurant was Lawson & Son jewellery shop and the hotel was St. Alban's Hotel. In 1930 Lawson & Son jewellery shop became the Regency Restaurant and the hotel was renamed The Beach Hotel. The Beach Hotel has recently been refurbished to a high standard yet still in-keeping with the Regency era.

In the dining area you can enjoy a full English or a continental breakfast, while enjoying the view over the Brighton promenade and the British Channel. You can also enjoy, lunch or Dinner in the Regency Restaurant.

The Beach Hotel lobby is a place where can find out about places to go while you stay in Brighton, or you can just sit and chat with your fellow guests and friends.

So why not stay with us at the Beach Hotel in Brighton and have an unforgetable time!!!
Picture of The Beach Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok if you are on a budget
Great location, probably was once a lovely hotel, is a great regency building that needs some TLC.
Not a warm welcome considering I was wet from the rain, they just wanted my other half of the payment... A human touch would be nice!
Room and bathroom were clean, but very tired looking stains on the chairs, and bedding even though bathroom was spotless. The worst thing was the smell of smoke in the room it was awful, I could not put my clothes in the wardrobe as the smell was so strong, it made the room feel dirty. My view was great overlooking the square with a sea view and a little balcony, would be great in the summer.
Next day I mentioned it and they pleaded ignorance to anyone smoking in the rooms, they has also sprayed around air freshener to mask the smell but it made it worse.
The breakfast is what it is cheap and cheerful and cooked very much on a budget, but a good array of yoghurts, cereal, fruit but the breakfast offers no choice and they do not cater for GF, a loaf of bread kept in the freezer would be a good idea, I did email before hand but it was ignored.
I personally would not stay again due to that awful smelling room, I noticed others have also commented on smoky smelling rooms. I am not sure its worth the hotel losing business over something like this as they look like they are struggling as it is.
Maybe they need to be a bit more fussy on who stays and invest some love and care into what is a beautiful building with real character and beats a Travelodge hands down in that respect...

Reviewed by
Deborah C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent location
very clean room, obviously recently refurbished with lovely ensuite but towel rail not yet connected. Fantastic for the price. The linking corridors need painitng as these let the general appearance of the hotel down.

Reviewed by
e cave

From Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dire
Shabby . From reception to throughout the rest of the hotel. Antiquated lift. Room 20 had 2 single beds pushed together, mattresses needed new springs. Bin in loo, dirty and lid missing. Toilet would not flush, furniture marked. Skirting missing in bathroom,nearly all of it. Chair at table threadbare and electric radiator had no plug on and wires exposed.
On the staircase at the back of the building had a toilet out of order and stains on the carpets, I suspect bleach. The ceiling in the room for breakfast was very badly patched. All the tables had ring marks on them, and where do I begin to describe breakfast?
3 girls behind the bar, too busy talking to explain the procedure. I had a glass of water and my partner's hot water was not! We could not wait to leave,I have never been up so early on a morning for a long time. Going to ask for money back. I have photographs.

Reviewed by
Dorothy N

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect hotel
Beautifully clean and comfortable hotel, ideally situated just a short walk away from many tourist attractions. Pleasant, polite staff. Room exceptionally clean with all necessary amenities. Breakfast was freshly cooked one day of our stay and served buffet style the next, both of which were entirely satisfactory, alongside a variety of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, cheeses etc. Would definitely stay here again. Excellent value for money for an altogether pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
J D

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully clean room on the 4th floor. Very quiet, comfortable bed, good hot water and very warm. Don't recommend anyone fat trying to negotiate the stairs from 4th down to 3rd floor as they are very narrow. Lift was a bit of a problem as people keep leaving the inner door open.

Reviewed by
Jill S

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel needs updating and I’m not sure it’s worth £65 per night, however it is in a great location. We requested a double room and the room we stayed in had 2 singled beds pushed together which was very uncomfortable. The staff were ok, average breakfast

Reviewed by
Jade C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Budget Accommodation
Great location. Room & ensuite fine. Food good, staff very friendly and helpful. Communal areas
such as corridoors and hallways shabby; but at this price who cares!?

Reviewed by
carol l

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel if you don't expect luxury
This hotel is very good value for Brighton. The stairs and corridors were rather grim and in dire need of refurbishment. The lift was tiny -2 people if you had no luggage. However the room was fine, a good 6 foot bed and big bay window with side sea view. Breakfast was limited choice but perfectly acceptable quality. It's about 15 minutes walk from the pier and The Lanes. parking is available for £10 from 4pm to 11 am in an underground car park just outside.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 3 night business stay

Reviewed by
CHRIS WILSON

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
The Hotel is very basic but comes with everything you need. The staff were great and always able to answer any questions and needs.
The breakfast wasn't great but certainly wasn't bad value for money.

Reviewed by
Jacob E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next