Reviews - Hudsons


22 Devonshire Place, Brighton, BN2 1QA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Philip G

  • October 2015

Good B&B

Firstly it is most certainly not a hotel no matter what the sign says, having said that, the guy who booked me in was very friendly the room was spotless, but it was in the basement and a very narrow flight of stairs to it (& I'm not a narrow person ☺).

It was great value for money the location was perfect for my needs.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • v foster

  • June 2015

fab weekend at Hudsons

We were greeted with a warm welcome, given the chance to purchase a parking permit as guests saving us almost £16 and the room was lovely.

Very quiet and private in good location. The mini bar was the best stocked one we had ever seen in a hotel. Would definitely stay again.

  • N garbutt

  • April 2015

Great location

Hotel was easy to find, room was lovely, everything you needed, parking a bit hard but purchased a permit for 8.50 for 24 hours.

parked in next road, don't think the residents like it as went to get car and it looked like the family of the biggest seagulls had covered our car in poo and ours was the only one, so obviously they had put food on the roof. it was embarrassing driving it off, not the hotels fault.

  • Ben H

  • April 2015

definitely visit again

  • jackie p

  • January 2015

welcoming and relaxed.

  • Danielle K

  • January 2015

A beautiful place with beautiful people

My friend and I were completely delighted with every aspect of our stay at Hudsons and will almost certainly be booking again.

We stayed for New Year's Eve in a gorgeously decorated room with an exceedingly comfortable four-poster bed. The whole place was tastefully decorated, pleasant, light and inviting and the hosts were both attentive and relaxed. Couldn't ask for more. Thanks for having us :-)

  • A Fernandez

  • December 2014

Perfect for city centre and fantastic value.

Very happy to say the least with my stay at Hudsons.

Even though I arrived late Steven was very welcoming, helpful and polite. The guest house itself was very clean, nicely quirky and the room was everything I needed. A very comfortable double bed in a clean and well decorated single room made my stay even more pleasing.

A nice touch was that you could help yourself to as much tea or coffee in your room as you liked, with other hotels you are lucky if you get 3 sugars and 2 teabags so this was a nice little touch that goes along way. Being located in the heart of Kemptown it is ideal for access to all that Brighton has to offer, parking just like any other city centre is a nightmare but Hudsons offer a 24hr parking voucher for a very reasonable price that allows you to park in the residential permitted spaces outside. I checked out the parking of nearby cars parks and you were looking at 3 times the price Hudsons were charging so very good value indeed.

Overall I am really happy with my stay at Hudsons and upon my return to Brighon I will check in again.


  • November 2014

Good quality room only spoilt by abrupt unfriendly attitude regarding customer service

I did not feel welcome at all by the person who was looking after the guest house during my stay and I felt more like an intruder.

Furthermore I was reprimanded like a child for using 3 out of 4 towels after 1 night stating to me that it is a double room occupancy and the towels should be sufficient for the whole period I was staying. I was taken back by the hostile and cold way I was spoken to not even asking me how my first night was or even good morning, no chit chat just very formal. I did not feel comfortable at all and was glad to leave after my 4 day stay. It was such a shame because the room was lovely. I felt because it was a special deal/price the person was resentful. This is how it felt to me as the atmosphere regarding customer service was awful, no smiles. I was the one that tried in vain to encourage short conversations. Although he offered to take my luggage to my room it was with no feelings or connection was so cold. I walk with a walking cane and am visually sighted and it felt a obligation, no smiles just operational. I regretted this choice of guest house and was relieved to leave. I had been to Hudson before about 8 or 9 years ago and it was fantastic!!. Unfortunately this has drastically changed.

  • Julian P

  • July 2014

The room was not aired and the towels were musty.

The check-in time was also problematic

  • Anne B

  • July 2014

Excellent value for money

Clean & comfortable, very pleasant staff, highly recommended!