Reviews - Colson House


17 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton, BN2 1QE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • John Redpath

  • July 2015

Great value and comfortable

Thanks for a great stay

  • M Owen

  • October 2014

Very pleasant stay

Enjoyable stay at Coldon house The host is very friendly and welcoming.

The location is very good for getting to central attractions in Brighton

Our room wasn't big but had everything we needed. Shower needs some oomph tho

Good value too - highly recommended

  • M Bage

  • October 2014

We had a great stay, Eamon was a great host.

  • peter morley

  • October 2014

Great stay in Brighton

We have been coming to Brighton for the last 10 years and on the last few occasions have stayed in Number 14 Upper Rock Gardens which is next door but one to Colson House - unfortunately they were fully booked so were unable to stay.

I have only marked low on customer service due to the fact that our greeting upon arrival was not what we had expected to say the least. We had arrived just after mid-day and didn't expect to get into our room but thought we would leave our baggage and then wander off. We could not get anyone's attention at the door so telephoned the number of the hotel. To cut a long story short we were eventually greeted by Eamon who seemed slightly uptight that we had arrived so early without giving him notice of doing so. Having been in the hotel business I do appreciate what it is like waiting around all day for guests but one has to hide one's true feelings. So it was not a very good start and have to admit that my wife and I (who were celebrating our anniversary) we quite taken aback. Whilst the breakfast was perfectly acceptable there was no choice of yoghurts or fruit and feel the portions could have been bigger (although I declined the full English on two of the days). Having said all of the above I think Eamon eventually warmed to us a little and would not want the above comments putting anyone off staying there as the room was large, clean and comfortable and all in all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt it good value for money. Is it as good as Number 14 - well to be honest no it isn't but we would definitely stay there again if Eamon will have us after the above comments!!

  • Peter D

  • September 2014

Hospitality at its best

Very enjoyable stay, close to all attractions and near to main bus routes and only 150yds from seafront.

Rooms very clean and quiet. Breakfasts of high standards. Eamon very helpful on advice of Brighton and so cheerful at breakfast. Would definitely stay here again, very good price for the high standards given.

  • E Dellepiane

  • July 2014

Nice to wake up with a laugh and a little chat

  • Steve T

  • June 2014

Great weekend

What a great place to stay.

Just what we was looking for. Very clean, good sized room (Marilyn Monroe room) and fantastic host. Will definitely be going back.

  • I Simpson

  • June 2014

Just right

Well located Guest House ...

Charmingly presented ... Good size room with four poster bed ... Friendly service

  • Catherine F

  • April 2014

Great escape!

I have booked the room for the weekend and on Friday I got a confirmation call to double check our arrival time, we been greeted and shown the iron etc, we had the lovely Humphrey bogart room, wifi, quiet, tea facilities.

Absolutely recommendable and I will definitely book another stay there. Friendly owner and althought we didn't have any breakfast, it smelled gorgeous when we walked by. Thanks for a great weekend getaway.

  • joe brown

  • February 2014

Lovely chaps! made for a nice valentines getaway! the weather was even nice! :)

Very welcoming.

very nice and helpful. Had a very nice room with a lovely balcony (shall be making more use of that in summer me thinks. Thanks guys!