No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Amherst Brighton

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
2 LOWER ROCK GARDENS , BRIGHTON, BN2 1PG
Virtually on the sea front and only 5 minutes walk from Brighton’s lively and vibrant centre. Amherst Brighton offers stylish contemporary en suite accommodation. All the rooms are individually designed with double or king size beds, direct dial telephones, either LCD or widescreen TVs, DVD/CD players, free wireless and hard-wired internet access, mini bar and complimentary tea/coffee making facilities and snacks. A continental breakfast is served in the morning and a full English breakfast is available at £6.00 per person. The Amherst Brighton takes great pride in its high-quality accommodation and its excellent standards of comfort and service.
Picture of Amherst Brighton, BRIGHTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday weekend
Great location, friendly helpful staff, lovely food we were in the garden room which was a little dark
but we did book late and got the last room

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marcus and Lee offer a fantastic bed and breakfast
I felt so happy staying at their home. My room was cosy, quiet and beautifully presented. Marcus and Lee's personality showed through and they made me feel welcome and safe.
I would recommend their home without hesitation and it is in such a lovely area of Brighton. I have already booked to stay with them again.
I

Reviewed by
Wendy Samuels

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay for a weekend or holiday
The hotel was lovely and clean. The rooms were cleaned daily. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were all lovely fresh cotton. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good place to say. It was only a short walk from the seafront and pier and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. We had our own key and could come and go at our leisure. We shall certainly be going back there.

Reviewed by
Carol J

From Welwyn Garden City, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amherst is in a convent location close to everything central on foot. Off site parking is pot luck as to location but walk able . Very clean spacious room with sea view, comfortable sofa and cafe style table and chair in bay window with street and sea view. Could do with voile at windows as visible from students in the flat across road. Ok can draw curtain. Room has masculine feel in the dark furniture and fluffy throw and cushions hail from the 70s or is that the retro look? Bathroom was well equipped with toiletries and shaving mirror and not box like. Brekkies no complaints and special dietary need not a problem. Friendly helpful owners. Overall a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
S Fletcher

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
We loved this little hotel - perfect situation, perfect hosts.

Reviewed by
K Kennedy

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Got a free upgrade to junior suite. Lovely sea view, good central location in Kemptown.
Most friendly and helpful hosts. Spotless with very comfortable beds and nice toiletries.

Reviewed by
H Thorup

From Denmark
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Going the extra mile
We stayed at the Amherst whilst in Brighton to celebrate my 70th. The hosts were friendly and most considerate. Learning of my birthday they decorated our room accordingly which I thought was very kind of them.
The room was comfortable and we enjoyed our continental breakfast. The coffe was excellent which is not always the case with B&Bs.

Reviewed by
K Broomfield

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lee and Marc were warm, friendly and helpful. The Amherst itself was clean, comfortable and quirky. The facilities ticked all the boxes. The price was 'reasonable' but over-inflated, however this was due to us staying for the London to Brighton bike ride weekend and was in-line with the increases applied by other local hotels. The location was ideal with just a short walk to beach, pier and other amenities. I would certainly use it on my next visit to Brighton.

Reviewed by
Tara H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amhurst B&B
More a boutique hotel than a B&B. Beautiful room. Charming hosts. Good location - except for Brighton's horrendous parking charges!

Reviewed by
Andrew Hewitt

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
We stayed in room 10 on the top floor with was light, quiet and provided us with unexpected sea views and sunsets to boot. The room was compact but nicely decorated and the complimentary snacks and bottled water were greatly appreciated. Lee & Marcus were cheerful hosts and made us feel welcome, nothing seemed too much for these guys. A continental breakfast is complimentary but we decided to invest the extra £4 pp to have a cooked breakfast which was delicious. I would not hesitate to return or indeed to recommend this B&B.

Reviewed by
Simon C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next