No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Street, Bramber, Steyning, BN44 3WE
Just 10 miles from Brighton, amidst glorious countryside. The BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, which has an award-winning carvery restaurant - better described as 'visual a la carte' - is within easy reach of Gatwick airport, mainline stations and motorway links. Many historic houses and gardens nearby. At the foot of South Downs hills (awaiting confirmation of National Park status) with miles of walking. Riding, fishing and golf, all nearby.
Picture of BEST WESTERN  Old Tollgate Hotel, Steyning at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Due to the hot weather +27 degrees. a couple of fans in the rooms would be good.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room facilities
Bathroom layout was questionable. WC just 4 inches from heated towel rail, which became uncontrollable following power failure to whole area. Anyone other than a small, slim person would be unable to use the WC, then at risk from burn. Inside shower cubicle, glass shelf just right height to stab anyone under the shower. Room windows, on ground floor, either open or shut, with no control or locking system. Could not leave open overnight for security reasons - access from outside very simple. These factors did not overly affect our stay which was enjoyable, thanks to an excellent staff and pleasant atmosphere.

Reviewed by
M Snell

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel.

Reviewed by
peter francis

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very well run hotel with excellent food service. Good value and reasonably convenient for Worthing.

Reviewed by
Trevor S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ubelievable value for money
Very good room including breakfast for 62 pounds for 2. For the critical diner the restaurant only provided mediocre buffet-dinner and waiters lacked subtility in their work, but the hotel overall is a very pleasant experience indeed.

Reviewed by
Ragnar C

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have stayed at the Old Tollgate on several occasions as we visit family who live close by. We have always found the hotel staff very welcoming and efficient. The hotel is charming and food in the restaurant is excellent

Reviewed by
A Parry

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Our overnight stay exceeded expectations - we really could not fault anything

Reviewed by
F Harding

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel
Excellent value for money. Evening carvery and breakfast were superb. If I am in the area again I will return. All staff very polite and helpful.
Normally stay in premier inns on business for convenience but this cost less and was a completely different standard.
Also in a very nice village setting with good local pub and Chinese and Indian resteraunt on doorstep if carvery is not to your taste.

Reviewed by
Simon Raven

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place
Fantastic hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room (superior double) was really nice, lots of space, very comfortable bed. Bathroom was lovely, and had a really nice shower. Food at the restaurant was very good, and not as expensive as I was expecting. I would have liked to stay longer.

Reviewed by
Karen W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Tollgate
We were delighted with the hotel which exactly met our requirements.,

Reviewed by
Brian Kingshott

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next