No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pelham House Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St Andrews Lane 1, Lewes , BN7 1UW
From the 16th century this beautiful townhouse-now a Grade II listed property-has been tastefully restored to create a stylish award-winning hotel with 31 comfortable bedrooms-in the heart of the historic town of Lewes just 15 minutes away from Brighton-the hotel is ideally located for all that the East Sussex has to offer-Lewes train station is a 5-minute walk from hotel and has regular direct links between London Gatwick and Brighton-Nearby attractions include Glyndebourne Opera House-Charleston Farmhouse-Plumpton Race Course and Goodwood Circuit-The University of Sussex-Brighton University and American Express Stadium are also within easy reach-Bedrooms at Pelham House are decorated in a comfortable contemporary style whilst preserving many of the original historic features of the house-All our rooms are en-suite and furnished with comfortable beds with finest cotton sheets and are fully equipped with tea and coffee making facilities-TV-telephone-ipod docking station and complimentary wifi-The hotel benefits from a restaurant and bar and has well-appointed conference and events facilities-The Pelham House restaurant focuses on simple and delicious food using locally sourced produce-The restaurant is set across two of the most historic rooms of the house which both date back to the 16th century and look out over hotel gardens-The Panelled Room contains some remarkable woodcarvings which are one of the great treasures of the House and create a truly unique dining atmosphere-You can also enjoy a spot of al fresco dining whilst admiring the view from our terrace-Some of our bedrooms afford stunning far-reaching views over the hotel gardens and across the South Downs recently named an area of outstanding natural beauty-With five function rooms Pelham House can accommodate all types of event-The hotel is a licensed wedding venue and can cater for receptions-private celebrations-conferences and corporate events-The hotel is also available for exclusive hire
Picture of Pelham House Hotel, Lewes   at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short, short break
Friendly staff, pleasant overnight stay. Enjoyable meal in restaurant.
A late, Laterooms booking which served its purpose.

Reviewed by
Anthony M

From Teddington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ssuper room, hotel & catering - pity about surprise car parking fee!
WE HAD A LOVELY WEEKEND, totally recomended, except for the undisclosed (on laterooms booking confirmation, or site) car parking fee, as everything else was just right and we returned after a previous stay.

Reviewed by
richard l

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pelham House - Lovely Hotel
Lovely, comfortable hotel. Very efficient and helpful staff.
My only warning CHECK parking availability, even if not clearly directed to with online, last minute bookings. Often NO available parking if not booked in advance.

Reviewed by
Sharon Semple

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

love lewes
This is a great hotel lots of bargain stays to be had. It has a really friendly atmosphere and the staff are very good too. Dinner is good value and excelllent as is the bar. I can't really fault this hotel for the money.

Reviewed by
susan m

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pelham House
Customer service could be improved to match what is a beautiful hotel.

Reviewed by
Garry U

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central hotel
The Pelham is an excellent hotel with lovely rooms with all the necessary fittings for a comfortable nights sleep.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ingrid, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope you will visit us again in the future. Best Wishes, Olivia Birnie, Reservations Manager

Reviewed by
Ingrid S

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, great facade, rooms a bit tired
Hotel is centrally located in Lewes. Very atmospheric façade and public rooms but our bedroom was awkward and attic like. We stayed an extra night in a different room and it was even smaller with a shower attachment over the bath. Both rooms had stains on the carpet and just looked a little tired. Staff nice, bar good and breakfast excellent but 'cheaper' rooms definitely a little neglected. Also be warned you need to book your car in if you want to use the small hotel car park, finding a meter when tired is not fun.

ManagementResponse

Dear Christine, Thank you for taking the time is post this review. I am sorry to hear that your were dissapointed with your room but glad that you were impressed with staff, bar and breakfast. We are continuously seeking ways in which to improve our bedroom and have a refurbishment plan in place so I genuinely appreciate the feedback and will be sure that this is passed onto the managament team. I hope we will have the pelasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Olivia Birnie, Reservations Manager

Reviewed by
Christine B

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pelham house a cosy and chic hotel

ManagementResponse

Dear Fernando, Thank you for your kind comments and I am delighted that your enjoy our beautiful hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Olivia Birnie, Reservations Manager

Reviewed by
Fernando De Oliveira

From Staines Upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pelham House
We found Pelham House to be a beautiful hotel with stunning views and well worth the money. We went for a romantic get away and could not have asked for anything more. Food was lovely and the staff were all extremely friendly. Would definitely go there again!

Reviewed by
D Thompson

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming stay
We had a lovely birthday trip to Pelham House. Our room was a loft room with lovely views over Lewes and The Downs. Elements of the room needed a bit of a refurb; peeling paint in the bathroom and a shower tray which filled with a puddle of water slightly spoiled the feeling of luxury. Our dinner in the restaurant was a mixed experience; lovely service and surroundings but a fairly bland starter of pork rilletes. Overall though, despite the tiny grumbles, this is a lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
Katherine S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next