No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Howtown , Penrith, CA10 2LZ

Sharrow Bay is unique; the epitome of English country living in an unrivalled location surrounded by snow-topped mountains and fells, right on the shores of Lake Ullswater, widely regarded as the most beautiful lake in the country. As the Lake District's jewel in the crown, Sharrow Bay was the first ever 'country house hotel'. When the hotel first opened its doors in 1949, the then-owners, Francis Coulson and Brian Sack, brought to life their vision of a hotel whose guests feel utterly at home...and so it has continued.

A visit to Sharrow Bay will transport you to a bygone era of old-fashioned luxury, decadence and complete tranquillity, where your comfort and enjoyment is paramount. Guests simply cannot fail to be enthralled by the captivating charm of Sharrow Bay; it's one of those hotels that must be visited at least once in a lifetime, and once you've experienced the 'Gentle Art of Sharrow', once is never enough.

Picture of Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night away
We were lucky enough to be upgraded, the room was charming, with lovely views across the lake.
A warm welcome and attentive service at all times.

Reviewed by
Helena M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed at this hotel before. Then it was Mr. Coulson's pride and joy. A little different now but I still found it excellent..

Reviewed by
James Cunliffe

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a special occasion
The location is perfect. The hotel is very olde worlde with a charming clutter of drapery, paintings and glass/ china everywhere. The room was spacious and comfortable but ever so slightly tired. The food and service were excellent and the primary attraction, closely followed by the location. Would definitely recommend and visit again but probably only for another special occasion.

Reviewed by
Antony O

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Snowed in at the Sharrow Bay!
This was our first trip to Sharrow Bay, though we have been aspiring to stay at the hotel for almost 20 years since we first started visiting the Lakes. We were supposed to be just staying one night for a belated wedding anniversary celebration, but the road and weather conditions were so dire with drifting snow that it seemed a bit pointless trying to move on from such a fabulous place the following day, unless you really had to. The teamwork of the hotel staff and local people were second to none in keeping the roads and hotel services running in such extreme conditions. The hotel offered us a great rate for a second night, so we stayed on and were able to relax and enjoy a days walking in the snow. The customer service was excellent and the food absolutely gorgeous. I thought I would be really outfaced by the six course dinner, but the portions are a sensible size and there is a great choice on the menu. Another bonus was that we were upgraded to Pinkie, a lovely room in the main house with stunning views over the lake and a small balcony. The location of the hotel is really enviable at the edge of Lake Ullswater and you can do some lovely walks from the hotel without moving the car. To have had the opportunity to experience the Sharrow Bay at the discounted price through Laterooms.com prompted us to go after all these years of yearning. It has been a fabulous stay and a very memorable experience which we will be talking about for years. We will definitely be going back there again - hopefully next time in better weather conditions!

Reviewed by
P Abson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent 1 night stay!!
We were welcomed warmly on arrival and were upgraded to a fabulous suite called Beatrix which was like a little house!! The food in the restaurant was amazing too. The only downside if you could call it that was that we both wanted poached haddock for breakfast but they didn't have any.On the whole however it was a fabulous stay and the seting glorious.

Reviewed by
J Winter

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a place in the Lake District if slightly faded
We stayed at the Bank House annexe and indeed were the only guests. We were transported to main hotel for dinner and returned later by head wine waiter in between other duties.The food was very good if rather over-priced. The place seems to be mainly run by foreign staff unlike the old times. We last stayed there 20 years ago and the room had not changed at all or been updated.

Reviewed by
Celia D

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay apart from the weather
Accomodation was excellent in Bank House (last time we stayed in the same room was 19 years ago).
Service was attentive . Meal very good and very well priced as part of a dinner bed breakfast rate. Wine list was extensive but pricey for what it but saying that the wine we ordered was reasonable alue for money. It would be great if tea/coffee was available in room/not charged for - it seemed a bit steep to charge for it over and above the room rate when we are talking about a top class hotel.

Reviewed by
I Hunter

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.